SME
Finance
Safaricom Signs Agreement With Kenyan Bankers Association
As others are busy telling people who already have multiple sim cards "ni wakati wa kuhama", Safaricom is busy looking for new income streams. Safaricom Signs Agreement with KBANever count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Quite interesting. I wonder if they'll integrate it with MPESA... $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
I thought it was only in politics but seems there are no permanent enemies in business either! This is a brilliant collabo! The cost benefits to our large cap.banks with vast networks is awesome! Then again...is this a sign of AK's turf being encroached?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,182 Location: nairobi
Ati wakati wa kuhama and the figure from cck is only 400 pple and their care centers are empty. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Member Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 286 Location: Nairobi
Safaricom is way ahead in this league. While they are playing premier, competition is playing divisional league. The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 322 Location: Chicago, IL, USA
I'd rather see investment in technologies that are ramping UP, not DOWN. If they were to say that they have a clean way to transfer money from the diaspora, GREAT! They'd be back on top! But paper checks are dwindling worldwide because of the very technologies that they helped develop- MPesa, etc. Credit and Debit cards are also killing the paper check. That, and to be honest, such an application is really simply comprised of scanners (MICR if you like, but optical is fine), an internet connection, an email program, and a third party TIF reader. Not high tech by any stretch of the imagination. I understand the need to get checks truncated and digitized into cash letters for faster processing and greater float, but, like voice being killed by voice-over IP, how long will it last?
jasonhill wrote:I'd rather see investment in technologies that are ramping UP, not DOWN. Not high tech by any stretch of the imagination. @jason.... Safaricom has won the tender to supply internet connectivity. Scanner, MICR, email and all that remain the responsibility of the banks. Safcom has won a tender to provide a service that they were already providing.. The application is being provided by NCR not Safcom. Direct your innovation hullabaloo to the banks.. Your bile towards Safaricom is so transaparent from all your posts. and by the way, if you need to send money from Diaspora, just use M-PESA (Directly from UK and Western Union from everywhere else)
Jasonhill,
any advancement that increases the velocity of money can only be good for the economy. You may think that the solution is archaic, but wait until they introduce the capability to check whether checks are good (account has money) at the pos.It will make all the difference!
accelriskconsult wrote:Jasonhill,
any advancement that increases the velocity of money can only be good for the economy. You may think that the solution is archaic, but wait until they introduce the capability to check whether checks are good (account has money) at the pos.It will make all the difference! Not necessarily... I didn't hear anything at all about fraud controls as the money flows quicker. I can tell you from personal experience, if you think fraud is bad from "washed" and crooked paper checks, you can't even imagine the damage that can be done from a tampered digital cash letter. As far as checking the availability of funds in real time, that would usually be done by individual banks providing hooks from the online banking services by way of a merchant portal... not really something that a check clearinghouse would do, but, check clearing is not something that a cell phone company would usually do, so who knows. Maybe I'm wrong and their next product will be the paypal of the Africas, they will be back on top, and I'll eat my words. I only hope that they use local talent to develop it. Best, Hill
mozenrat wrote:jasonhill wrote:I'd rather see investment in technologies that are ramping UP, not DOWN. Not high tech by any stretch of the imagination. @jason.... Safaricom has won the tender to supply internet connectivity. Scanner, MICR, email and all that remain the responsibility of the banks. Safcom has won a tender to provide a service that they were already providing.. The application is being provided by NCR not Safcom. Direct your innovation hullabaloo to the banks.. Your bile towards Safaricom is so transaparent from all your posts. and by the way, if you need to send money from Diaspora, just use M-PESA (Directly from UK and Western Union from everywhere else) Please don't take this the wrong way.... just want to know.. stock prices are talking... I'm sorry, maybe I'm confused, but how does one "win a tender to supply internet connectivity, if they were already doing so?" And if the optical and magnetic scanning hardware, infrastructure, and X9.37 TIFF software are all still responsibility of the banks, exactly what is SafCom's value-add in this equasion? The branches would have already had some sort of network connectivity to central offices, and fiber and Wimax is available. In addition, transmissions could happen during low-bandwidth periods such as all night and all morning during closed hours. So I'm just trying to understand exactly what this press release is about... and resultantly, will the stock rise because of it! And is it sustainable. I mean, lets be real, it's all just black and white tiff files and text micr data... you could transmit that over a cell phone... Ive had branches connect on 56k analog PHONE line modems push thousands of checks up every day. So I just dont see how this new internet connection can drop the processing time from 10 to 3 days... better check processing procedures by the banks, yes, and better clearinghouse practices by CBK, but the connection... In addition, I have nothing against SafCom, but can they not be questioned? Challenging SafCam is what has gotten Kenya 1 bob calling... so is it not good to question the status quo? And how is innovation hullabaloo? Is 4G hullaballo just because one has 3G? Oh pardom me for questioning the great, mighty, powerful SafCom... And Western Union??? Please tell me you are joking! Using them is like erasing your stock gains for the year with those fees! But I knew I was going to get flamed for questioning SafCom. It's okay. Bob knows it's all love. Best, Hill
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/13/2011 Posts: 39 Location: nairobi
Am sorry bt replicating services and making noise abt them dsnt help. Mpesa is good, coplicating it makes it even unfamiliar to pple. Lets keep in mind Airtel is simplifyng AirtelMoney mo n mo,this topped up with the touch of class n attractive services offered by Airtel, nt forgeting their out to serve customer service formular rings a bell. 90% of kenyas young generation is an Airtel generation. Which poses the Qst, at this rate where a simple porting exercise is eating into its market share, where will safaricom be in the nxt 5yrs? Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
aydenjason wrote:Am sorry bt replicating services and making noise abt them dsnt help. Mpesa is good, coplicating it makes it even unfamiliar to pple. Lets keep in mind Airtel is simplifyng AirtelMoney mo n mo,this topped up with the touch of class n attractive services offered by Airtel, nt forgeting their out to serve customer service formular rings a bell. 90% of kenyas young generation is an Airtel generation. Which poses the Qst, at this rate where a simple porting exercise is eating into its market share, where will safaricom be in the nxt 5yrs? which attractive services?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
Caveman wrote:aydenjason wrote:Am sorry bt replicating services and making noise abt them dsnt help. Mpesa is good, coplicating it makes it even unfamiliar to pple. Lets keep in mind Airtel is simplifyng AirtelMoney mo n mo,this topped up with the touch of class n attractive services offered by Airtel, nt forgeting their out to serve customer service formular rings a bell. 90% of kenyas young generation is an Airtel generation. Which poses the Qst, at this rate where a simple porting exercise is eating into its market share, where will safaricom be in the nxt 5yrs? which attractive services? @CAVEMAN This aydenjason is an alfred mutua of airtel. You wonder where airtel came in when this thread was about safaricom and the interconnectivity they are providing to the banks. @aydenjason Punguza hiyo moto. You should be charged by wazua for advertising and not paying for it. You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
@jasonhill I'm sorry, maybe I'm confused, but how does one "win a tender to supply internet connectivity, if they were already doing so?"
