Supersport to Stop Airing Gor Matches live!!
Nobby
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:28:27 PM

Mambo gani hii?? http://bit.ly/mvK53i Sad Sad Sad Sad
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:34:14 PM

Too late brother, it's already somewhere, too hot a news item to stay away!!!!.....1987 kulikuwa na supersport????
Burning Spear
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:41:54 PM

the team has no problem but hooliganism of the fans is the issue !!
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:42:23 PM

Too late brother, it's already somewhere, too hot a news item to stay away!!!!.....1987 kulikuwa na supersport????

There was no Supersport then but the exposure and money involved now is more than welcome. Gor Mahia fans and the club really need to address this violence issue. It is only hurting the club. If I were Tuza I would be regretting already sponsoring Gor Mahia`s shirt.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 12:45:29 PM

@Mcreggae,
Times have changed young man and stop living in the past....Football is no longer just the game it was 24 years ago.It's big business and a source of livelihood.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 1:07:38 PM

@Mcreggae,
Times have changed young man and stop living in the past....Football is no longer just the game it was 24 years ago.It's big business and a source of livelihood.

Hahaha, @Njunge you and supersport are just haters according to @Mcreggae. GOR will will do just fine without the supersport sponsorship!

#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 1:33:29 PM

Serves them right,fans and management.

#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 1:34:18 PM

Robinhood wrote:
@Mcreggae,

Hahaha, @Njunge you and supersport are just haters according to @Mcreggae. GOR will will do just fine without the supersport sponsorship!

I never supoort hooliganism but then there is very little I can do about this than to move on!!!.....supersport sponsor the KPL underwhich the different teams get a cut of the cake, it's not like supersport has widthdrawn some sponsorship to K'Ogallo!!!!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 1:41:47 PM

Boss tell them. No True Gor fan watches the game on a Television!! Why and you can experience it?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Gor football is not watched. It is experienced!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 1:48:17 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

Boss tell them. No True Gor fan watches the game on a Television!! Why and you can experience it?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

......they should have done it silently without having to make is a news item, now even the viewership on TV will reduce, I know so many K'ogallo haters who still always have to watch their matches!!!!!
Nobby
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 2:16:52 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

......they should have done it silently without having to make is a news item, now even the viewership on TV will reduce, I know so many K'ogallo haters who still always have to watch their matches!!!!!

We will go to the stadium!! He he kwani how many guys have DSTV by the way? 6K very expensive!
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 2:33:13 PM

Now, the teams they play against, will they also suffer loss of TV income?
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 2:39:06 PM

Am not a fan of football; I think with a business mind. Losing live coverage on DSTV will not change the outcome for Gor. It will also not change for the "followers" [I hear that Gor has no fans; it has followers]. It might not even change the income for the club this season.

But what about the future? Sponsors will get jittery about being linked to a club that doesn't get live coverage on DSTV... Think about that.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 2:48:57 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Now, the teams they play against, will they also suffer loss of TV income?

Seems most people do not understand the Supersport sponsorship!!!

KPL with 16 equall membership signed a five year deal worth about shs 890M with supersport

In this deal each KPL team is to earn about shs. 2.6M every year, unless they change this provision, K'ogallo and their opponents will still earn their money!!!
#15 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 3:06:40 PM

Remove K'ogalo from the KPL and it collapses...kweli/rongo? ask any team who play them, they make a killing....Thika charges 300Kshs in that trodden stadium, Karuturi charged 50Kshs in Naivasha and the fans paid 100Kshs to help the club raise money to improve their stadium....
Not airing the matches may not impact on the club that muc, maybe on supersport.....how many fnas watch these games live? and countable probably watch a match ex-Gor...
Hooliganism ni mbaya, but which big club does not have them? in Europe they have just been controlled if not fully....that is what Kenya needs to do. If the holliganism of ManU-gu of yesteryears was dealt with by banning screening, where would the league be?? there are other ways of punishing e.g the way IDAC handed the match to ulinzi or a fine will do...
#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 3:30:47 PM

Here's what i'd like Gor fans to explain to me...why do you think Gor's fan base has increased for the past two seasons?.....nothing to do with your performance on the pitch. It is Supersport through their coverage who made people leave the comfort of their homes to watch the game live, its all about exposure. How will football scouts get to know of our players without TV coverage? The truth of the matter is that very few clubs (Mathare, Tusker, Sofapaka, KCB, Ulinzi) can survive without SS sponsorship.

Why would Supersport sponsor KPL if they can't broadcast matches?

#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 3:36:17 PM

Here's what i'd like Gor fans to explain to me...why do you think Gor's fan base has increased for the past two seasons?.....nothing to do with your performance on the pitch. It is Supersport through their coverage who made people leave the comfort of their homes to watch the game live, its all about exposure. How will football scouts get to know of our players without TV coverage? The truth of the matter is that very few clubs (Mathare, Tusker, Sofapaka, KCB, Ulinzi) can survive without SS sponsorship.

Seriously????....and they finished number two last season, and the crowd increased as thair position on table improved, c'mon TAZ!!!!

I am not discounting the sponsorship of SS, fact they are also in ti for business, stopping to air Gor's matches was always the easier option, the hard which is supposed to be the most important is how to stop crowd and hooliganism trouble, it's been done somewhere!!!!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 3:47:26 PM

Seriously bwana Taz, hapa umenoa...SS came on board because the fan turnout was on the rise!! They will sure loose out on not airing these matches...We have been going for these matches even bila SS, so when SS jumped on board, some "fans" were definitely attracted....
#19 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 3:56:20 PM

@ Mc Reggae....If it weren't for SS football fans (including Gor fans not hooligans)would still be following their clubs through gazeti. Two seasons ago it would have been absolutely impossible to even convince a lady to accompany you to any football match but nowadays they probably know more on KPL than most of us.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, June 15, 2011 4:49:41 PM

I believe it was very irrational for SS to stop broadcasting Gor matches since the club is already being punished by IDAC and none of their equipments was ever destroyed during the 2 incidents that occured.
Someone is trying to settle a score with this team and its very unfortunate all in all the fans have passion n maybe it may work in their favour since most people will now have to attend the stadiums to watch the game live