wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

12 Pages«<7891011>»
Champions League Final
#161 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 10:11:45 AM

Robinhood wrote:
At least the Manugu's and their fans have been given a dose of reality. The title of 'best team in the world' is already taken.

Errr, I think Barca have been holding that title for some time. United are one of the best teams in the world, ahead of Chelsea, Liverpool and Arsenal. But Barca are top of that perch. That is not subject to consultation.
#162 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 10:14:22 AM

innairobi wrote:
Typical picture of that fateful night. Chasing shadows.

Weee, this was a free-kick that went wide. Wacha uwongo.
#163 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 10:24:09 AM

Atleast United fans hold their heads high. Had it been some team that we will not mention due to the high rist of heart attacks, they would have wanjirud themselves.
redondo
#164 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 10:33:22 AM

We all know now .EPL is over-rated,overhyped crap.

An unfortunate statement from an old man.

Barcelona is just one team. NOT a league. Are you saying that if they were from Turkey we could simply conclude that the Turkish league is superior to the rest? Very pedestrian if you ask me!

@ maichblack. You remind me of an African saying: "He who does not travel thinks his mother is the best cook". The truth of the matter is that the EPL is highly marketed and for that reason many Kenyans know nothing about the Spanish league or any other european league. The truth be told, the spanish game is light years ahead of the English game. In fact if teams like villa Real or Valencia had anything close to the finacial muscle of EPL middle table teams, they would thrash Man U Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool any day.

Try watching la liga and you will agree with me
#165 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 10:37:56 AM

redondo wrote:

Barcelona is just one team. NOT a league. Are you saying that if they were from Turkey we could simply conclude that the Turkish league is superior to the rest? Very pedestrian if you ask me!

@ maichblack. You remind me of an African saying: "He who does not travel thinks his mother is the best cook". The truth of the matter is that the EPL is highly marketed and for that reason many Kenyans know nothing about the Spanish league or any other european league. The truth be told, the spanish game is light years ahead of the English game. In fact if teams like villa Real or Valencia had anything close to the finacial muscle of EPL middle table teams, they would thrash Man U Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool any day.

@redondo, Barca and Real are miles ahead in La Liga. La Liga, world over everyone knows this, has been reduced to a two club competition, I watch it. In England, there's competition. That's what makes it the best league in the world. Google that if you may. Two teams dont make a league, so if they are better than the English teams, doesnt mean their league is better.

Porto handed Villareal a 5-1 thrashing. Does it mean Portuguese league is much better than Spanish league? Just a thought...
redondo
#166 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 10:49:10 AM

redondo wrote:

@redondo, Barca and Real are miles ahead in La Liga. La Liga, world over everyone knows this, has been reduced to a two club competition, I watch it. In England, there's competition. That's what makes it the best league in the world. Google that if you may. Two teams dont make a league, so if they are better than the English teams, doesnt mean their league is better.

@ Jus Blazin, i agree with you that Barca and Real are way ahead of the pack in la liga, but the reason is coz they are much richer than the rest thanks to a system that allows them to negotaite their own TV rights leaving the other teams with very liitle cash from TV. However if you closely examine the quality of players(mostly home bread spanish players)in la liga, the players in england pale in comparison. To these guys, football is an art not a battle of speed or aggression.

The average spanish team, given even the kind of budgets that Aston Vila have, would be trasformed to top European Contender
#167 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 11:39:34 AM

Moral of this Story:- It is in MANU fans', players', managers', whatever else's DNAs to make noise... not a win or loss will make them shut up and move on!

No excuses no explanations on why you didnt win... it was simple, Barca's game is on a level no EPL team has reached... just get over it and move on - we did when you thrashed our team... and of course, it was nice watching you being thrashed near home too.......

Clearly, even for some of us who are not as fanatical about football as many are, this game kept us on the edge! Pure entertainment. MANU was playing good soccer, Barca was on a world-class entertainment stage! Worlds apart! Its like having a number 1 kid in a city school(read well marketed and rich) with 256 marks compete with a number 1 kid in a shags school(read not well marketed and may be not as rich) who has 472 marks! Hawapatani....

*marketed in Kenyan context...
#168 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 12:00:01 PM

Laughing out loudly Sad Laughing out loudly Sad Laughing out loudly Sad
#169 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 12:05:58 PM

Moral of this Story:- It is in MANU fans', players', managers', whatever else's DNAs to make noise... not a win or loss will make them shut up and move on!

