SME
People
Safaricom: No local up to the task of heading Technical department ???
Honestly is bob trying to say that there is no kenyan out there capable of this task of Head of Technical at safaricom. Is it to say the previous guy who held that position didnt know what he was doing? Do they have to bring in a vodafone appointee? whats your take guys??
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
Ten years from now the board will be asking where did the rain start beating us
In this days of global village, I personally wouldn't be bothered by the 'mindset'.
As a shareholder, best man for the job can be a Kenyan or otherwise. Best man for the job, that's my mantra.
Do you know how many of the 4,000+ employees are Kenyan?
There are some things better not said. The choice of words was not very good. Kenyans will not understand.
muganda wrote:In this days of global village, I personally wouldn't be bothered by the 'mindset'.
As a shareholder, best man for the job can be a Kenyan or otherwise. Best man for the job, that's my mantra.
This is such a ridiculous statement! The only thing global about this village is information. If it truly is a global village why are countries all over the world stopping immigration in a bid to retain jobs for their citizens. Why is the west fighting the shipping of jobs abroad. Bob and vodafones idea of best for the job is a briton .... Bullshit. There are hundred of Kenyans in Kenya and abroad who can do that job we do not need a white or black carribean/african briton for that matter. Otieno Kajwang jinga wewe revoke that work permit now!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
tony stark wrote:muganda wrote:In this days of global village, I personally wouldn't be bothered by the 'mindset'.
This is such a ridiculous statement! The only thing global about this village is information. If it truly is a global village why are countries all over the world stopping immigration in a bid to retain jobs for their citizens. Why is the west fighting the shipping of jobs abroad. Bob and vodafones idea of best for the job is a briton .... Bullshit. There are hundred of Kenyans in Kenya and abroad who can do that job we do not need a white or black carribean/african briton for that matter. Otieno Kajwang jinga wewe revoke that work permit now! Agree with you there. One of the, almost, universal tenets of immigration laws is that foreigner should usually get an entry pass aka work permit to engage in employment only where the locals job pool does not have the qualification. @Muganda is entitled to his mindset as a shareholder but government and common sense policy dictates that Kenyan jobs need to first go to Kenyans and where no Kenyan is qualified then and only then should we consider non-Kenyans. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
The position has been set aside for someone from Vodafone. But as much as I agree with tony start that there is surely a qualified Kenyan to ably do the job, lets give Bob and his new DTS a chance to see whether they can iron out all the flaws in Safcom. Then we can throw the stones!
Now now @tony stark, your emotions show strong sentiment. Be weary as strong emotions could lead to impaired reasoning.
Would you argue that 'global village' quickly transforms to a 'global theatre'........... ..where the death of an innocent peasant leads to world upheavals ..and the actions of politicans are tried at a world stage ..and the whims of a tablet computer, stroke desire worldwide ..and 2 rich men rally billionaires everywhere to give
Now how can we equate two positions in a 4,000 person company to a policy on immigration and job loss? Note all leading telecom tech companies are foreign - Nokia Siemens/Huawei/Ericsson/Motorolla.
In this age where Kenyan runners are feted at world stage, Kenyan roses celebrated in flower festivals, Kenyan wildlife cited as a new world wonder, and Kenyan innovations awarded at global technology conferences;
I say the best - and I pray it be Kenyan, but whether it be Hague, British, American, Carribean, Indian, Chinese - and that sir is my opinion!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/20/2010 Posts: 90 Location: Nairobi
It is not just one position. It appears like they are three positions. Now, even if they did not find talent in Safaricom, did they advertise the positions in the dailies? http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/l0r1u9/-/index.html
Now, I have worked in NGO's who are very notorious of hiring expatriates against the law and It is just ridiculous the kind of people they bring to work in Kenya. Most of the time, the guy will earn many times his immediate Kenyan junior and I can tell you they do not bring any special skills. Now if you have worked with Britons, you will understand how conservative they can be.
Wazua. Talk wealth twitter stream:Wazua:@bobcollymore: "Is no local up to the task of heading Safaricom Technical department?" http://bit.ly/g81rBX
4 hours ago Bob Collymore:@wazua. Not for the first time the Daily Nation has gotten it completely wrong! There are no plans to bring in Vodafone Technical Chief. 2 hours ago Safaricom Limited :@wazua @bobcollymore We are seeking to fill the vacancy internally & failing that we will look externally 3 minutes ago
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,097 Location: Nairobi
Where is @jameni... http://www.nation.co.ke/...64/-/l0r1u9/-/index.htmlGreedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
wazua wrote:Wazua. Talk wealth twitter stream:Wazua:@bobcollymore: "Is no local up to the task of heading Safaricom Technical department?" http://bit.ly/g81rBX
4 hours ago Bob Collymore:@wazua. Not for the first time the Daily Nation has gotten it completely wrong! There are no plans to bring in Vodafone Technical Chief. 2 hours ago Safaricom Limited :@wazua @bobcollymore W e are seeking to fill the vacancy internally & failing that we will look externally3 minutes ago That I agree with but only to the extent that the internally should have a broader meaning to encompass Kenya if the externally refers to outside Kenya. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
muganda wrote:Now now @tony stark, your emotions show strong sentiment. Be weary as strong emotions could lead to impaired reasoning.
