wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Only 400 have hamaad - ported
#21 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 4:03:44 PM

The only way Airtel can benefit from this porting is going on a wide scale mission of opening Zap agents all over the country and then reducing the cost of sending and receiving money.
Then just maybe will we port out of safcon coz sincerely most of us would like to move but life revolves around mpesa ata kwa local ukipewa moja unalipa na mpesa
#22 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 4:08:24 PM

I see these political statements on Twitter timeline:
"Since inception of the service, more than 8,000 subscribers have made porting requests (to today morning)," Charles Njoroge - CCK

"I wish to confirm that there has not been any sabotage among operators in the implementation of MNP as has been reported," - CCK.

kivairu
#23 Posted : Wednesday, April 13, 2011 6:17:34 PM

erifloss wrote:
aydenjason wrote:
Ooh save kenya such idle talk.. Ask the insiders. On 1st april alone, airtel activated thousands of PortINs on the system. I think..if allowed airtel shud publish its MNP REQ Ids to end such ignorant assumptions.

On behalf of other Wazuans Proof ama link tafadhali otherwise Bharti will continue swimming in losses...

To paraphrse the words of former vp, Butt, sorry bharti will continue to wallow in the miasma of delusion and record breaking losses...wacha the 7.1B losses of 2008/2009.All said, that company should close shop, or diversify into selling milk.Mobile telephony wasahau.

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
Abunuasi
#24 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 7:53:50 AM

The total port out requests are around 8K. Of these requests, am told only around 1800 are successful. Many are failing coz of failure to send confirmation sms.

Unconfirmed but reliable sources confirm that Airtel has acquired the largest chunk but out of these a number were misadvised and are porting back especially to safcm.

Safcm on the other hand has silently received mostly high spenders from airtel and thats y they were declining the approvals.

All in all in my own judgement. MNP is a waste of time and money for both CCK and Airtel.
anasazi
#25 Posted : Thursday, April 14, 2011 9:20:03 AM

The truth is there are no agents for Zap because there is no money to be made in Zap! Mpesa is good and is cheap considering what the competition (Bank transfers, Western Union etc) has to offer! So Airtel - undercutting is not the only way to do it!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
sungura2005
#26 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 12:17:38 AM

dossy7 wrote:
The only way Airtel can benefit from this porting is going on a wide scale mission of opening Zap agents all over the country and then reducing the cost of sending and receiving money.

They don't have the money for that thanks to their price war.
sungura2005
#27 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 12:21:56 AM

Elder wrote:

Personally think that Airtel ought to focus more on ZAP and 3G and less on this kuHAMA stuff.

They don't have the money to invest in ZAP and 3G thanks to the price war they started. Safaricom are smart why lie.
#28 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 10:32:54 AM

Was at my local last evening with 8 of my buddies .....I noted that two were on Airtel postpaid,5 were on Airtel pre-paid (1 bob tariff) and only one guy was on Safcom.....That got me thinking......I also realise that while my phone book has been dominated by Safcom previously,the number of Airtel lines is swelling and pretty fast....anyone?