wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

124 Pages«<109110111112113>»
Finally the EPL kicks off!
Burning Spear
#2201 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 5:18:52 PM

As Kingfisher rightly points out, the race is not really over.

If Arsenal and Chelsea win ALL their remaining games (max 15 points), they will both finish at 79 points and only goal difference will separate the 2, Arsenal are ahead on head to head.

However, if Arsenal and Chelsea win all their remaining games, that would mean that Man Utd would lose 2 games of the remaining 5 which would be catastrophic.

Man Utd need 10 points from the remaining 5 games to win the title with 80 points, ideally 3 wins and 1 draw will do it. I will take 3 wins against Everton, Blackburn and Blackpool and a draw and loss against either Arsenal or Chelsea (even if Chelsea are at OT).

However, that will be nerve wracking as it means waiting until the final day to win by a point.

If we can beat Arsenal at the Emirates despite our poor away form this season, after beating Everton this weekend, we'll be firmly in the driving seat. Of course if we beat Chelsea as well, I will finally relax.

So mambo bado. I only say that because I expected Man Utd to beat Newcastle and they were thwarted so assumptions have to be thrown out of the window at this stage.

However, my confidence in the team could never be higher!Glory Glory

What do they consider,the goals scored or the Goals difference coz Arsenal have scored 66 goals against 61 of arsenal but considering the goals conceded,Arsenal have 34 against Chelsea with 27 thereby making the Goals difference as Arsenal 32 and Chelsea 34
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#2202 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 5:32:13 PM

Cup crashed....Reduced to a plate...Woiee!!.Sergio Ramos dropped the King's cup (Copa del Rey) from their open bus and the damn cup was reduced to pieces. Sasa hii mambo gani jameni?Laughing out loudly Real can't keep a cup?smile

#2203 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 7:08:32 PM

Habari nyingine ndio hii.............

http://www.tribalfootbal...t-club-football-1584581
Nobby
#2204 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 8:05:21 PM

Last night was one of the best games i have watched in EPL this year but rather disappointing for all the Gunners fans since this was a must win situation but we picked only one point However the title race is wide open any of the three top teams can win! Please do not count ur eggs before.....
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#2205 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2011 11:09:48 AM

At this stage of the league, I really don't care how well my team plays. My main interest is 3points.

Of what use is an entertaining game if the end result is one or zero point? As somebody said, if its entertainment you want, then go to the circus!!!

Ultimately, when history is written, nobody will remember how entertaining the spuds-aseno game was.Most people will remember that aseno dropped two very vital points in that game.

The League title remains Man Utd's to lose. This season the EPL has been unpredictable but I truly can't see the title going anywhere else.

#2206 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2011 11:20:08 AM

Let Man U continue collecting 3points and let others continue saying "...although we lost/drawn am happy with our performance...blah blah blah...."

Pray, how can somebody be happy for collecting zero points? How long will it take some people to realise that there are zero points awarded for an entertaining game? Perhaps its time some people lobbied for a change of criteria in awarding points.
Nobby
#2207 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2011 1:35:10 PM

mwenza wrote:
Let Man U continue collecting 3points and let others continue saying "...although we lost/drawn am happy with our performance...blah blah blah...."

Pray, how can somebody be happy for collecting zero points? How long will it take some people to realise that there are zero points awarded for an entertaining game? Perhaps its time some people lobbied for a change of criteria in awarding points.

Now do you think people are so clueless to think that an entertaining game will be awarded points!If you read my comments please note i said it was one of the best games....but disappointing coz we dropped points!By the way what makes u think Man-useless will not drop points in the next five games?They just did in that last game!
#2208 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2011 5:15:49 PM

Nobby wrote:
mwenza wrote:

Now do you think people are so clueless to think that an entertaining game will be awarded points!If you read my comments please note i said it was one of the best games....but disappointing coz we dropped points!By the way what makes u think Man-useless will not drop points in the next five games?They just did in that last game!

@Nobert Ochieng..............What makes you think am referring to your post?
Nobby
#2209 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2011 5:51:04 PM

mwenza wrote:
Nobby wrote:
mwenza wrote:

@Nobert Ochieng..............What makes you think am referring to your post?

You are nutts or kukus who ever you are!!!

#2210 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2011 7:21:32 PM

Nobby wrote:
You are nutts or kukus who ever you are!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#2211 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2011 7:25:46 PM

Mathematics or not, the only reason why am no longer sure who will lift the EPL title is because our title challengers are now Chelsea......achana na hao wengine(aka "next season")
#2212 Posted : Saturday, April 23, 2011 10:01:53 AM

It looks like am reading from the same script as the great SAF..

