wazua Tue, Oct 8, 2024

Willy Mutunga CJ-Nancy Baraza -Deputy CJ
Mo
#21 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 2:52:18 PM

can someone pls profile this duo? i really want to know what jsc saw in them.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#22 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:01:24 PM

so is he really.. u know.. a plug
#23 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:02:51 PM

digitek1 wrote:
fact of the matter is that Parliament will reject the guys.
ahmednassir needs lessons on realpolitik, do u remember hw he handled KACC nominees when he was in lsk

The last time I heard that word a guy lost his seat in parliament.I hope he makes it back.Every one is pro reform I dont think MPs will risk upsetting the masses with the elections so near.

@MO there is a link on Mutunga profile on the first post.
#24 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:05:57 PM

Nancy Baraza doing a thesis on the rights of gays....just reached my desk!!!
#25 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:11:08 PM

Even Kiraitu Murungi was a radical who fought for democracy...now he just rapes our economy LOL

Doesn't mean we should roll over and die, we must keep trying to get the right people to improve our systems.

I am quite happy with the pick, impressed he was among the founders of KHRC. The approvals by the principals and MPigs should follow quickly so we can start shovelling shit out of the barn
#26 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:12:00 PM

This is the single most scary thing for me with these two.

Civil society activists are full of unnatural nonsense like gayism.

We might get dangerous judicial precedents on sexuality from these two.Pray Pray
#27 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:25:10 PM

I dont see anything wrong with that or is there a problem I think they [Gay] are protected by the constitution.

I think we should separate Religious views from social justice.
#28 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:33:17 PM

How does Kibs now feel about the shortlisted names vis-a-vis his list? Likely he's not aware, probably will hear it next week akiamka.

Hii ilikuwa T.Project Fame ya Judges, with numerous participants making their presentations, Ahmednassir as judge Ian...

Overall it was refreshing way the entire exercise was transparently conducted, and no delays in announcing the shortisted ones.

Hope this spirit will prevail in all other public appointments.
#29 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:39:09 PM

selah wrote:

I dont see anything wrong with that or is there a problem I think they [Gay] are protected by the constitution.

I think we should separate Religious views from social justice.

selah, read again.....just reported......
#30 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:48:01 PM

@MC actually my rant was directed @Laughing out loudly he seems to have a problem with Nancy's thesis.
#31 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:50:37 PM

Good choice in CJ for me. From outside the judiciary, activist and definitely not a conservative.

My sentiments exactly...
#32 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:53:49 PM

selah wrote:
@MC actually my rant was directed @Laughing out loudly he seems to have a problem with Nancy's thesis.

sawa sawa brazza!!!
#33 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:55:50 PM

selah wrote:
Even Kiraitu Murungi was a radical who fought for democracy...now he just rapes our economy LOL

Not forgetting PLO.

I wouldn't fault PLO.... i think if he had like minded people in judiciary and AG, we'd see something moving... his powers are pretty restricted and i think when the KACC was made, someone ensured it wouldnt bite.....
#34 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 3:56:45 PM

Good choice in CJ for me. From outside the judiciary, activist and definitely not a conservative.

My sentiments exactly...
#35 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 4:34:50 PM

...Thank God Justice Nambuye was not selectec. and now that all these guys were flshed infront of our eyes to see...she needs A SET OF TEETH and at least she should see a beautician to suggest which wig to go for if all th hair is gone...The first time I saw her talikng during the interview I commented that that 'man has a woman voice'. only to be corrected that it is a woman talikng.
...IMAGE is everything... least this is a departure from what we are used to seeing...The appearence of the first fameally torturily has really tortured my eyes....Cant wait for 2012...
Cde Monomotapa
#36 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 4:39:03 PM

So is it big willy or small willy.tihihi. We are fast becoming America ndogo.
kiriita
#37 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 4:48:45 PM

And the nomination of ladies as deputies continues.
#38 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 4:57:54 PM

Good choice for CJ even though Paul Kihara looked more confident(kulingana na maoni yangu).At least somebody outside the old dirty system is OK for me.A new broom is required in the Judiciary.

Paul Kihara may be perceived to be so pro kibaki given that he was Kibakis choice in the last drama.
A person percieved to be of independent thought ok for me.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
sanity
#39 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 5:09:41 PM

with ahmednassir in the panel,the status quo-pro system interviewees had no luck.lets just hope that once appointed ,the duo will change our rotten judiciary and not the other way round.
Hope is not a strategy
B.Timer
#40 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2011 5:15:05 PM

I must say I was a little suprised with the choice.
Arent we radicalising the judiciary!

JSC wants things elected to have things liberal!

Dr. Mutunga may prove us wrong though.

He is independent minded to a fault.
I remember when Kibaki was newly elected for his first term, he appointed him to a fairly plum job, but he rejected it on account of
1)He wasnt consulted before hand.
2)not wanting to acquiesce to the executive or appear to benefit from its patronage.
3)He suggested a departure from the past.

All the positives not withstanding I remain apprehensive.

Those already serving in the Judiciary have cause to worry. Dont know how they'll take this.

PS
I am posting this from Mutunga's rural backyard.

Dunia ni msongamano..