Oh come on.. You don't know that Safcom is an ISP and a network links provider.. U know bambanet? former Onecom?
And if the optical and magnetic scanning hardware, infrastructure, and X9.37 TIFF software are all still responsibility of the banks, exactly what is SafCom's value-add in this equasion? Who said anything about Safcom bringing any innovation to the deal? They've simply won the deal to be the ISP or Network Links provider. Value-adds and all that is the business of KBA which they think they've brought in by speeding up cheque clearance to one day. Whether or not this is true is between KBA and Kenyans.
In addition, transmissions could happen during low-bandwidth periods such as all night and all morning during closed hours. Is that what you call innovation.. waiting to have cheques transmitted and cleared during the night. I suppose M-PESA transfers should also take place at night. And even if I concede your point, which I don't, these night time transfers take place over a network (which is what Safaricom will provide) change in share price? Of course, Safcom has just won an extra income stream for the next five years. Revenues and profits dictate company value NOT vague notions of value add in areas that are not your core business. Western Union Sawa, its expensive... but what does that have to do with Safcom's stock price. If there are people using the service, Safcom is earning. Stop mixing your customer-centric (I should say communist) emotions with your evaluation of the stock.
I repeat, if this business of using MICRs and Scanners is outdated.. that is the business of the banks, KBA and Central Bank. If they come up with your "super solution", I'm sure Safcom will be there to offer the network infrastructure... and with it more dividends and capital gains for me (got in at 3.50 btw)
I know you've come to expect miracles from Safcom, but surely sometimes they have to sit back and simply do their core business. Something as simple as ensuring people can call or surf or connect to the KBA solution.
So all of our differences of opinions about banking technology, and SafCom's direction (I did indeed think that they were trying to push into the check-clearing business as a new profit center, not just the connectivity, as they have been trying to enter financial services) and the value of SafCom's network in clearing a check (costs which will be passed to every banking customer) aside, will this contract secure SafCom's future as a business internet provider, and, do you think this contract will keep the stock going in a positive direction compared to past performance?
My whole point was that the amount of bandwidth needed to clear checks is low, the technology is simple, so, this won't really produce much profit, so what does it mean to the stock price?
Best,
Hill
Aaaah.. Finally we're on the same page.. I don't know what Safaricom expects to earn from this deal - I have no idea what size images the cheques will create nor do I know how many cheques banks exchange on a daily basis..
Like you, I suspect that it won't be much. But then again you're the only one who has insinuated that the deal was meant to "secure the company's future". Maybe you're right, the earnings are not enough to justify the change in price.
However, from a business point of view, any win of any deal even if its one additional rural customer is "cause celebre". Ask Airtel. They've been celebrating every single port to their network. After all this is "additional" income. It doesn't take away anything from their current business.
Hehehehe, with due respect to the informed contributions on this one, sometimes going too much into technical detail makes peeps miss the big picture.
To me what matters is that Safcom is entrenching itself as a the elite service provider of choice in B2B evidenced by big deals and contracts they announce every now and then.This comes on top of them being the markt leader in mass service provision...safcom is thinking nxt level of mkt leadership while competition thinks snatching shifty customers is sustainanble biz... safcom left that stage behind with kencell, i think.
Whatever the deal is worth, this is straight bottom line income. They will be leveraging on already existing infrastructure. Even if they take a monthly charge of ksh 1,000 per branch per month, this is serious cash. Count the number of BRANCHES in the country, not the circa 50 banks and maybe UK's lost bag may not be big enough to carry the dough.
slykat wrote:Hehehehe, with due respect to the informed contributions on this one, sometimes going too much into technical detail makes peeps miss the big picture.
To me what matters is that Safcom is entrenching itself as a the elite service provider of choice in B2B evidenced by big deals and contracts they announce every now and then.This comes on top of them being the markt leader in mass service provision...safcom is thinking nxt level of mkt leadership while competition thinks snatching shifty customers is sustainanble biz... safcom left that stage behind with kencell, i think. Safaricom’s CEO, Mr Bob Collymore, says what I was trying to say above, himself. “We are going to make a major announcement in two weeks’ time that will move our data business to the next level,” said Mr Collymore. “We are now moving up the data value chain rather than just focusing on a Shilling a minute for voice; that is kind of yesterday’s game.” http://www.businessdaily...8/-/9ydy3cz/-/index.html
SME
Finance
Safaricom Signs Agreement With Kenyan Bankers Association