Karume's empire
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2010 Posts: 906 Location: Nairobi
Jogoo Kimakia (RIP) of the reknowned Jogoo Kimakia Services also used to sell charcoal and couldnt even write his own name. He probably owns more than a fifth of Thika. I strongly beleive its genuine. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Jogoo Kimakia (RIP) of the reknowned Jogoo Kimakia Services also used to sell charcoal and couldnt even write his own name. He probably owns more than a fifth of Thika. I strongly beleive its genuine. People love to imagine that intelligence is the biggest factor in success, when it really isn't. Determination is way more important than anything.
KenyanLyrics wrote:Burning Spear wrote: @bwenyenye, before u put this comment, I used to "hold" you with much respect but now it has "gone " unless u retract!!! This is part of the reason why hooligans destroyed property in kenya during PEV crisis because some xters used to ask how people owned such properties yet they were not employed and were regarded thieves. my estate neighbors were such xters yet they were very educated. they always debated how our Landlord put up such an apartment yet he did not wear a tie.
 really?! Yaani there are some educated people who haven't seen these fellas yes!!! wisdom and education are two different things!!!! there are those who recite what great men have done overtime but they live and die poor as they try to unravel without thinking they can also start something small that can win glorious trumps in future. "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Rank: Member Joined: 4/25/2011 Posts: 368 Location: Nairobi
I may not know how Karume acquired all his wealth but I respected him when I got to know that the guy had accumulated some substantial wealth from his own efforts even before independence. By the time he met Kenyatta, he was already loaded.
He spoke of how he requested a friend to partner him in his charcoal business and the guy said charcoal business was too dirty and he opted to go to school. After some years, they were together again but this time, the guy was employed by Karume to help him in accounting for the charcoal business.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/25/2011 Posts: 368 Location: Nairobi
bwenyenye wrote:Impunity wrote:Let the mzee enjoy his wearth, he has not been mentioned anyway in the ongoing purge in Kenya. I do not believe anyone can make such a fortune selling charcoal as he says otherwise there are some folk I have known to sell charcoal since I was a small boy and what they have to show for it is turning more black as the years go by. Hebu visit Nyamakima and you will meet standard 8 and form four dropouts making millions and you will think again
tassia wrote:bwenyenye wrote:Impunity wrote:Let the mzee enjoy his wearth, he has not been mentioned anyway in the ongoing purge in Kenya. I do not believe anyone can make such a fortune selling charcoal as he says otherwise there are some folk I have known to sell charcoal since I was a small boy and what they have to show for it is turning more black as the years go by. Hebu visit Nyamakima and you will meet standard 8 and form four dropouts making millions and you will think again @Burning Spear, Mukiha, tassia It seems you did not quite get the jest of my post. I have read the Mzee's autobiography fully and it is admirable that he had made good money. I was very inspired by it too.It is true that people have made good money from being nothing. I also know that he may have left out quite abit of his sources especially the pre independence error... What I meant was that he had not given the whole story.... ( by the way if you had read my initial post, you would have understood, the part where I had said maybe Guka would know' Peace guys, but always know, hardly anything is what it is portrayed to be.. I Think Therefore I Am
Everyone can become rich...its all about exploiting opportunities available and exploiting them smart
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
But his sons are getting spoilt by phombe, just to remind us that every dark cloud has a silver lining (if you give the saying a different look). Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
KenyanLyrics wrote:simonkabz wrote:Jogoo Kimakia (RIP) of the reknowned Jogoo Kimakia Services also used to sell charcoal and couldnt even write his own name. He probably owns more than a fifth of Thika. I strongly beleive its genuine. People love to imagine that intelligence is the biggest factor in success, when it really isn't. Determination is way more important than anything. Both are necessary but intelligence more so. Unless you are wrongfully equating intelligence with formal education or performance thereon. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
simonkabz wrote:Jogoo Kimakia (RIP) of the reknowned Jogoo Kimakia Services also used to sell charcoal and couldnt even write his own name. He probably owns more than a fifth of Thika. I strongly beleive its genuine. @Simonkabz - Is it true that Jogoo Kimakia used to cane errant drivers and touts? I have heard his story but some bits... Fill in the gaps for me. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
tassia wrote:bwenyenye wrote:Impunity wrote:Let the mzee enjoy his wearth, he has not been mentioned anyway in the ongoing purge in Kenya. I do not believe anyone can make such a fortune selling charcoal as he says otherwise there are some folk I have known to sell charcoal since I was a small boy and what they have to show for it is turning more black as the years go by. Hebu visit Nyamakima and you will meet standard 8 and form four dropouts making millions and you will think again Some people don't know how much others are making out there. Mtu akivaa tie aingie ofisini anafikiria watu wengine huko inje wanahangaika! I know a fellow who makes a cool 20k (after expenses) a day and I doubt he even cleared form 4. Business capital? Less than 100k. And this is not one of those Daily Nation fake stories. I know how often he brings in new stock, I know how much he sells the merchandise at and he was kind enough to tell me where he buys his stock and at how much. And the business is 100% legit! Do the math! And the business is in one location only. If he ever decides to open branches sijui itakuwa vipi! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
