wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

Karume's empire
#1 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:03:29 PM

Karume's empire at kitu like 15B, ama I heard my own things? What business ventures are these?...there is need to leave formal employment. Impressive!!!...and what a house he has, shown on KTN.....
dasany
#2 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:25:14 PM

Weka link.
#3 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:26:37 PM

A bigshot in EABL, owner, Jacaranda hotels.
#4 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:28:15 PM

dasany wrote:
Weka link.

Sina link, watched in on TV this morning...that is one huge house!!...on itu like 250acres in Kiambu, if my memory serves me right
Burning Spear
#5 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:59:38 PM

A bigshot in EABL, owner, Jacaranda hotels.

ongeza kwa list.

Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Cianda house
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#6 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 1:00:59 PM

Did he buy any of the land, or was it gifts/allocations?

Even a moron can get rich in those circumstances...
#7 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 1:10:30 PM

add to the list...Landmark hotel in westland(?)..

at leats 90% of his wealth is legally owned...

but, ask me how he acquired the massive Landmark Multi Storey building right opposite Nairobi Hospital through extortion, when he was the minister for defence...
#8 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 1:18:47 PM

Let the mzee enjoy his wearth, he has not been mentioned anyway in the ongoing purge in Kenya.

cmk
#9 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 1:29:41 PM

add kabete distributors..near mountain view,kangemi and lots of property in kbu,n oldonyo sabuk something...
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#10 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 1:36:17 PM

Let the mzee enjoy his wearth, he has not been mentioned anyway in the ongoing purge in Kenya.

I do not believe anyone can make such a fortune selling charcoal as he says otherwise there are some folk I have known to sell charcoal since I was a small boy and what they have to show for it is turning more black as the years go by.

#11 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 1:51:27 PM

@bwenyenye; Karume did NOT make his wealth by selling charcoal, NO!!!

He started by selling charcoal and then moved to other things slowly... 60-odd years later, he is now worth billions.

The fellows you mention who have been selling charcoal since you "were small" have no business being in business! Their failure should not be used as proof that one cannot start with charcoal and become a billionaire. That argument is illogical: it is like saying that no one can pass KCPE simply because no one in your village has ever passed!
#12 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 1:54:40 PM

@bwenyenye: See this story that I told last year... how a guy started off as a newspaper sub-vendor and now owns a "fleet" of two taxis...
http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=8854
#13 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 2:03:32 PM

Hashindi Mwau who has ksh 50B which Obama is eyeballing.
#14 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 2:31:01 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

This was very funny, why would anyone want his wealth. He is certainly not the wealthiest person in the world. I wonder why BO has not tried to take away Bill Gates wealth
#15 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 2:49:29 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

US$750m in US alone you forgot to add
Eddy
#16 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 7:23:42 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Hii 750m niyanani? Njenga au Mwau
#17 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 7:32:47 PM

mukiha wrote:
@bwenyenye; Karume did NOT make his wealth by selling charcoal, NO!!!

He started by selling charcoal and then moved to other things slowly... 60-odd years later, he is now worth billions.

The fellows you mention who have been selling charcoal since you "were small" have no business being in business! Their failure should not be used as proof that one cannot start with charcoal and become a billionaire. That argument is illogical: it is like saying that no one can pass KCPE simply because no one in your village has ever passed!

Applause Applause Applause Applause
#18 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 7:45:53 PM

Eddy wrote:
FundamentAli wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Hii 750m niyanani? Njenga au Mwau

Mwau, apparently. It was quoted in article in the Daily Nation but knowing our so called journalist I wouldn't take the figure seriously. I'm not saying that a whole pharmacist can't accumulate such wealth, I'm just saying I HIGHLY doubt any form of research/back ground check went into it. Remember the 'journalists' repeating over and over that Raila's second hand hammer cost 40 million while even a ten year old knows you can go online to confirm how much a hammer would go for?
Burning Spear
#19 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 8:59:10 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

I do not believe anyone can make such a fortune selling charcoal as he says otherwise there are some folk I have known to sell charcoal since I was a small boy and what they have to show for it is turning more black as the years go by.

before u put this comment, I used to "hold" you with much respect but now it has "gone " unless u retract!!!
This is part of the reason why hooligans destroyed property in kenya during PEV crisis because some xters used to ask how people owned such properties yet they were not employed and were regarded thieves.
my estate neighbors were such xters yet they were very educated. they always debated how our Landlord put up such an apartment yet he did not wear a tie.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#20 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 9:03:54 PM

Karume is a good businessman but he is not innocent of irregular deals like the controversial land swap with Mbo-I-Kamiti...but i pity the mzee... His kids ni phombe tuu