wazua Tue, May 20, 2025

How do I access Mpesa/SIM services on Huawei Ideos Andriod phone?
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 12:11:17 PM

I decided to switch to Android and got the Huawei Ideos phone. The android thing is really an amazing experience. However, I can't find the Safaricom menu and services e.g Mpesa on the phone. I cannot even access the contacts on the SIM card.

Wazuans please help and save me the journey to the Safaricom Customer care centre.
Excetra1
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 12:18:45 PM

send your issue to mobileoffice@safaricom.co.ke
captainrio
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 12:20:24 PM

email will never help..pay a visit to their office and dont leave till they show u
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 12:32:07 PM

@jaggernaut,
1. To access M-Pesa menu, check for an app called: SIM Toolkit in your app list.
2. I also noticed new contacts are not displayed on the default Contacts app. To solve this, go to Market-an app in your app list smile and look for an app called Go Contacts. Download and install.
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 12:36:49 PM

Just copy sim contacts to contacts. There is an option for that.
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 12:53:44 PM

Thanks guys. I have managed to access the Safcom services by opening the app called 'SIM Toolkit'. Somehow I hadn't seen it coz its among the very many apps on the phone. For contacts, i found the option to import contacts from the SIM card. Thanks. Some of these things happen when you have a new advanced phone.
QW25071985
#7 Posted : Sunday, May 29, 2011 5:25:35 PM

is this phone still bundled with a 1 Gb mem card from safcom shops ???? and is it locked to safcom network..???
richdad
#8 Posted : Sunday, May 29, 2011 11:32:42 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
is this phone still bundled with a 1 Gb mem card from safcom shops ???? and is it locked to safcom network..???

The phone still has the SD card. It was never locked to safcom network. I think the offer on this one came from google not safcom.
Keep it simple
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 4:23:43 AM

How to forward a msg from this Ideos thing....any idea?
Ja-Kom
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 9:07:55 AM

@Simonkabz,..4.23am and u wazuaing? Naomba hiyo pizza upewe just for tht.
Go to the message u want to forward,touch and hold the message body itself,u should get message options from locking the message,forward,copy messsage etc.Hope this helps.
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 9:35:47 AM

@jakom, uzee jamaa.
Burning Spear
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 11:32:25 AM

How to forward a msg from this Ideos thing....any idea?

any action you want say like deleting one number from call log,just touch and hold and act on options.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
QW25071985
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 11:38:52 AM

i just was on amazon Google nexus one goin for Ksh 24,000.00 ( plus 4k shipping).what a deal. i better be making friends in the US asap, Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly.smartphones in kenya are just a huge rip-off..
mzeiya411
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 5:26:40 AM

richdad wrote:
QW25071985 wrote:

The phone still has the SD card. It was never locked to safcom network. I think the offer on this one came from google not safcom.

@Qw the phone ships with a 1GB men card and is unlocked. The phone is subsidised by safcon not by Google why dont other operators hve it?