wazua Wed, Apr 1, 2026

11 Pages<12345>»
Banks Wont make you Money in 2011
Iborian
#21 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 7:10:56 PM

And who the h..l is Giro Bank. Can't say that I have ever heard of them. Oh Oh now I remember they are the same folks who own Car and General. Now, isn't that a coincidence? So what will happen to Cars & etc?

[quote=the deal]Hehehe ati my picks are appalling C&G will continue to kick a**

Now i hope this GIRO Showing is not a pointer to the rest http://allafrica.com/stories/201104191058.html[/quote]
Cde Monomotapa
#22 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 7:35:46 PM

the deal wrote:
Hehehe ati my picks are appalling C&G will continue to kick a**

Matter of fact..ever since u joined the media (blog)..sisemi kitu. Lol!
#23 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 7:50:50 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
the deal wrote:

Laughing out loudly Wewe Cde, why are you trying to gag the media?
Cde Monomotapa
#24 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 10:24:19 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
the deal wrote:

Laughing out loudly Wewe Cde, why are you trying to gag the media?

Influences from certain governments I admire ;-)
#25 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 11:00:59 PM

Giro Bank ad C&G are different businesses...
What I am curious about is how some banks with HUGE bond gains will do in 2011?

Banks like DTB will be OK coz they have expanded into the region. Not sure about the others.

CFC Stanbic might have a tough time in 2011 matching 2010's performance!
erifloss
#26 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 11:25:17 PM

Banks like DTB will be OK coz they have expanded into the region. Not sure about the others.

I seem to think that DTB is the bank that will be in a lot of shit. If my memory serves me right their growth on interest income was below 20% and their significant growth was from bond trading.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#27 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 11:30:08 PM

erifloss wrote:

I seem to think that DTB is the bank that will be in a lot of shit. Though if my memory serves me right their growth on interest income was below 20% and their significant growth was from bond trading.
Well, if DTB made a one-off gain on Bonds in 2010 then that was very smart of them... but the core profits from lending will probably rise vs 2010
1) Regional expansion
2) Additional cash to lend from increased deposits + sale of bonds
3) Smart management
erifloss
#28 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 11:46:53 PM

erifloss wrote:

I seem to think that DTB is the bank that will be in a lot of shit. Though if my memory serves me right their growth on interest income was below 20% and their significant growth was from bond trading.
Well, if DTB made a one-off gain on Bonds in 2010 then that was very smart of them... but the core profits from lending will probably rise vs 2010
1) Regional expansion
2) Additional cash to lend from increased deposits + sale of bonds
3) Smart management

In Q1 it might happen. Q2 i don't see it happening at all:
1. With rising interest rates, i don't see them trading on bonds.
2. We are all sucked in by YOY growth and breaking down previous year's earnings to justify drops in income never works.
3. Income from their foreign operations was factored in their 2010 earnings.
4. I think Smart Management is what we might bag on!
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#29 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 9:02:25 AM

[quote=the deal]Hehehe ati my picks are appalling C&G will continue to kick a**

Now i hope this GIRO Showing is not a pointer to the rest http://allafrica.com/stories/201104191058.html[/quote]

All those banks with huge "other income" in 2010 will exhibit this trend.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:15:33 AM

Well... Co-op certainly made huge gains...

Impressed that they released 1Q results BEFORE Equity Bank!
11 Pages<12345>»