wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Uhuru's Budget Speech
nancybaraza
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 4:51:24 PM

Uhuru has jus allocated money for water harvesting pans in ASAL and non-ASAL areas. I’m really excited about this, i was in Garissa the other day and the situation is nothing to write home about. This is a brilliant move – instead of always giving food relief all the time. Brilliant budget!!!

Here’s the Breakdown

Kshs. 1.1 Billion for construction of 15 water harvesting pans (100,000 Cubic Metres capacity) for each non-ASAL constituency and Kshs. 1.05 Billion for construction of 20 water harvesting pans (100,000 Cubic Metres capacity) for each ASAL constituency
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 5:10:37 PM

Any tax on phombe?

#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 5:12:53 PM

Any tax on phombe?

kawaida wameongeza...bure kabisa!!!

I like the proposal that filling of tax returns be scraped for those who only fill in PAYE!!!!
gmimo
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 5:15:27 PM

Any tax on phombe?

I like the proposal that filling of tax returns be scraped for those who only fill in PAYE!!!!

Duty on Kerosene removed.

Beer and cigarette prices to go up.

wheat imports zero rated.

No more filling those boring forms ......yeeeee
Wa_ithaka
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 5:16:30 PM

Phombe na thigara up again.
Withholding tax juu pia
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 5:54:48 PM

gmimo wrote:
Any tax on phombe?

Duty on Kerosene removed.

Beer and cigarette prices to go up.

wheat imports zero rated.

No more filling those boring forms ......yeeeee

Tax on beer goes up by kshs 5 per litre. This means the actual increase per bottle is actually kshs 2.50Sad Sad Sad
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 5:57:25 PM

Tax on cigarettes to be 1200 per Mille
niclasclause
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 6:26:08 PM

You can read the whole budget speech here: http://www.facebook.com/...atta?sk=app_182667455607
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 9:11:06 PM

My comments on UK:
- Twitter and ipad UK, you the man!!
- Zero rating tuk tuk ambulances is very noble, but how will they work on our rural (bad) roads where they are targetted?
- Zero rating kerosene. I think this was the case prevously (I stand corrected) and it was discovered that aeroplanes were using it. What measures will be taken to ensure this doesnt happen?
- If people in employment stop filing returns, how will KRA ensure personal relief is not claimed more than once if they hold several jobs?
- Now that with holding tax has been doubled for consultancies, is this tax now final?
emmndi
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2011 11:21:13 PM

phombe up, thigari up, I like the fact that one UK is thinking about the common mwananchi, kerosene tax rate down, and the of security gadgets reduced too!
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 6:55:14 AM

Shame on you
Shame on K24,how can they make such a big lie?
Kenyan news is just pathetic?
The budget simply talked about something like excempting employees from filing tax returns....NKTeeeeest.

Burning Spear
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 9:21:41 AM

16:54 Mr Kenyatta proposes to abolish filing of tax returns by employees whose remittances are only PAYE.

"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:27:17 AM

Very clever budget. This will definitely earn back the forgein investors' lost confidence in Kenya. They should speed up the approval Mutunga and the market will only head north. I was impressed by the views of the wananchis and analysts who were interviewed on the streets after the budget by KTN and Citizen, very optimistic views.

#14 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2011 10:44:23 AM

Nice esimates and allocations. I shudder at how he intends to bridge the gap! We may end up stagnating the economic growth as banks raise the interest rates as the World Bank is proposing( what is their business here by the way?)I am afraid that terasury rates will hike and we may see banks return to concentrating on lending to govt; unless Prof Ndungu puts a limit on how much banks can lend to government