wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

5 Pages«<2345>
Is Kenya a Failed State
mtaalam
#61 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 7:25:00 AM

There's no law and order in Kenya,if that's the definition of a failed state then yes we are.
Let's be honest,it took Waki,a not so experienced investigator a few weeks plus a not so well organised public hearing to come up with the list. So how comes the govt,the parties,the police,AG etc with all the mechanism and resources have not been able to investigate and come up with even one name in one and a half years?

No one can convince me that there's now or there's going to be political will to sort this issue and that's why I am 100% for the Hague!

ili iwe funzo...
bird_man
#62 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 7:59:00 AM

Lets stop kiddin ourselves here......we are a FAST FAILING state!Most of the people commenting here may not be in touch with reality ...maybe you live in 'Avarage' estates like South B,C,Kile,Buru etc.What we forget is that most Kenyans don't live there.

-No water (Mau farming going on even as we compain about this water.)
-Insecurity ( You can actually debate whats better,meeting thugs or cops at night)
-Stima ndiyo hiyo inahepa
-2 nd liberators are also the new grand thieves
-Food prices have actually doubled
-Fuel prices have gone up and cannot be controled
-Cabinet spends endless nights debating whether its ICC or Local tribunal ...while almost all Kenyans have agreed on which they want.
-Rotten judiciary ( remember Chomodely!)
-UON has 4 Bcom intakes/ yr yet no company is recruiting all those graduates
-All land in Eastleigh,South C and now CBD is slowly being sold off to Somalis,Libyans & Qataris while we complain about landlessness.

Y-ou cannot start a business is some areas WITHIN KENYA since you are unsure whether you will have to close or relocate after five years.

-Largest non-Toyota driving cabinet in Africa...i think the world too!
-A president who in times of hunger can only tell us about how many wives he has on national TV
-A PM whose house needs 38M renovation while his constituents have no ugali,jobs,housing or toilets
-A minister who decides to 'eat' and import maize from SA while people in his province were sellin at same price
-A finance minister who thinks 9B is a small joke u can laugh off and dismiss
-My mother and father came from humble beginnings and due to education,they lead a decent life today.Now make the mistake of being born poor today,in a family that cant afford 'acadamies'....even if you are the smartest ndani ndani..ur fate is sealed the minute you were born....u will die as you were born,poor!

Now we don't need definations from Wikipedia,UN etc. Look at the above and tell me whether you honestly think we ain't a failing state. Lets stop burying our heads in the sand.

The course of the world is changed by those who dare dream!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Sarrouniya
#63 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 8:37:00 AM

@bird_man,I am with you 100% on this. Away with the theory and ideologies. One look at the basic facts,cold and hard,and you will all agree that we are well on our way downhill faster than u think with only a few Kenyans responsible for that. LET'S SERIOUSLY RETHINK OUR CHOICES IN 2012.

The political playing field dictates the state of our economy as a whole. So good people therein and therein only lies our solution...

Sarrouniya
|The Universe will correspond to the nature of your song ...
Brewer
#64 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 9:00:00 AM

Good that someone mentioned Kagame and his hand in Rwanda's turnaround. On the other hand,africa is not shy of examples of disastrous leadership. There is no substitute for good leadership in holding a state together and guiding it forward. But a state will essentially unite and prosper on the back of some domineering progressive idealogy and the leader should ideally be the best representative of that ideology. Freedom/independence were the overaching ideology of the 60s but what is the ideology of today?

I think we are on the VERGE OF NEW POLITICAL LEADERSHIP in this country and I doubt the domineering issue of the 2007 elections- sio wakati wa kabila hii au ni wakati wetu sasa- is much of an ideology for unity and prosperity for the new leadership. Fair or not Kibaki and Raila irredeemably represent the duel of 2007 with a short mandate now being to clean up the mess their duel left in its wake because in my view the future belongs elsewhere. The failure of a state is just one leader away!
#65 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 10:24:00 AM

@Birdman,your analysis of the state of the nation is correct but you have chosen to ignore the other side of the coin. Most of this stuff you have written is correct but don&rsquo;t you think its fair to balance the scales. I completely agree with you,and just to use my favorite shenglish &lsquo;Enyewe Tuko down&rsquo; but your statements are deliberately misrepresenting the correct picture;

Lets stop kiddin ourselves here......we are a FAST FAILING state!Most of the people commenting here may not be in touch with reality ...maybe you live in 'Avarage' estates like South B,C,Kile,Buru etc.What we forget is that most Kenyans don't live there.