No excuses no explanations on why you didnt win... it was simple, Barca's game is on a level no EPL team has reached... just get over it and move on - we did when you thrashed our team... and of course, it was nice watching you being thrashed near home too.......

Clearly, even for some of us who are not as fanatical about football as many are, this game kept us on the edge! Pure entertainment. MANU was playing good soccer, Barca was on a world-class entertainment stage! Worlds apart! Its like having a number 1 kid in a city school(read well marketed and rich) with 256 marks compete with a number 1 kid in a shags school(read not well marketed and may be not as rich) who has 472 marks! Hawapatani....

*marketed in Kenyan context...

Umenena correct!
#170 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 12:17:42 PM

@Wendz is a fan for hire. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . But yeah, Barca are outta this world.
#171 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 12:24:32 PM

#172 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 12:28:42 PM

Only Arsenal managed to give Barcå a scare through the entire campaign.
Ok there I've said it. Anzeni matusi sasa.

mapozi
#173 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 12:44:00 PM

One of the meanings of hype is to exaggerate the greatness of something. based on this I stand by my earlier post. I don't think there's any team in this world that is too great to be beaten.
#174 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 1:17:51 PM

mapozi wrote:
One of the meanings of hype is to exaggerate the greatness of something. based on this I stand by my earlier post. I don't think there's any team in this world that is too great to be beaten.

Barca and Messi's greatness are not exaggerated and nobody has said that they cannot be beaten.
#175 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 2:06:09 PM

See what the numbers say.

The difference between Barcelona and Manchester United was clear to see during the Champions League final, as Lionel Messi inspired Pep Guardiola's side to a 3-1 victory.

But the collective effort of the Catalan team was crucial in constructing the win, demonstrated by the following statistics courtesy of Opta.

777 - Total number of passes that Barcelona made in the final, more than double Manchester United's 357. Barca had 69% of overall ball possession.

148 - Passes that Spanish midfielder Xavi completed during the game, a high for the Champions League this season. He misplaced only seven, giving him a completion rate of 95%.

90 - Percentage of passes completed by the Barcelona team. United's was 80%.

60 - Passes between Xavi and Andres Iniesta, the most common pass journey on the pitch. United's most frequent combination was between defender Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic (16).

55 - Number of times Xavi and Iniesta passed to Messi.

18 - Passes made by Barcelona keeper Victor Valdes - two more than Manchester United striker Javier Hernandez.

16 - Times United fouled Barcelona's players. Barcelona did likewise to their opponents on only five occasions.

15 - Dribbles by Messi, of which 10 were successful. Wayne Rooney was the next most frequent dribbler with six.

12 - Shots on target by Barcelona. Messi and Iniesta had three of these each.

11.95 - According to Uefa, distance in kilometres covered by Xavi, the highest in the Barcelona team. Ryan Giggs covered the greatest distance by a United player (11.16km).

1 - Number of shots that Manchester United had on target. This was Rooney's 34th-minute goal.
#176 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 2:07:32 PM

@ Mwenza....that "prize" you mentioned ni ya kulipa madeni, you're still broke.

..........True dat. Tutalipa aston villa and spurs madeni tukinunua Young and Modric respectively!! Or which other madenis did you have in mind?
#177 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 2:30:48 PM

@Mwenza....i don't see how those two players are supposed to make Man Utd stronger because you already have good players available in their positions. Kama ungesema mambo ya Sneijder then ningekubali. Madeni ni za Glazier (club owner), it all depends on what his priorities will be.
#178 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 3:02:09 PM

kingfisher wrote:

Ryan Giggs covered the greatest distance by a United player (11.16km).

Poor mzee Giggs.

@kingfisher, would you know how many bundles of miraa Sir Fergi chongad?

#179 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 3:11:51 PM

kingfisher wrote:

Ryan Giggs covered the greatest distance by a United player (11.16km).

Poor mzee Giggs.

@kingfisher, would you know how many bundles of miraa Sir Fergi chongad?

Hiyo ni miraa ama ni muguka???

On a different note, I think manure also suffered the michael owen omen....
#180 Posted : Monday, May 30, 2011 3:11:57 PM

@Wendz is a fan for hire. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . But yeah, Barca are outta this world.

@Elder, someone needs to check if fergie still has his tongue intact..... with that kind of tension, he could have chewed it!