wazua Sun, Dec 1, 2024

5 Pages<12345>
can todays marriage be happy marriage?
waridi1
#41 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 10:26:45 AM

Well...

I'm in my mid twenties, slowly getting to that point where I start to wonder, "When?" Most of my friends are 32 and above, and single. And we're all Christian women, we're beautiful (really, we are, lol), I'm even in ministry and I get a lot of attention... but from the wrong guys (my spirituality defines my life). We're homely, nurturing, simple, hatuna maneno mob. I think we're even fun.

However, I'm starting to hypothesize. Perhaps desperation is one thing that contributes to unhappy marriages. I have many friends who will now just marry anybody. At 19-23 girls want glamour - money, height, fame, education, etc. The men don't come. Or they do and are heartbreakers. In their mid 20s they get serious about life and God and begin to negotiate with Him. In their 30s they begin to go on 40 day dry fasts. And that's the point at which any man goes/will be accepted. And if any man goes, the marriage cannot be happy - they will be resentful, bitter, bored, disillusioned... and that's when the drama begins.

But there are happy marriages.. not easy, not perfect, but happy, where the couples would do it all over again if they were to make the choice at a different time and place.

Just my 2 cents
#42 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 10:34:28 AM

waridi1 wrote:
Well...

I'm in my mid twenties, slowly getting to that point where I start to wonder, "When?" Most of my friends are 32 and above, and single. And we're all Christian women, we're beautiful (really, we are, lol), I'm even in ministry and I get a lot of attention... but from the wrong guys (my spirituality defines my life). We're homely, nurturing, simple, hatuna maneno mob. I think we're even fun.

However, I'm starting to hypothesize. Perhaps desperation is one thing that contributes to unhappy marriages. I have many friends who will now just marry anybody. At 19-23 girls want glamour - money, height, fame, education, etc. The men don't come. Or they do and are heartbreakers. In their mid 20s they get serious about life and God and begin to negotiate with Him. In their 30s they begin to go on 40 day dry fasts. And that's the point at which any man goes/will be accepted. And if any man goes, the marriage cannot be happy - they will be resentful, bitter, bored, disillusioned... and that's when the drama begins.

But there are happy marriages.. not easy, not perfect, but happy, where the couples would do it all over again if they were to make the choice at a different time and place.

Just my 2 cents

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#43 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 10:46:23 AM

@waridi, Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

You've said it like 10 wise women!

Am a Christian dude in the 20s too. I can tell you for a fact that issues facing Christian women are;

a) shortage of serious marriageable Christian men-most men are irreligious.

b)money mindedness of the ladies-most of my pals would never do java with a chic they intend to get serious with on a first date. They start in a lower level joint and progress slowly. If she gets angry and feels her class is being lowered, the guy bolts...

c)desperation-this may get you the shy guy but men hate it when you push too hard. Throw the hints, make them obvious but DO NOT bother a man who doesn't seem interested.

All the best and relax,keep the fire burning while at it.
Dia
#44 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 12:46:57 PM

@Genghis, love is actually a verb. Its action - oriented.

I am happily married. I've come to understand there's a difference between what I need to feel and what I need to do.

Applause Spot on.
Dia
#45 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 12:52:16 PM

'user' wrote:

Kwanza mabibi wamesoma na wenye kazi !!! bad news they can make you go mad.

Kama hujaoa , go to the village get mmoja amemaliza form 4, uzimzoeshe Nai asichanuke , wacha hakae kulekuleeee

Kenyalyrics and all bachelors ,

I repeat again.

An independent woman is much likely to rule the house with impunity unless you want to divorce her and even then she will want to go with a good share of your fortune.Chunga sana

@User, I disagree. It depends on the girl not how educated/nairobian she is.I know a chick who went to the best schools in Nairobi, private Uni, got a masters, has a corporate job and she married a guy who fikad Form 4 from a needy background. And she treats him like a king! And they are so happily married, I refer to them when I need a role model. Maybe they are special coz they are both thoroughly saved.
Peppy
#46 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 1:06:53 PM

As a woman who has been married for 9 years, I must say marriage takes hard work and sacrifice. There will be happy days and not so happy days. Some days I really feel love, and others I wish he were away in Mars on business. My wake up call came after two years, when I shed off the fairy tale business and realised my husband is just a man (kyuk). I no longer expect flowers and chocolate on valentines. Some nyama shoma maybe and a coerced icecream date will do for him. Romance is not what makes a marriage, it adds flavor.
How many of us set standards at work, Strategic Plans, Weekly meetings, Communication Strategies, marketing strategies and yet no plans about marriage. I have also realized that men have fears and rarely have anyone to channel them to (Poleni sana mandugu zangu).
Prayer,prayer, prayer. Take everything to the Lord in prayer. Nothing is impossible with Him.