-No water (Mau farming going on even as we complain about this water.) I can&rsquo;t argue with this,in my opinion I would describe this as &lsquo;clear and present danger&rsquo; we really need to get our act together and consolidate our water towers.
-Insecurity ( You can actually debate what&rsquo;s better,meeting thugs or cops at night) Agreed but this has been the scenario for as long as I can remember.
-Stima ndiyo hiyo inahepa Kengen and KPLC have also been incompetent for as long as they have been in existence
-2 nd liberators are also the new grand thieves; Agreed,but I am glad Kenyans have considerably raised the bar on governance in 2009 compared to 1991
-Food prices have actually doubled This is a result of the worldwide grain shortage,but there has been the death of traditional agricultural practices that depended on rain. I am not excusing the gava,they need to step up,Kenyans starving to death is not an option.
-Fuel prices have gone up and cannot be controlled- This is a worldwide phenomenon,
-Cabinet spends endless nights debating whether its ICC or Local tribunal ...while almost all Kenyans have agreed on which they want. &ndash; I don&rsquo;t think Kenyans have agreed on anything,let them talk,compromise and come up with a mutually acceptable solution,I don&rsquo;t see any problem here.
-Rotten judiciary (remember Chomondely!) &ndash; No comment
-UON has 4 Bcom intakes/ yr yet no company is recruiting all those graduates &ndash; This is a very good thing,I don&rsquo;t know why you included it here,most of the students already have jobs and are simply improving their quals. Besides,education is not meant to get you employed,its meant to improve one&rsquo;s knowledge. Gone are the days when one finished University and was called to become a DC,in this new world you get your degree and you look for work anywhere in the world (Have you heard of remittances from diaspora) or you take a bundus SACCO and transform it into one of the largest and most innovative financial Institution in Africa (heard of Equity).
-All land in Eastleigh,South C and now CBD is slowly being sold off to Somalis,Libyans & Qataris while we complain about landlessness. &ndash; The land most Kenyans want is for subsistence farming,but I concur,we need laws to check foreign integration in the country.

Y-ou cannot start a business is some areas WITHIN KENYA since you are unsure whether you will have to close or relocate after five years.- This was a one-off occurrence in 2007/08 over a 50 year period,1/50 is hardly a damning statistic,lets work on our differences and everything will be back to normal.

-Largest non-Toyota driving cabinet in Africa...i think the world too! &ndash; Source?
-A president who in times of hunger can only tell us about how many wives he has on national TV &ndash; Lets concentrate on the bigger picture (Kenya is not all about politicians,even larger than life personalities like Moi and Jomo came and left Kenya where they found it)
-A PM whose house needs 38M renovation while his constituents have no ugali,jobs,housing or toilets &ndash; Again bigger picture
-A minister who decides to 'eat' and import maize from SA while people in his province were sellin at same price &ndash; Again bigger picture
-A finance minister who thinks 9B is a small joke u can laugh off and dismiss &ndash; He was duly checked by the systems in place and the error corrected,his budget presentation partly redeemed him. We should applaud the vigilance that picked the error in the supplementary budget as a plus for Kenya.
-My mother and father came from humble beginnings and due to education,they lead a decent life today.Now make the mistake of being born poor today,in a family that cant afford 'acadamies'....even if you are the smartest ndani ndani..ur fate is sealed the minute you were born....u will die as you were born,poor! &ndash; I tend to agree that life has gotten worse,and things will probably get uglier as our population increases. More hospitals,schools,roads and other social amenities are needed to support the larger population and to create more opportunities for young Kenyans.