Fergie dismisses Arsenal threat April 23, 2011
Email Print By ESPNsoccernet staff

Sir Alex Ferguson has written off Arsenal's hopes of catching Manchester United in the Premier League, claiming Chelsea are by far the bigger threat in the title race.

Chelsea overtook Arsenal in second place on goal difference on Wednesday after dropping way off the pace during a terrible run of form through the middle of the season.

Both sides now sit six points behind United with five games to go and although Arsenal have maintained a far more consistent challenge to United's lead this season, it is Chelsea who Ferguson has always been more worried about. He praised Arsenal's footballing ability but said they lack the qualities he believes make a title-winning side, attributes he instead sees in Chelsea's squad.

"I said a few weeks ago that Chelsea would be our main challengers," he said. "Now they are above Arsenal. Looking at them, Chelsea are far more experienced than Arsenal - strong team, strong experience. Arsenal are better footballers, but Chelsea are the better, stronger team. I recognise that both are six points behind us, both are our challengers. I have that slight preference for Chelsea because their fixture list is a wee bit easier. But they have to come to Old Trafford and that's not going to be easy for them."

Even if United lose two matches from their remaining five, one of Chelsea or Arsenal would have to complete a perfect run home while overcoming United's superior goal difference to steal away the championship. Given that comfortable buffer, Ferguson might be expected to tell his men to simply concentrate on their own fixtures and the task of acquiring the ten points that would guarantee success.

But Ferguson said no such tricks were required and that he is happy to look in the rear-vision mirror as the finish line draws near.

"Looking behind you is not a bad thing to do with our experience. You have to recognise who is behind you. You can't be complacent. If we win against Everton we're down to only four games left, with a minimum of a six points lead. That's the way to look at it. You run out of games eventually."

United meet in-form Everton at Old Trafford in Saturday's early fixture ahead of Chelsea's evening showdown with West Ham at Stamford Bridge, while Arsenal visit Bolton on Sunday afternoon.

#2213 Posted : Saturday, April 23, 2011 4:46:08 PM

Good stuff, kept my nerves on the edge. United advantage. Now if we win the next two games, that is it. Game over.
#2214 Posted : Saturday, April 23, 2011 6:00:57 PM

Good stuff, kept my nerves on the edge. United advantage. Now if we win the next two games, that is it. Game over.

Wapi McReggae?Sad

#2215 Posted : Sunday, April 24, 2011 10:12:44 AM

We win 50% of our remaining matches and we are virtually home and dry.......unfortunately thats how easy it is to lift the title!!

Let others keep saying how the EPL title race is open.
#2216 Posted : Sunday, April 24, 2011 11:56:58 AM

Thieves!!!......Hammers denied two clear penalties!...Beckford and Anichebe wrestled to the ground.
@Mwenza,
If your team wins 50% of the remaining matches,they would still need a draw to confirm the cup.
#2217 Posted : Sunday, April 24, 2011 5:20:41 PM

@Mwenza,
If your team wins 50% of the remaining matches,they would still need a draw to confirm the cup.

Thats why I used the word "virtually"......A draw may not even be necessary, the title could be won on goal difference between Man U and Chelsea.

For me aseno are completely out of it since they can't win all their remaining five matches as required.

If the goal difference does not separate the winners, it may even go to the goal scored to determine the eventual winners.
Jaina
#2218 Posted : Sunday, April 24, 2011 6:01:19 PM

My prediction is that Man U will Trash both Arsenal and Chelski and Win the League Title with no need of Mathematics.

Arsenal will Draw again today be mathematically eliminated from contention. Arsenal still retains the unofficial title of "The Best Run Football Business in EPL". There is no trophy for that though.
#2219 Posted : Sunday, April 24, 2011 6:19:17 PM

Jaina wrote:

My prediction is that Man U will Trash both Arsenal and Chelski and Win the League Title with no need of Mathematics.

When you have a six point lead at this stage of the competition, you will be very naive to let that slip away. Forget those talking of the title being "wide open". Some phrases have lost meaning in Wazua.
#2220 Posted : Sunday, April 24, 2011 6:24:19 PM

As Kingfisher rightly points out, the race is not really over.

If Arsenal and Chelsea win ALL their remaining games (max 15 points), they will both finish at 79 points and only goal difference will separate the 2, Arsenal are ahead on head to head.

Unlike in La Liga, I don't think "head to head" is a factor in EPL title determination.