Nigeria 3 Kenya 0
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 8:20:14 AM

Our striking and defense is just pathetic what happened to blackberry and bob mugalia,stars in the local league but in the big international games hakuna kitu...Origi's expression after the third goal said it all,defence bure kabisa.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 8:24:56 AM

..yes, this is the kind of score line we are used to.. ile ya weekend was abit unusual!! Now will the players cash awards be withdrawn or what? Mariga saidia, lakini apana toa T shirt !!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 8:27:14 AM

@vinii weekend tuli guess anyway hope we get some few pointers from this thez always a lesson to be learnt.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 8:27:41 AM

Sometimes such score lines are embarrasing but I enjoyed the game, our boys seem not have that killer instinct to get goals!!!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 9:42:36 AM

@Maka, fully agree, the defense was a shame...actually after conceding that second goal...nilijua we were not getting back into the game
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 9:51:42 AM

Forget football! Kenya has under performed and Kenyans have given all their love and tears to this thing. Why don't we start playing serious rugby or cricket? For a team that does not have a league in Kenya it makes it to the world cup while soccer is just a disappointment.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 9:53:02 AM

In case you didn't notice, Harambee Stars played ten men throughout the game. Their captain was literally walking on the pitch. He could not bother to get to a pass not made to his feet. Whenever he lost possession, he never bothered to track back. Kweli professionals are made of this!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:09:51 AM

mwenza wrote:
In case you didn't notice, Harambee Stars played ten men throughout the game. Their captain was literally walking on the pitch. He could not bother to get to a pass not made to his feet. Whenever he lost possession, he never bothered to track back. Kweli professionals are made of this!

Mwenza in so long as he didn't chase the ball that much, Mariga had a descent game jana!!!!!
hoodrat
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:23:29 AM

And they have the goalkeeper Origi to thank.The score could have been easily 5 or 6.With that kind of defence,it doesn't matter how good the keeper is!
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:36:00 AM

hoodrat wrote:
And they have the goalkeeper Origi to thank.The score could have been easily 5 or 6.With that kind of defence,it doesn't matter how good the keeper is!

.......one wishes that origi has the build of ulinzi's ochieng. He would be quite a shot-stopper.
Mo
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:36:48 AM

The positive thing is to walk away with the lesson. We now know that defense is a sham and the mid field need more fire in the belly. 9ja was a reality check coz saturday the soccer gods were just on our side!
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
hoodrat
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:49:05 AM

And what with conceading of early goals, only 2 minutes on the clock?Game plan out the window.And the 2nd goal early in the 2nd half,half time talk trashed.Something drastic has to be done to our defence!
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:59:53 AM

Everybody on this thread is talking about our defence. It must be realised that if the midfield is poor, then the defence will always get exposed. Thats why whenever a midfield player concedes possession, its always mandatory to track back and ease pressure on the defence.

Its every soccer coach's nightmare to have a situation where three strikers are attacking his three defenders.

There is a reason why good coaches will always have defensive midfielders whose duty is to assist the defenders. One of the nigerians' goals came straight from a kenyan corner kick at the other end of the pitch. That speaks volumes about team tactics..
reddevil
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 12:20:15 PM

Which team tactics I simply did not see any...

Mariga I would rate him fair... every time he lost possession that was it...no tracking back.

One man who had a descent game was the Origi...

For the rest clue less...clue less galore...

Watching Kenya play is just seeking a heartache...
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 12:27:34 PM

Tactics were missing and our mid field didn't hold but close analysis at some point after the introduction of Collins okoth the team tried and came back but their was just no stopping the Nigerians.
One thing we must all agree is that our national team does not do well minus the fans supporting them.
For me it was a plus to have played the friendly and lost because lessons were learnt and hope they rectify on that before the next qualifier against Angola.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 12:33:17 PM

hmmm...Is it time Kimanzi got back his job? He returns Friday.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 12:50:01 PM

reddevil wrote:
Which team tactics I simply did not see any...

Mariga I would rate him fair... every time he lost possession that was it...no tracking back.

One man who had a descent game was the Origi...

For the rest clue less...clue less galore...

Watching Kenya play is just seeking a heartache...

@reddevil..........Looks like we watched the same match.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 2:07:42 PM

hmmm...Is it time Kimanzi got back his job? He returns Friday.

I second that, we need to have an experienced coach....Kimanzi needs to be given an opportunity to show us what amesoma.
young
#19 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 5:35:14 PM

This should not be a suprise because Kenya do not have football talents just like Nigeria that do not have athletic (especially long distance) talents.

In addition the game was an away match, that is played in Nigerian soil, so what miracle did you guys expect from kenyans ? Factor that it is hotter here Nigeria than Kenya . At kick off by 4pm Nigerian time (6 pm Kenyan time) the temperature was 35 degrees centigrade, that is a very hot weather for a Kenyan !!!

I did not watch the match because I knew it will be an emphatic win against Kenya.

From Nigeria point of view we were rather disappointed because we were expecting at least a 5-0 win. For me the Kenyan lads tried their best.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 8:56:38 AM

young wrote:
This should not be a suprise because Kenya do not have football talents just like Nigeria that do not have athletic (especially long distance) talents.

In addition the game was an away match, that is played in Nigerian soil, so what miracle did you guys expect from kenyans ? Factor that it is hotter here Nigeria than Kenya . At kick off by 4pm Nigerian time (6 pm Kenyan time) the temperature was 35 degrees centigrade, that is a very hot weather for a Kenyan !!!

I did not watch the match because I knew it will be an emphatic win against Kenya.

From Nigeria point of view we were rather disappointed because we were expecting at least a 5-0 win. For me the Kenyan lads tried their best.

...ahsante young!!!!