Railway uprooted in kibera
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
Its their only weapon to alert the govt or whoever is responsible that they need their dues. I think it better than rioting.
The future is already here!
the tribal undertones of some posts here is not amusing.U need to rise above it..
let me ask,is it mad jaruo students that burnt KU afew months ago?
When UoN students used to stone cars,loot shops etc,was it a jaruo operation?!
When u wake up n realize that tribe has nothing to do with a frustrated group showing displeasure,then we can move forward.
How do guys from central deal with economic hardship? They steal from the rest of us.Whats the difference...?
top cat
You and i may be sure of our next meal,you have an income guaranteed one way or the other,millions of fellow Kenyans are not.When the little they come across is withheld what to you expect?.....not defending their actions.This country is sitting on a time bomb if the glaring poverty,inequality and access to opportunities is not adressed.We should be very afraid.
see it through my lens?
@Enigma, Keep your temper......and enjoy yourself more so if you are a jeng.....lol. @Mcreggae, why reli always........This guys should diversify.Say today they uproot Mombasa road and plant napier grass,next time they try KICC and so on.Otherwise,if things stay the way they are,hii itakuwa ni kuonea reli......seriously......-:) Old man about town.... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e.......diversify or focussed post by jammo....wameamua kufocus!!!! Seriously guys why have these people not been paid after the work they did....pengine some even too money from shylocks and the interests are growing by the day!!!!! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@ Njung'e I concur on the issue of diversification but disagree on uprooting of mombasa rd or even KICC.......They should simply uproot the house on the hill when the occupant is inside asleep....Thats probably the second time the occupant and his wife will be struck by a foul mood and do something about the predicament of kenyans.....atajua pia wakenya wamekasirishwa na hii serikali. WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
This thing of hiding behind the guise of poverty,disenfrachisement and self-pity to justify thuggery must end! The railway is private property. If mama refuses to supply the 'goods' one night,should you come and burn the furniture in my house and attack my children in retaliation? Reading the posts here of,I presume educated Kenyans makes one compelled to somehow start to agree with recent threads by @Charley and @VVS on the African mindset. http://www.stockskenya.c...?stk=1002&top=15246
http://www.stockskenya.c...?stk=1002&top=17400
Time and chance happen to all.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/21/2006 Posts: 422 Location: Nairobi
These kenyans uprooting railway lines are simply trying to draw the attention of their bosses after the so called bossed refused to pay them. What else would you have done? Kenya leaders need some damages to get their attentions drawn and public not private properties are the best options. KR is public. Did you want them to go the Waititu way?
The MPig for Embakasi dempstrated that the legal optionstake too long and may never be concluded. So he drew tha attention by rioting. Enumerators never rioted!
The future is already here!
@ Jitetee, Put yourself in their shoes and break it down to us how you would go about making sure your dues are paid in full. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
@layman,The General et al true true,but is that the only way to raise their grievances? So what happens to those in lokichogio,moyale,mandera, etc where there are no rail to 'uproot'? how are they supposed to be heard or they have no right to be? lets not even go far - those in huruma,isli,githurai,dandora - dont they have a rail to 'uproot'??? Its simply unacceptable - whether the grievances were genuine,imaginary or not! What's that trader who had ordered his goods and have to be delayed because the railway line is spoilt and hence incurs costs in the process? What is he supposed to do? Arent these hooligans being selfish? They think other kenyans have got no problems? Can you imagine having maid disconnecting the gas,water,power cables or pours the unga all over the house because you delayed paying her salary? Or a watchman decides to lock you and the neighbours out because one neighbour has delayed paying him with a few days - how cute is that? Well,you arent supposed to delay their salaries but seriously,how kindly would you take that.... How many of us have had our salaries delayed for whatever reason and what did we do? Break the computers and unplug the servers and format them? or we do not have rights? This is pure BC!
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
The new police head should seriously consider clearing that slum as part of his tasks with Metropolitan and Housing ministry. Proven to be a huge ungrateful liability. free this,free that as they wreck infrustructure. Wa'rudi ocha'!
@Wendz
am sure you meant BS not BC
Thank you @Wendz!
These are some of the reasons why 50 years from now,we will still be singing of the way Kenya used to be at par with South Korea bla bla bla but we do not know what went wrong.
We need to seriously re-evaluate our thought-process guys and always consider matters end-to-end.
Time and chance happen to all.
wendz,
as someone said,it depends on whats seems best to get attention
i know of some guys who do it by taking sacred oaths while drinking goat blood then proceed to slaughter their neighbours...maybe uv heard about them too...regular on TV news!
cheers
top cat
@ Wendz, Kindly put yourself in their shoes and gives us an alternative route. (you need that money like yesterday: back to school,rent,etc.. ) P.s,payment officer ameitisha hongo or better yet,tells you...hazai pesa... The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie. The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
@Wendz..
Actually I have seen a watchie lockout the tenants of a building in Nairobi for delaying payment of his salary... You should have seen them holding meetings with their clients outside...
@General, Direct your anger to the right place.In this case am thinking the culprit should have been Helufi house (???).....Surely,the railway was so innocent. Old man about town.... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
...and there's this notion that the gov has an endless supply of cash...to pay instantly...so why the delay...NOPE! Like most of us it's steeped in debts...really large debts that every Thursday it calls on public for IOU in T-Bills/Bonds...albeit it sometimes prints cash for this. Leave rail alone...or better demand pay upfront...
Playing the stock market without insider info...is like buying a cow in the moonlight.
@moze
True,but can you imagine you being a tenant who has paid or a client of a tenant who has paid and has to be locked out because of a few who have not? in this case,think of the trader in kisumu who has got nothing to do with census and how he has to be inconvenienced.
@The general Am trying. and i do not intend to be scornful in any way,i just feel their act is not justified at all. and thats why i brought the issue of our salary delays in our offices and also,we have other rail lines that have not been 'uprooted' so leaves someone wondering if its only one section of nairobi has not been paid and the others have been paid? Hii ni mazoea @General.
@Mpenzi I meant BC. same as BS - just toning it down.
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
Some people seem to think that everytime they are wronged,they have the right to react violently regardless of who has wronged them. With the problems this country has,if everyone 'nyoad' something for every mess by public officials,soon there would be nothing to Nyoa!!! Seems no lesson was learnt from the Othumo PEV experience where fellows burnt everything in sight,only to start organizing 'investor conferences' to woo back the same guys whose property they had burnt. God is good Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Railway uprooted in kibera