wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

Dilemma
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 10:05:30 PM

1. Its unlikely anyone is trailing the phone, given the sheer no. of phones lost daily. So relax FOR NOW. But if a grave crime was committed, kindly wait for the loud knock.
2. If I were u, I wouldnt make the sort of the careless jokes u r making on a public forum, they can easily end in regret.
3. If I were u, I'd never insert my simcard in a STOLEN phone. A few innocent chaps r in jail/remand for that.
PEACE.
Ondiek
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 8:33:24 AM

Katibampya wrote:
Hii all. Kwani which side of nairobi do u stay? I lost mine and bought another one. Whether it was stolen is not ma problem. Nilikuwa nahurumia this guy coz of contacts. Kama itakuwa as u guys suggest, am going to do the following. Delete all his numbers and messages then go on with my life coz am sure nobody and i mean nobody will look 4 me!!!!Munatisha nani nyinyi wazuans! Ama u a new in this nairoberry.

Keep on kidding yourself until you feel someone tapping you on the shoulder as you are talking on the phone. If you have even used your sim card on that phone you are doomed.
innairobi
#23 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 8:43:49 AM

Buying a second hand phone on the streets of Nairobi is the same as buying a side mirror on the streets - it is obviously thugged. Hauwesmek.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
cmk
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 8:52:56 AM

katiba,u r no different from the thieves who stole that phone..buying a stolen phone is ill-advised..as someone has pointed out,if the real owner was actually killed in the robbery,you r in lots of trouble..as you walk the streets of nairobi,always look behind your shoulder..for your days are soon coming to an end..
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
Seq Lu
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 8:57:19 AM

FYI @katbmpya, pple can even tel which IP address u connecting frm, kuwa mpole. Hope u listen to ua brothers here,
They keep moving the cheese

stolen from opensuse forums :)
Burning Spear
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:02:58 AM

1. Its unlikely anyone is trailing the phone, given the sheer no. of phones lost daily. So relax FOR NOW. But if a grave crime was committed, kindly wait for the loud knock.
2. If I were u, I wouldnt make the sort of the careless jokes u r making on a public forum, they can easily end in regret.
3. If I were u, I'd never insert my simcard in a STOLEN phone. A few innocent chaps r in jail/remand for that.
PEACE.

I know a guy who is in kamiti maximum for using that kind of a phone.
Some 3 guys were mugged and killed as they headed home after some booz among them a senior police officer and when the lost phone was traced,the guy was caught.
He had bought the blackberry phone from a friend ksh 5k.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:15:39 AM

Huyu jamaa anacheza na maisha!!!!!!
#28 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:43:57 AM

Actually, i found myself in the same situation sometimes back and i didnt buy from the "guy" at the corner. I bought it from a waria shop (the shops along/near that jamia mosque (dont know the street). It was new... complete in the box. Being a Nokia, well, i knew it'd work or so i assumed. Mine had been thugged a few minutes earlier and needed to communicate pronto so i bought a cheap one to keep me going... on getting another simcard from Safcom shop, the phone had numbers and messages already and i knew i'd been thugged AGAIN!! To make matters worse, i fell for the waria story that they didnt have a receipt book.... so you can imagine they would deny ever seeing you there even if you stepped back two minutes later! I had to throw the thing away..... Of course it pained me alot (it still does hata kama it was a cheap one) but the thought of having to be followed up over being an accomplice and dealing with crimes that i had no idea about was not gonna work for me.

So yeah, it doesn't have to be the guy at the corner, even the many shops in town, you got to be really really careful.... These days, you wont catch me dead buying a phone from those shops, if it is not a dealer of the mobile services providers like Safcom/orange etc or authorised agents of the phone companies and there is no receipt or warranty, i am not buying the damn thing... wacha ikae!
#29 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 10:33:47 AM

@Katibafake kama bonoko - You had better read the story on the link below. Happened here in Kenya.

Using a stolen phone - Utashangaa

There was also a story this year of a prostitute in Koinange street who either borrowed a taxi driver - she was his usual customer - his phone and used a sim card from a stolen phone to make a call or used the taxi driver's sim card on a stolen phone - can't quite remember which is which. anyway, the taxi driver ended up behind bars accused of robbery with violence and/or murder. You can Google the story. Anyone with a link can also post it here.
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 10:49:14 AM

@Katibafake and other wazuans - I'm sure the story below will illustrate how serious this issue is. I finally got the link.

Be careful when it comes to mobile phones
#31 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 10:53:49 AM

@Katibafake kama bonoko - You had better read the story on the link below. Happened here in Kenya.

Using a stolen phone - Utashangaa

There was also a story this year of a prostitute in Koinange street who either borrowed a taxi driver - she was his usual customer - his phone and used a sim card from a stolen phone to make a call or used the taxi driver's sim card on a stolen phone - can't quite remember which is which. anyway, the taxi driver ended up behind bars accused of robbery with violence and/or murder. You can Google the story. Anyone with a link can also post it here.

@MaichBlack, she topped up the taxi driver's phone. Apparently, the scratch cards were stolen! The taxi guy is steal in the slammer.
QD
#32 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 11:04:36 AM

This guy is arrogant while he is still handling stollen items.

Wazuans are just sharing info that can save you so please take heed
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
#33 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 11:43:04 AM

haiyah....