Now we don't need definations from Wikipedia,UN etc. Look at the above and tell me whether you honestly think we ain't a failing state. Lets stop burying our heads in the sand.

I see challenges,but when I sit in front of the internet with access to all knowledge in the world,the challenges also represent opportunities,if you want to mourn about innuendos,fine but remember others are not.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
wote
#66 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 1:25:00 PM

@Mkristo my brother first and foremost i do not live in Kenya,so that rules me out of listening to Kenyan news.

secondly,on this forum we seek to communicate with our fellow kenyans and share experiences on what is happening in other parts of the world and more so in terms of invstments.I was in South africa two weeks ago and i never meet any South africans who did not have any sense of belonging. honestly speaking i can tell you that i was in Kenya in December 2008 and more than 70% of Kenyans did not believe that the country actually belongs to them.Thus quotes like 'wenye inchi' and 'mwanaichi'.

In the early 1960's Kenyans GDP and that of South Korea were at par,Kenyan's was even bigger than Singapore,today they are not even comparable. Our positive thinking seems to retard us backwards or what do have to say on that.

Paul Kagame has applied the same policy as the founding leader of Singapore did in the 1960's and the 70's,i.e provided guided leadership where by he thinks for the population and the rest follow and apply his policy with out question. That is what the colonialist used to do for us only exception is that he is one of them.

Lastly,i do alot of interaction with big shorts at the United Nations and i can tell you with certainity,that The United Nations does not have one Ambassador Macharia Kamau heading any of its agency. There are two such agencies in Nairobi,one is head by a Swiss National (who is also the Derector -General for United Nations offices in Nairobi known as UNON) and the other is headed by a Tazanian Lady.

wote
ji
#67 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 1:42:00 PM

YES,
And it would take great effort to persuade me to think the contrary.

'I never see what has been done; I only see what remains to be done.'

koli
#68 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 5:50:00 PM

we are not equating kenya with somali.

Failed states can be of various degree.Infact Somali is a collapsed state.Kenya is a failed state .

we are all in the same boat;
a boat that is sinking.
Jaymiggy
#69 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2009 9:58:00 PM

@ Brewer;
I thought all of us moved on from the ODM-PNU nonsense?? now what are you doing taking us back to that crap???

@ All: It's only you and me who can turn around our country. Plant trees,don't litter,don't pay bribes,be your brother's keeper,do the right thing,obey the law,take your kids to school,educate them.... just do the right thing.
Brewer
#70 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 6:55:00 AM

Jaymiggy- your wind assisted trip to ODM/PNU nonsense must be lonely because i never mentioned such stuff. We are on the VERGE OF NEW LEADERSHIP,I said.
Finje
#71 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 8:42:00 AM

Kenya is based on the European Nation state model. Kenya is a nation state created by Britain. Britain itself is a failed state - a feudal kingdom ruled by a few. Mtoto wa nyoka ni nyoka - so we are bound to be a failed state just like the mother country.

The U.S. which is the spawn of Britain and the successor to the British Empire is itself failed,where the majority participate in elections which are just a farce / show to cheat Americans that they are represented. After all despite a new government and president - Obama continues with Bush policies. Is that a genuine change of government,or is it the Illuminati toying around with American minds??

The U.S. itself is built on the bones of the real owners of America the Red Indians,hence it is the foremost failed state.

The man he thinks he can,and the one who thinks he can't are both right. Which one are you?
Finje
#72 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 8:42:00 AM

Kenya is based on the European Nation state model. Kenya is a nation state created by Britain. Britain itself is a failed state - a feudal kingdom ruled by a few. Mtoto wa nyoka ni nyoka - so we are bound to be a failed state just like the mother country.

The U.S. which is the spawn of Britain and the successor to the British Empire is itself failed,where the majority participate in elections which are just a farce / show to cheat Americans that they are represented. After all despite a new government and president - Obama continues with Bush policies. Is that a genuine change of government,or is it the Illuminati toying around with American minds??

The U.S. itself is built on the bones of the real owners of America the Red Indians,hence it is the foremost failed state.

