wazua Sun, Jun 22, 2025

This Is It!
#1 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2011 11:40:24 PM

I am watching Michael Jackson's rehearsals for "This is it" shows on Mnet and to say he was thorough is a gross understatement. He was involved in all aspects and really took his music seriously!

And the array of artists involved - background vocalists, dancers, instrumentalists etc., man! those who were to attend those shows would have been in for a treat! The sheer number of those involved - from lighting, props etc. - it was a whole industry going on. I finally understand why people used to pay obscene amounts of money to attend his shows.

They even shot videos to go with some of the songs including a complete re-shoot of Thriller Zombie scenes. I'm really impressed. Too bad he had to go!

Compare that with our so called musicians "live" performances. A CD playing and fellow who can't even remember words to his own song trying to lip sync and jump around.
#2 Posted : Saturday, May 21, 2011 11:48:08 PM

I am watching Michael Jackson's rehearsals for "This is it" shows on Mnet and to say he was thorough is a gross understatement. He was involved in all aspects and really took his music seriously!

And the array of artists involved - background vocalists, dancers, instrumentalists etc., man! those who were to attend those shows would have been in for a treat! The sheer number of those involved - from lighting, props etc. - it was a whole industry going on. I finally understand why people used to pay obscene amounts of money to attend his shows.

They even shot videos to go with some of the songs including a complete re-shoot of Thriller Zombie scenes. I'm really impressed. Too bad he had to go!

Compare that with our so called musicians "live" performances. A CD playing and fellow who can't even remember words to his own song trying to lip sync and jump around.

...Wanted to watch but the Real Madrid/Almeria game was too nice not to watch...Hope there will be a repeat...
...Yeah, our artists make me sick...That is why I prefer watching Yatta Mbois mbandi, life
#3 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 12:00:05 AM

I had the same problem @magigi. I switched to Mnet at half time and had one serious problem going back to the game. I had to flip between the two but the game really suffered. Knowing my love for football, you can imagine how engrossing the Michael show was! Can't mind watching it again if there is a repeat!
#4 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 10:21:05 AM

@Maich,
Uhh!!....Thought you were about good ol' Sam Madoka's (RIP) Coca Cola sponsored "This is it" programme.Used to future on the then VoK in the early eighties....On another note,i believe i saw a remake of US for Africa "We are the world".Beautiful job and i would seriously want to know the new voices although i still recognised Pedergrass,Michael,Kenny Rogers and a couple more artists from the old......BTW,are you posting from the Gates?....lol.
QW25071985
#5 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 11:20:27 AM

Who gives a heck a about m.j . He died and he's in hell burnin eternally. I hated the dude with a passion.
#6 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 11:23:21 AM

@Maich,
Uhh!!....Thought you were about good ol' Sam Madoka's (RIP) Coca Cola sponsored "This is it" programme.Used to future on the then VoK in the early eighties....On another note,i believe i saw a remake of US for Africa "We are the world".Beautiful job and i would seriously want to know the new voices although i still recognised Pedergrass,Michael,Kenny Rogers and a couple more artists from the old......BTW,are you posting from the Gates?....lol.

@njunge, last time we spoke you were to post after completing Mater Run. You mean you are still running? Since I can't afford DSTV, I'll talk about mighty smex Sam Madoka. Who remembers US Sounds Fantastic 'grovelisticfunksophisticationhyperbolicsylabisesquedelimstic'? sponsored by Johnson's Wax, sound engineer Chris Mbindyo
#7 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 11:50:35 AM

@GG,
What?....I finished half dead...lol.Sasa hii ni nini?
#8 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 12:29:18 PM

@magigi you now know why he died. 50 year old man trying to do things he did at 25! Like throwing himself on the floor, swinging on cranes etc his body couldn't take it.
gmimo
#9 Posted : Sunday, May 22, 2011 2:21:03 PM

....i give credit where it deserves....the 'this is it' show rocked.....MJ's music wasn't my cup of tea but i reaaaalllly enjoyed it yesterday....i can watch it over and over if repeated..