My two cents.
I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
#47 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 1:34:48 PM

Peppy wrote:
As a woman who has been married for 9 years, I must say marriage takes hard work and sacrifice. There will be happy days and not so happy days. Some days I really feel love, and others I wish he were away in Mars on business. My wake up call came after two years, when I shed off the fairy tale business and realised my husband is just a man (kyuk). I no longer expect flowers and chocolate on valentines.

You are very right... I think the problem these days is the expectations. We have decided to come up with a list of what we expect our spouses to do or not to do and we hang on it like our lives depend on it. if they fail on our expectations, they are not good enough and it becomes the subject of talk in the office, salons, chamas, in the pubs, wazua and wherever else..... and we are sad, and grumpy, and whiny and everything that goes with it hence a whole lot of "unhappy" marriages. Am not saying you do not have expectations in a marriage, but let such expectations be realistic. Sometimes the expectations are so high it would be difficult for even you, who is setting them, to actually achieve them. couple that with poor communication and you have a one deliciously served disaster!

A marriage is made by two people... if you listen to your spouse, you will realise that it doesn't have to take too much effort. sometimes the misunderstandings we have are just because of pride and wanting to just have your way or nothing else. However, i am not saying that marriages do not have genuine problems that end up not being reconcilable. But only when you have tried all avenues and you are not able to resolve your issues can you decide on the next level. That way, you will be content in your heart that you did everything humanly possible to save the marriage. Before you get there, do the best you can. Marriage is supposed to be beautiful. it is supposed to be fulfilling. if it is not, before yo point fingers at the next person, ask yourself what yo are doing wrong. when you genuinely answer that question and the answer is that you have done your best, then turn to the other person and hope they do their bit.
waridi1
#48 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2011 9:45:15 PM

Thank you @Kyt and Lolest

petro08 wrote:
'user' wrote:

Kwanza mabibi wamesoma na wenye kazi !!! bad news they can make you go mad.

Kama hujaoa , go to the village get mmoja amemaliza form 4, uzimzoeshe Nai asichanuke , wacha hakae kulekuleeee

Kenyalyrics and all bachelors ,

I repeat again.

An independent woman is much likely to rule the house with impunity unless you want to divorce her and even then she will want to go with a good share of your fortune.Chunga sana

@user,
I am one person who would have disagreed with you a few years back. I believe I have a lot of respect for hardworking women who are doing well. I have a few lady friends wamesoma and was thinking of taking it further with one of them. But I continue to hear the kind of advise you have given here from many married men.

So, I am taking your advise seriously. I have heard this from many responsible married men. But then, sasa huyu wa form four...tutakuwa na story gani...si we will bore each other vibaya. Ama how do well educated men go about having happy times na huyu wa form four? Please let me know your answer.

Sigh. It's not about kusoma or kuwa wa form 4.. it's just about knowing one's price and role in the marriage. Someone said the key to happy marriages is communication. I agree, and also meeting needs. A man's greatest need is respect, I've seen that for myself over and over, and a woman's greatest need is security. No matter how we put it it boils down to those two things. Anyone whose needs are not met is being shortchanged and anyone who's being shortchanged (or feels they're being shortchanged, which is where communication comes in) cannot give their all.

Peppy wrote:
As a woman who has been married for 9 years, I must say marriage takes hard work and sacrifice. There will be happy days and not so happy days. Some days I really feel love, and others I wish he were away in Mars on business. My wake up call came after two years, when I shed off the fairy tale business...

You are very right... I think the problem these days is the expectations...

A marriage is made by two people... if you listen to your spouse, you will realise that it doesn't have to take too much effort. ...Marriage is supposed to be beautiful. it is supposed to be fulfilling. if it is not, before yo point fingers at the next person, ask yourself what yo are doing wrong. when you genuinely answer that question and the answer is that you have done your best, then turn to the other person and hope they do their bit.

I have a request to make to all the happily married people, can you please share your stories with those who are single? I think we see too many sad stories and not enough happy couples are speaking out..
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 12:43:07 AM

And what's with married women nowadays? They are hunting with blatant impunity!
Abby
#50 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 7:18:15 AM

Quite right, they are very direct: even the way they do a handshake - it is much better than from single ladies smile

They want you to take them out for tea, buy lunch, etc. Just amazing world!!
#51 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 7:28:01 AM

I always thought that to have a marriage in the first place, the two just need to know what the creator of 'marriage' wanted it to be.

Know the creator, and follow Him, and all the rest will fall into place. Leave out the creator, well, there is no quantum physics to be grasped in that.
#52 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 8:47:46 AM

Dangerous generalisation!

You meet one or two married women... OK, three married women who are "hunting with impunity" {whatever that means} and conclude that all [or at least, most) married women are "hunting with impunity".

You forget that there are about 20,000,000 female humans in Kenya, about 1/4 of whom are married... i.e., 5,000,000......
#53 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 9:20:17 AM

mukiha wrote:

You meet one or two married women... OK, three married women who are "hunting with impunity" {whatever that means} and conclude that all [or at least, most) married women are "hunting with impunity".

