Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/11/2010 Posts: 90 Location: kenya
me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2010 Posts: 906 Location: Nairobi
doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea It was populist nonsense. The man in charge of this move has lost my vote for his bure economics. I don't want to say his name and invoke people's emotions
KenyanLyrics wrote:doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea It was populist nonsense. The man in charge of this move has lost my vote for his bure economics. I don't want to say his name and invoke people's emotions EPHRAIM MAINA
doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea People, Do you have a rough idea of how much it would have been costing now if it was not regulated? If the marketers had gotten to 112 when it was @ around USD90 per barrel, how much would it be now that it is around USD 120 per barrel. Guys please let us not be drawn into useless emotion. I Think Therefore I Am
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/11/2010 Posts: 90 Location: kenya
bwenyenye wrote:doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea People, Do you have a rough idea of how much it would have been costing now if it was not regulated? If the marketers had gotten to 112 when it was @ around USD90 per barrel, how much would it be now that it is around USD 120 per barrel. Guys please let us not be drawn into useless emotion. the prices would be high but due to competation,one company would be selling at 120 while the other was selling at 80
doubtfire wrote:bwenyenye wrote:doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea People, Do you have a rough idea of how much it would have been costing now if it was not regulated? If the marketers had gotten to 112 when it was @ around USD90 per barrel, how much would it be now that it is around USD 120 per barrel. Guys please let us not be drawn into useless emotion. the prices would be high but due to competation,one company would be selling at 120 while the other was selling at 80 And there is no competition now? Wasn't there competition those days @bwenyenye is quoting? I totally agree with @bwenyenye. We would be paying 130/= per litre without these controls. Having said that, I think Kiraitu and his crew have infiltrated the regulatory commission. I'm waiting to see how they will justify a price increase while the crude prices have gone down. And we should not be made to pay for inefficiencies and corruption. If an importer incurs [avoidable] higher expenses due to his/her incompetence, the formula should totally ignore that additional cost. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
I heard an interesting comment on the media jana. They said that the direct importation of refined Super petrol as opposed to having it refined here would reduce the costs by upto KShs 18 per litre. I have issues with trusting the media so can anyone confirm this? Yaani guys are paying KShs 18 more coz of ineffeciencies? eish... I Think Therefore I Am
Rank: Member Joined: 2/8/2007 Posts: 625 Location: Nairobi
bwenyenye wrote:doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea People, Do you have a rough idea of how much it would have been costing now if it was not regulated? If the marketers had gotten to 112 when it was @ around USD90 per barrel, how much would it be now that it is around USD 120 per barrel. Guys please let us not be drawn into useless emotion. No! no! no! ....hapana! its the regulation that has forced the price up!If the funny stations are selling the same as the well know multinationals do we have any competition?In the open market i am sure some guy would have been selling at 105! The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
bwenyenye wrote:I heard an interesting comment on the media jana. They said that the direct importation of refined Super petrol as opposed to having it refined here would reduce the costs by upto KShs 18 per litre.
I have issues with trusting the media so can anyone confirm this? Yaani guys are paying KShs 18 more coz of ineffeciencies? eish... I don't have details on this but there are some guys who had written a paper on how fuel prices can be reduced by up to Kshs. 18/= per litre. I don't know if the two are related or the Kshs. 18/= is just a coincidence. No need to mention that no one was interested. For the politicians and cartels, there can never be money in order. Chaos, confusion, unpredictability etc. is what mints enough cash for a fellow who was an activist a few years ago to buy himself a chopper - as the icing on all the other wealth he has amassed! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Nobby wrote:bwenyenye wrote:doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea People, Do you have a rough idea of how much it would have been costing now if it was not regulated? If the marketers had gotten to 112 when it was @ around USD90 per barrel, how much would it be now that it is around USD 120 per barrel. Guys please let us not be drawn into useless emotion. No! no! no! ....hapana! its the regulation that has forced the price up!If the funny stations are selling the same as the well know multinationals do we have any competition?In the open market i am sure some guy would have been selling at 105! And what is stopping them from selling at 105/= now. The procurement process is still the same. What the regulation is doing is set the maximum price. You can go as low as you want! What you are saying is tantamount to saying that the Mututho law has made a fellow who used to get home at 7:00pm start getting home past 11:00pm!!! Get it? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
I agree with Maichblack and bwenyenye on this coz Tanzania also has a port but the cost of fuel there is about Tshs 2100 equivalent to about kshs 119!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 2/8/2007 Posts: 625 Location: Nairobi
There you go! its 115 and 127 in North eastern!!! Grrrrrr! Who has an electric motor cycle?? The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
bwenyenye wrote:doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea People, Do you have a rough idea of how much it would have been costing now if it was not regulated? If the marketers had gotten to 112 when it was @ around USD90 per barrel, how much would it be now that it is around USD 120 per barrel. Guys please let us not be drawn into useless emotion. The regulation may have been a blessing in disguise, even if many fail to see it. It's always important to use history to see what multinationals would be charging. Lets remember the external factors like the Arabian uprising. I think it would have been worse had there been no regulation. Problem is we are too quick to blame someone. If so, blame the Arabs. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Jus Blazin wrote:bwenyenye wrote:doubtfire wrote:me thinks this whole idea of gov controlling the prices was a bad idea People, Do you have a rough idea of how much it would have been costing now if it was not regulated? If the marketers had gotten to 112 when it was @ around USD90 per barrel, how much would it be now that it is around USD 120 per barrel. Guys please let us not be drawn into useless emotion. The regulation may have been a blessing in disguise, even if many fail to see it. It's always important to use history to see what multinationals would be charging. Lets remember the external factors like the Arabian uprising. I think it would have been worse had there been no regulation. Problem is we are too quick to blame someone. If so, blame the Arabs. Without any doubt we would be paying more without the regulation of prices - remember that these are maximum prices. Nothing stops anyone from selling for less but we are protected from arbitrary increases above the maximum set by the ERB.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/8/2011 Posts: 14 Location: ANSH Plaza, Moi Av. Nairobi
The best way to handle this fuel crisis, at least psychologically, is to position oneself to buy fuel at shs. 150 per liter. This way you will feel the prices are way discounted, albeit not for too long. I know, some of you will call this illusion. Our world is full of illusions anayway. We sometimes live on hope, which for the discerning, is absolutely empty, but this keeps us going. Much like the fabled bird of the desert which upon sensing danger burries its head in the sand, and feels real safe, when all the while its fully exposed to the danger it is hiding from. Always stay ahead of time
Market
Review
Fuel Pices Set To rise Again!!!!