wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

Madaraka day should be scrapped
mchuuzi
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 11:15:00 AM

What do we celebrate on this day? What is the difference btwn it and Jamhuri day?

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
We need a break especially when you work for someone as opposed to working for your self Business people and self employed people hate the holidays lakini wacha tupumzike
Alo
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 11:40:34 AM

I so welcome it. The promulgation day should be declared a national holiday too! Hizi breaks ni muhimu
"A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her."
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 12:38:04 PM

gohill wrote:
Ha ha ha. Do the employer feel passionate about these holidays like employees? i.e. You are a business person and have employed several guys in a sector where it's not practicable to work on a holiday how do you feel?

No, but clever employers have ways to make their employees happy.

That is why these clever employers make their employees work in shifts or get other incentives.

With the correct incentive, clever employees can work on flexible hours including 'holidays'.

Now that employees are clamoring for time off work, and employers are disgruntled with such employees, simply indicates that this is not a happy relationship.

Why is it an unhappy relationship? One of the partners, the one subordinate, is obviously getting the short end of the stick.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 2:26:29 PM

I also need the time off, whoever wants to keep working should not miss going to the office/work tomorrow on our account.

I can't remember the last time I celebrated any holiday (except Xmas &NY), but I still need to stay home and do nothing.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 2:35:29 PM

gohill wrote:
Do the employer feel passionate about these holidays like employees?

Do Adults enjoy adultery just as infants enjoy infancy???
Laughing out loudly d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Just a thought!
#16 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 2:42:02 PM

Reminds me my son asking why are celebrating Madaraka day. What does it mean? I stammered as I tried not to explain independence day!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 3:15:07 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Reminds me my son asking why are celebrating Madaraka day. What does it mean? I stammered as I tried not to explain independence day!

Very tricky. According to my recollection of Kenyan history:

June 1 1963-Kenya gained internal self rule(madaraka). All that this means is that Kenyatta became Prime Minister.

Dec 12 1963-Kenya gained independence from UK. The instruments of independence were handed over then. Thus this is our Independence/Uhuru Day.

Dec 12 1964-Kenya became a republic with Jomo automatically becoming first President. This is our Republic(Jamhuri) day.

Thus Madaraka ilikuwa ya Kenyatta peke yake!

Nevertheless, I welcome the 'free' day.smile
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 4:26:50 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

Very tricky. According to my recollection of Kenyan history:

June 1 1963-Kenya gained internal self rule(madaraka). All that this means is that Kenyatta became Prime Minister.

Dec 12 1963-Kenya gained independence from UK. The instruments of independence were handed over then. Thus this is our Independence/Uhuru Day.

Dec 12 1964-Kenya became a republic with Jomo automatically becoming first President. This is our Republic(Jamhuri) day.

Thus Madaraka ilikuwa ya Kenyatta peke yake!

Nevertheless, I welcome the 'free' day.smile

Kweli kabisa... Now try explaining that story to a seven year old while driving in tthe morning.
shenzitype
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 7:20:12 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

Easiest way is to use GOSSudan

1. @Madaraka they finalized the referrund (sic) these r baby steps towards a nation.

2. @promulgation (Jamuhuri dei) i.e July 7. they will become a nation and play in the world cup

The holiday is more important historically than politically it is the day mbeberu aliipaa serikali ya kenya madaraka
samsonobure
#20 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 11:59:26 AM

Madaraka day recognizes the efforts of our freedom fighters and not those of people who know nothing about shedding blood for their country.

The day is as important as the rising of the sun and only one who knows nothing about the price of freedom can come up with such a post.