You forget that there are about 20,000,000 female humans in Kenya, about 1/4 of whom are married... i.e., 5,000,000......

Two or three? They are very many!!! I have a married colleague who calls her boyfriend(s) within the earshot of everyone. She has absolutely no shame! She goes to the extent of telling the fellow on the other side that the hubby wants to meet her for coffee ["today"] and there is no way she can meet him after that coz they'll probably go home together! They have to reschedule the date. What is he doing on... One day she was asked by a colleague why she does that to the hubby and she said and I quote "Don't get me wrong. I love my husband with all my heart and I can't imagine life without him lakini mpango wa kando ni lazima!". wtf????

And that is just one. I know quite a number of ladies playing their husbands. Good thing I don't know the hubby's on personal level coz I'd be tempted to tell them and end up in the middle of a messy domestic fight - and you know what "waswahili" said about wapendanao.

This world - or the part of it that I know - is rotten!!! What do you call it when a married woman blatantly asks you out? A chick asks you to father their kid to your face etc. etc. Siku za mwisho au sio siku za mwisho? As P. P. Mwai wa Githinji would say "Dunia imepasuka katikati!"
petro08
#54 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 9:57:25 AM

@Waridi1, Peppy and Wendz,

Thank you very much. You have added so much value to this thread. I feel like I have had a session with a marriage counselor. Your information is of much value to anyone who is serious about a stable marriage.

@Waridi1. I am single and searching.

@User. Sorry but I now have a reason to drop your advise. At least the three ladies have persuaded me to do so.
#55 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:01:04 AM

petro08 wrote:

Thank you very much. You have added so much value to this thread. I feel like I have had a session with a marriage counselor. Your information is of much value to anyone who is serious about a stable marriage.

@User. Sorry but I now have a reason to drop your advise. At least the three ladies have persuaded me to do so.

Here we go again!

Six months countdown to another "Please Help" thread.

He he he. Just messin with you.
#56 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:11:30 AM

mukiha wrote:

Two or three? They are very many!!! I have a married colleague who calls her boyfriend(s) within the earshot of everyone. She has absolutely no shame! She goes to the extent of telling the fellow on the other side that the hubby wants to meet her for coffee ["today"] and there is no way she can meet him after that coz they'll probably go home together! They have to reschedule the date. What is he doing on... One day she was asked by a colleague why she does that to the hubby and she said and I quote "Don't get me wrong. I love my husband with all my heart and I can't imagine life without him lakini mpango wa kando ni lazima!". wtf????

And that is just one. I know quite a number of ladies playing their husbands. Good thing I don't know the hubby's on personal level coz I'd be tempted to tell them and end up in the middle of a messy domestic fight - and you know what "waswahili" said about wapendanao.

This world - or the part of it that I know - is rotten!!! What do you call it when a married woman blatantly asks you out? A chick asks you to father their kid to your face etc. etc. Siku za mwisho au sio siku za mwisho? As P. P. Mwai wa Githinji would say "Dunia imepasuka katikati!"

Whaaat? and you didnt pick this from a novel? A married woman asks you to FATHER THEIR kid? how now? and reason being? the man cant father his kids or she hates him enough? I just dont get it.... If it is a single woman, that i can understand... married? aaaiiih!
#57 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:13:16 AM

petro08 wrote:

Here we go again!

Six months countdown to another "Please Help" thread.

He he he. Just messin with you.

The choice is yours , na usiseme hukuambiwa.smile smile smile
All the best.
I was just expressing the General mood in the Countrysmile smile (City)according to opinion polls from my local pub
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#58 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:25:55 AM

petro08 wrote:

Kongowea has set a good precedence, please dont let us down.
Should anything go ahead Kandahar bombing should be fast and furioussmile smile smile .No 90day rule please
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#59 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:27:41 AM

mukiha wrote:

Whaaat? and you didnt pick this from a novel? A married woman asks you to FATHER THEIR kid? how now? and reason being? the man cant father his kids or she hates him enough? I just dont get it.... If it is a single woman, that i can understand... married? aaaiiih!

@Wendz - The world is coming to an end. As someone said, "Elimu inaondoa ujinga lakini haiondoi upumbavu!". I had a talk with one apparently educated lady - she has papers to prove she is educated - that sent shivers down my spine! She was trying to explain to me why it is absolutely necessary for a lady to have at least one kid out of wedlock. She told me that if there is any hereditary issue or one of those problems that come about by combining harmful but otherwise passive genes in the parents bla bla bla, that one kid will be spared.

Another one - educated but believes that you can be done in through witchcraft - told me that if you have a kid out of wedlock, if the rest are bewitched - especially from the hubby's side - that one kid will survive. What???

Advice to wazua men: One thing I have realized, if you have female friends - no monkey business - just pure friendship - with ladies, then you are going to learn so much stuff, you will not believe it.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:29:31 AM

waridi1 wrote:
Well...

Just my 2 cents