Would you argue that 'global village' quickly transforms to a 'global theatre'........... ..where the death of an innocent peasant leads to world upheavals ..and the actions of politicans are tried at a world stage ..and the whims of a tablet computer, stroke desire worldwide ..and 2 rich men rally billionaires everywhere to give
Now how can we equate two positions in a 4,000 person company to a policy on immigration and job loss? Note all leading telecom tech companies are foreign - Nokia Siemens/Huawei/Ericsson/Motorolla.
In this age where Kenyan runners are feted at world stage, Kenyan roses celebrated in flower festivals, Kenyan wildlife cited as a new world wonder, and Kenyan innovations awarded at global technology conferences;
I say the best - and I pray it be Kenyan, but whether it be Hague, British, American, Carribean, Indian, Chinese - and that sir is my opinion!
Impaired reasoning...... Thanks for that. I hope that government policy on does not revolve around "prayers". Muganda may i suggest that we both suffer from this "Impaired reasoning" The fact that bob, CFO and a large chunk of the board are safaricom board are vodaphone representative is that not enough control. They already repatriate their dividend to the UK(rightly so) and now you want us to sponsor random Britons from shoreditch at the expense of qualified Kenyans. I have no problem with your myopic opinion, and you are entitled to it, but I hope this discourse can cure it.
@ Muganda. Right reasoning, maybe a little dogmatic, wrong conclusions, I think.
Lemme introduce yet another angle to this debate; I am now convinced Collymore is a Vodafone man not a Safaricom man.
He might want to do their bidding but that will harm the other 60% shareholders.
MJ understood Kenyans as a unique and peculiar people and thus relied on local knowledge and expertise to bring phenomenal growth to Safaricom. He was a safaricom man, not a Vodafone whimp.
Another point is; some will say it is just one or two positions..I say..expats earn so much more that it matters. I once worked for small German company in Kenya where our immediate expat manager earned more than all the Kenyans combined! Go figure.
I fear Collymore's stint will heavily favour Vodafone and not the other 60%.
slykat wrote:@ Muganda. Right reasoning, maybe a little dogmatic, wrong conclusions, I think. Lemme introduce yet another angle to this debate; I am now convinced Collymore is a Vodafone man not a Safaricom man. He might want to do their bidding but that will harm the other 60% shareholders. MJ understood Kenyans as a unique and peculiar people and thus relied on local knowledge and expertise to bring phenomenal growth to Safaricom. He was a safaricom man, not a Vodafone whimp. Another point is; some will say it is just one or two positions..I say..expats earn so much more that it matters. I once worked for small German company in Kenya where our immediate expat manager earned more than all the Kenyans combined! Go figure. I fear Collymore's stint will heavily favour Vodafone and not the other 60%. and thats how generally MNC's are run...and that is the key difference from MJ who was the end all and unique personality in that he always had long term intentions of settling in the country...Collymore is just a parachute in and out manager,....
Kenyans willingly "gave away" eabl(then kenyas top firm) to diaggio without any logical explanation other than an admiration for white people running a multinational, some of the vocal anti safcom people here cheered on that stupid move(and little wonder their beers cause running stomachs these days). Bob has explained that there are intergrity issues at safaricom and a purge was necessary. To put it simply, everyone knew whö the rotten eggs were at safaricom, a way to get rid of them had to be found, bottomline is shareholders interest, this is not a government arm where "regional balancing" is necessary. A New Kenya
Isnt the system now really convoluted? There is a general manager level (Arina and co), a director level (Waita and co), a chief level (Tiffin) and a head level (Ruto and co). Who reports to who? When you have four different management levels how can you be more customer centric?
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/13/2011 Posts: 39 Location: nairobi
Bob...i think you have no idea what 'rejection the kenyan way' means. Wewe ngoja tu. Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
Elder wrote:wazua wrote:Wazua. Talk wealth twitter stream:Wazua:@bobcollymore: "Is no local up to the task of heading Safaricom Technical department?" http://bit.ly/g81rBX
4 hours ago Bob Collymore:@wazua. