wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Something Terribly wrong at Family Bank
Hunderwear
#1 Posted : Saturday, June 11, 2011 12:57:07 PM

After spending a whole day @Thika branch to make a simple withdrwal Transaction and vowing never to deal with this kabank they caught up with me last saturday at Gatundu Branch and as if to ask me 'utadoo' the whole system was down the whole morning.Asking the whats the problem the cashier told me they are in the process of finishing the system upgrade 7 months down the line since installation!Kwani this guys bought Freeware from riverloli(riverroad)
#2 Posted : Saturday, June 11, 2011 1:23:45 PM

Who is holding a gun on your head?.Hama.
Cde Monomotapa
#3 Posted : Saturday, June 11, 2011 1:48:56 PM

KCB - Making The Difference.
Hunderwear
#4 Posted : Saturday, June 11, 2011 2:48:57 PM

Haha nimehama ts only that some of my associates hawajahama.plus i feel for the shareholders being one of them!
jerry
#5 Posted : Saturday, June 11, 2011 4:31:18 PM

Hunderwear wrote:

Haha nimehama ts only that some of my associates hawajahama.plus i feel for the shareholders being one of them!

=>Give me advantage of Family Bank over CFC Stanbic other than wide branch network and I'll stop thinking of leaving the former to the latter.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#6 Posted : Saturday, June 11, 2011 4:53:14 PM

jerry wrote:
Hunderwear wrote:

=>Give me advantage of Family Bank over CFC Stanbic other than wide branch network and I'll stop thinking of leaving the former to the latter.

I prefer I&M Bank [I was 100% CFC damu lakini they lost the plot after the stanbic merger] though they have fewer ATMs & branches than either Family or Equity since I like the quality of service. Also the lines are relatively short vs Equity.
#7 Posted : Saturday, June 11, 2011 8:28:11 PM

But @vvs when you bring the Kenswitch and KCB ATM networks into play then lack of ATMs becomes irrelevant. What I need to confirm the next time I'm in Ug is if they charge I&M the usual ksh 40 or it becomes a VISA transaction.
#8 Posted : Sunday, June 12, 2011 4:14:40 AM

After hopping in nearly all big banks (the big 5), I landed in EB. Pathetic as it may seem. Lessons learnt, 1. They are all nearly the same. Bullcrap is evenly spread!!
2. So long as you dont venture inside the halls, u wont split hairs or throw a tantrum. Keep off as much as possible by using mobile banking(dep/withdr/bal)
3. For EB, just know the right time to withdraw, avoid end-month wkds completely-like the proverbial plague!
4. Go for the free accounts i.e no fees whatsoever (coop, EB, Family, k-rep).
Enjoy banking Kenyan style.
Conquestador
#9 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:44:05 PM

Anybody knows what 'system' they are/ have been trying to put in there at FB?
The info can be helpful to bankers in Wazua - which systems NOT to go for.
Hunderwear
#10 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 7:33:03 PM

They cal it flexcube if am not wrong
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 10:31:11 AM

Here! here! @VVS; I&M is the place. I usually pity the guys at Co-Op whenever I visit the I&M ATM on Biashara street. Co-op guys are have a long queue to the ATM going half-way round the bldg, while the I&M ATM will hardly ever have a queue. The longest I have ever found was one person in the cubical!

This thing about many branches is just a fallacy, it doesn't work! If I am based in Nairobi and I have a project in Gatundu, do I really need a bank branch in Gatundu?
Kenyan Oracle
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 10:56:47 AM

After hopping in nearly all big banks (the big 5), I landed in EB. Pathetic as it may seem. Lessons learnt, 1. They are all nearly the same. Bullcrap is evenly spread!!
2. So long as you dont venture inside the halls, u wont split hairs or throw a tantrum. Keep off as much as possible by using mobile banking(dep/withdr/bal)
3. For EB, just know the right time to withdraw, avoid end-month wkds completely-like the proverbial plague!
4. Go for the free accounts i.e no fees whatsoever (coop, EB, Family, k-rep).
Enjoy banking Kenyan style.

I quite agree with all this. @Simonkabz does Coop deposit via mpesa work? Been tempted to try it but afraid to venture after disappointments wt JM's bank over ATM deposits not reflecting several days later.
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 11:10:13 AM

Mukiha, then all banks should have only 1 branch in say, Nbi. Is that what u r insinuating? @KO, not conversant with coop mobile banking, bt EB Eazzy247/agency banking is nice.
Kenyan Oracle
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 11:15:18 AM

@KO, not conversant with coop mobile banking, bt EB Eazzy247/agency banking is nice.

@Simonkabz Thanks will give it a try
Kenyan Oracle
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 11:21:22 AM

@KO, not conversant with coop mobile banking, bt EB Eazzy247/agency banking is nice.

@Simonkabz Thanks will give it a try
Wa_ithaka
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 11:33:26 AM

Hunderwear wrote:
They cal it flexcube if am not wrong

Mark, Muya's son introduced this system so you can imagine FB will try it out to the bitter end.
However, Equity had similar teething issues when it introduced Infosys and even its ATM system last yr.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017