wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Retirement home
TPK
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 7:38:43 AM

Hi Wazuans,

I am 34 years and now starting to plan constructing my retirement home. Key factors I have in mind when buying the plot are: Security (small gated community preferred), at least half acre, sewerline, needless to say water and elec, not more than 20kms from the city and should be a strictly controlled estate. My budget for the plot is KShs 5m. Any proposals for estates meeting or close to this creteria and would anyone here have any such plots? cheers!
As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 7:46:48 AM

"not more than 20kms from the city" - which city will you retire to?
TPK
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 8:10:34 AM

GG, sorry, I forgot to clarify it is Nairobi city!
Findel
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 10:25:21 AM

5m for 1/2 acre in a decent estate this creteria is on the lower side. I am also searching for a plot matching these characteristics but can't find. The closest I get is Redhill but the place is too far - most of those am being offered are being priced in the range of 9m-14m for 1/2 acre in Karen, Runda, New Kitsuru so you may have to revise your budget significantly. Alternatively we can team up to create our own high end estate, why not!?
Don’t cry over spilled milk…it could have been beer!
amolo
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 10:50:02 AM

When you get that 1/2 acre home with a gate 20 km from the city of Nairobi, please let me know so that I can buy if off from you at 10m
Foz00
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 11:13:07 AM

oloosirikon, tuala, nazarene for 5m you will get 1.5 acres and its only 27km from city, road earmarked for tarmacking
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 11:32:17 AM

TPK wrote:
Hi Wazuans,

I am 34 years and now starting to plan constructing my retirement home. Key factors I have in mind when buying the plot are: Security (small gated community preferred), at least half acre, sewerline, needless to say water and elec, not more than 20kms from the city and should be a strictly controlled estate. My budget for the plot is KShs 5m. Any proposals for estates meeting or close to this creteria and would anyone here have any such plots? cheers!

Boss @ 34, you should be saving for the retirement home not building one! Your needs at 50 will sooo different from your needs now and so you will build a very inappropriate house in the 'wrong' neighbourhood for retirement. Wacha haraka, for now, just set yourself up!
TPK
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 11:33:43 AM

I have heard of this Tuala place from several guys and also an upcoming area called Kerarapon bordering Karen. I will check these two places this weekend. Any others?
young
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 11:49:21 AM

I was thinking in that direction @bwenyenye
. wondering at 34 what should make the big boss to plan to build a retirement home when tastes and ideas change with time?

Unless the big boss is a footballer or marathan racer or other sports specialist that retire in the thirties, who started handling money (not inheritance) before age 20.

otherwise if you are a workman like me or an entrepreneur psycologists infer that human behaviour in terms of taste (where to live, lifestyle) are subject to change(s) in these 6 age brackets though it varies slightly with some people.

20 - 25
26 - 29
30 - 40
41 -49
50 -55
56 and above
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
TPK
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 12:06:12 PM

Bwenyenye and young,

Thanks for the interesting insight about changing tastes. My worry is that a retirement home is probably the biggest project you will ever do in life so I think one has to plan carefully. You may think 34 yrs is young but if I bought the plot now, I will need a few more years to mobilise construction funds and by the time I finish construction, am already 40! Would it really be a wise idea to postpone the decision to purchase the plot now only to come back two years down the line and the price has doubled? I have learnt this from experience - constructed a house 2 years ago and you will not believe how much guys are paying for a plot in the same area - 3 times what we paid, two years ago!). BTW mimi hapana athelete, ninafanyia watu wengine kazi lakini mpango wa kando biashara ndio inasaidia..
young
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 12:08:40 PM

TPK wrote:
Bwenyenye and young,

Thanks for the interesting insight about changing tastes. My worry is that a retirement home is probably the biggest project you will ever do in life so I think one has to plan carefully. You may think 34 yrs is young but if I bought the plot now, I will need a few more years to mobilise construction funds and by the time I finish construction, am already 40! Would it really be a wise idea to postpone the decision to purchase the plot now only to come back two years down the line and the price has doubled? I have learnt this from experience - constructed a house 2 years ago and you will not believe how much guys are paying for a plot in the same area - 3 times what we paid, two years ago!). BTW mimi hapana athelete, ninafanyia watu wengine kazi lakini mpango wa kando biashara ndio inasaidia..