The man he thinks he can,and the one who thinks he can't are both right. Which one are you?
Mtu Biz
#73 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 9:34:00 AM

If every Kenyan thought like wote,Kenya would be a failed state.

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

The General
#74 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 9:42:00 AM

@ mtu biz,i agree with you,but we will excuse him/her. we have to.

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
mkristo
#75 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 11:56:00 AM

Ok wote;

you've made your point; and you are indeed more exposed than I am and have a broader perspective of issues than my limited experience.

As far as being loyal to this country KENYA is concerned; I feel nothing about other nations because,like I said earlier,none of those countries have fed me to maturity as I am today,KENYA has. I have eaten of the sweat of Kenyan people; I have prospered and continue to prosper on KENYAN soil.

Of course KENYA is a member of the International Community for obvious reasons,but that does not make the international community or nations superior to my motherland so that today I begin to despise my country and have nothing to do with it.

From the way you share on this forum,I can tell you really are not happy about Kenya as it is now,and that I can understand. But it does no good on your part to think Kenya is helplessly failing or has failed.

My question to you is,could you just say one thing that shows you have a genuine concern to see constructive change in our Nation? Get off the fence and join the fray.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
#76 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 12:08:00 PM

No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!
No!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Mtu Biz
#77 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 12:44:00 PM

@ Mukiha NoNINI?

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

wote
#78 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 1:57:00 PM

@Mkristo i have probably given my country more than it will ever give me back,so lets quit the patrotic song and face realities.

And the realities are very simple,at Independence we had very strong institutions which to me are the pillars of a Nation/statehood.This institutions have continued to rot over a period of 40 years and there is very little we have done correct the situation.

Ordinary Kenyans do not need so much for their taxes,all the demand are life's basic necessities such as roads,water,electricity,security,decent housing e.tc i highly doubt if our government has meet any of the above.

The general and Mtu Biz,why would one have house say in Nairobi,pay city hall rates for services delivary and then hire a private company to provide the same services that were paid for?

why would a country's capital after 40 years of independence not even have an urban Transport system?.

Why would a Government concession a rail line that is more than a hundred years old?,knowing very well that its actually more beneficial to its citizens if a new railline was built in the first place.

Singapore is a very small island that imports drinking water but taps never run dry even a single day.

the list is endless but i will choose end here and sign off on this subject matters and let you guys dream the impossible dream.

wote
caesar
#79 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2009 2:19:00 PM

Whats saddens me is the knowledge that many Kenyans will be born,grow up and die without seeing any big changes. Most of the roads we are building right now are the same roads we had in good shape in 1978.

We recycling old leaders,their sons and daughters of old presidents,vice presidents and chiefs and are not seeking any new progress.

@ Finje; United States is different,close to 750 000 Kenyans live there with incomes higher than US national average. There is no comparison with Kenya Obama is giving around 60 Billion dollars to poor countries. These people are compassionate too. The UK and US even gives us military help,Offers more donor support organizations like the UN and World Bank. Have explored the universe even visited the moon and Mars achievements for all mankind.

We are just struggling in getting water into our homes,Our greatest achievements are stealing monies from our only working systems to return ourselves to dust. I am just tired of the pettiness of Some Kenyan minds,of leaders who believes that corruption cannot be solved,of Atwoli and the other clowns.

The US is the beacon of hope for the world; a typical 16 year old will have car,ipod,all the typical things you would consider for Rich people in Kenya. every house would have a fridge,flat screen Tv,like 2 or 3 laptops,Microwave,and hot water for shower. Most roads are tarmacked,unemployed get monthly financial assistance,inform of subsidized housing etc.

Kenyans embrace bulls*** from RAO and Kibaki because they do not know the difference...
shifta
#80 Posted : Saturday, July 18, 2009 8:21:00 AM

To get a answer,go northern Kenya,past Isiolo( 4 hr drive from Nairob) and see for u self if 'goverment' funtions,U guys are complaing of water,electricity etc. Or u don't watch TV how the nomads carry guns to protect their animals and property. Only the Kenyan flag flies,period. keep debating.