@maich, yup, have heard that too. Now this one was just hilarious. He once summoned one of his long serving touts n inquired how far he had progressed economically since he got the job. Jamaa kala mdomo asiwe na la kusema. He was fired on the spot for "lacking a brain"-'we ndùrí hakiri ngui íno' TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Elder wrote:KenyanLyrics wrote:simonkabz wrote:Jogoo Kimakia (RIP) of the reknowned Jogoo Kimakia Services also used to sell charcoal and couldnt even write his own name. He probably owns more than a fifth of Thika. I strongly beleive its genuine. People love to imagine that intelligence is the biggest factor in success, when it really isn't. Determination is way more important than anything. Both are necessary but intelligence more so. Unless you are wrongfully equating intelligence with formal education or performance thereon. I actually think it's the reverse; determination being the main factor, with intelligence coming in play to complement whatever determination you have. I have seen so many jinga-type Wahindi and Kikuyu millionaires to come to this conclusion. Also, (for those who are employed) ask yourself how many times you or your workmates lament about that daft, incompetent boss/ manager, but still the company goes on conquering... The ironic thing is, if they are asked what made them who they are, they would definitely point to their perceived smartness, but if you took a look at the man behind the curtain, you will find that a lot of these rich men are really not that bright, but the work ethic is unmatched. Prominent examples: Donald Trump, Lionel Messi, Raila Odinga, Karume mwenyewe...
KenyanLyrics wrote:I actually think it's the reverse; determination being the main factor, with intelligence coming in play to complement whatever determination you have. I have seen so many jinga-type Wahindi and Kikuyu millionaires to come to this conclusion. Also, (for those who are employed) ask yourself how many times you or your workmates lament about that daft, incompetent boss/ manager, but still the company goes on conquering... The ironic thing is, if they are asked what made them who they are, they would definitely point to their perceived smartness, but if you took a look at the man behind the curtain, you will find that a lot of these rich men are really not that bright, but the work ethic is unmatched. Prominent examples: Donald Trump, Lionel Messi, Raila Odinga, Karume mwenyewe... You have a very good point @KenyaLyrics. You must have a dream, determination and unparalleled work ethic. Then you can employ smart fellows to work for you. Kwisha maneno. Some of the most educated Kenyans live hand to mouth while primary and high school drop outs are buying plots in the CBD, Upperhill etc. Education can also be a "set back" if you are not careful. Most educated people start a business, if it doesn't take off immediately they panic, start sending out CVs, a couple of interviews later they get a job and abandon the business. Some of the extremely successful business men I know had no other option. They either had to make it in business or they are done. That's the kind that gives their all to the business. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
@ Kenyanlyrics & Maichblack, valid points here. The dream, determination and strong work ethic are key to success. Also "not giving up attitude" is important. It happened to me some years back after thieves broke into my work premises and vandalized 12 vehicles. Without insurance as fallback, I was seeking for employment the next day as I hassled on how to repair my customer vehicles. That was after investing more than 1M in 2004. I have never gone back to full time business although I cant regret where I stand today. However the sad events of 2004 provided me with valuable lessons. Last year, a very close family member resigned from her job to venture into business. By the 3rd month, she wanted to close shop as she could not break even, no cash flow to take care of bills, etc. I could not watch her go back to employment and had to provide the necessary support. 6 months down the line, she is happy to be building a growing client base and has sufficient cash flow to keep the business going. Back to Karume, I had a chance to interact with some of his managers who were clients in leading Auto dealership where I worked. I must say that the guy is smart to hire professionals to manage the business on his behalf. I doubt if his business empire can go down easily even in his absence due to the strong leadership in place. "You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
Rags to riches is a good story, i have a dude who used to repair watches on tom mboya street 8 years ago, when the mobile phone craze set in he started phone repairs and after some time when stalls business began he rented one for the phone repair and sales. today he has 4 stalls and he managed to rent the whole ground floor of a building along the same street. Recently he told me that for every gadget he sells he makes no less than 10% as profit and the least cash per stall he makes 100k per day that mean for 3 stalls he takes a minimum of 30k as profit per day. Isnt that a real case of rags to riches, and for the record this dude didnt get school fees for sec school thus a class 8 dropout Life is an endless adventure
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/3/2010 Posts: 1,141 Location: Londokwe
Karume has tried .though he is not clean.None of kenyatta/moi errors politician has clean wealth anyway.Show me one and i will show u a 5 legged cow 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Karume's empire