Pls interprete the sentence in bold in English.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 12:09:41 PM

@Big Bossman, there's also the issue of the wife(i.e if you have one) youmight want to consult with her before making any rushed CapEx move otherwise you might be in for a big shock!
@SufficientlyP
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 12:12:54 PM

You will retire in 2032 or thereabout.If you buy property anywhere close to 20Km radius,by that year,you will be right in the middle of the CBD....BTW,why would i want to work in town all my life and then retire town?
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 12:44:48 PM

I'm a decade older and I'm making similar plans. However I can't see myself in Nairobi in retirement, neither can I see myself in the village. I'm looking for a nice house in one of those county capitals, where I will get the best of urban life but minus the mad big city rush. I now just need to convince Margaret Thatcher that there is electricity out of Nairobi.
TPK
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 12:58:34 PM

@young: apologies, had not noticed you are in nairaland. The statement means, am not an athlete but someone employed with a side business.

@Philanthropic: Consultation is a must kwanza there is no way a sane man can leave madam out of decisions to build a home.

@Njung’e: As long as you are constructing in a well planned and demarcated residential area, you should not worry a lot about the city expanding. With so much limited investment in essential infrastructure such as water, sewer, etc outside 20kms radius of Nairobi, I am not convinced that buying a plot 50kms would be a good idea, unless for farming or for speculation. Remember you have to make your retirement as comfortable as possible, with access to all necessary amenities otherwise utakufa haraka coz of stress ya lack of water, etc.
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 1:28:25 PM

Mmmm!!....We might disagree but again that's why all of as are not in town.On my part,i enjoy the country in one of the most agri endowed areas and when i am home,i eat straight from the farm.As Young has put it too,i am close to a county HQ (10 minutes drive).....The air is fresh and the only noise pollution here is donkeys braying.That can't kill a man.
young
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 1:35:46 PM

@TPK,
On the contrary also, my thinking is that one's retirement home should not be the biggest investment (massive house).

A lot of Mzee have regretted doing that because it will be lonely, likely you and your wife or at most your last sibbling.

Your biggest property (in terms of construction cost) should be your investment property (s) which generates income.

I think space, serenity, closeness to nature in a well organised environment away from city center with all basic amenities, shopping center, hospital, ample security seem to be the popular opinion.

So please permit me to say you are thinking as a 34 year old while my thoughts are that of 49 young old man looking forward to the proverbial 50 next year by the Grace of God.
TPK
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 1:58:59 PM

@Young: Your points make a lot of sense, the retirement home I have in mind is more a reasonably sized house but MAGNIFICENTLY finished and furnished (as in, it has to be extremely beautiful, more like some of those we see in naija movies!).

@Njung’e: I agree, it is most people’s dream to retire in a serene country home but unfortunately this is not possible for some. I come from a very dry county and would not mind buying a plot in your county as long as you can assure me that you will not chase me after the general elections! My concern would be why have a beautiful house amidst all kinds of structures in the county. I must admit that some of the counties like Thika and Kiambu are giving positive signals that they are serious about estate planning but it is sad that my county is still asleep to the importance of proper estate development.
Findel
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 2:05:50 PM

Being in an ethinicised society, it would be important to choose your home location carefully. I know some guys who have identified good retirement plots in Kiambu but they can’t dare purchase them as their names start with O.Sad
Don’t cry over spilled milk…it could have been beer!
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 2:51:24 PM

@TPK,
Laughing out loudly ....Enyewe we are Kenyans but i haven't seen this happen yet within the neighbourhood is a large flower farm occassioned by Kenyans from all walks of life.......again i can assure you that your beatiful little home will not be lonelysmile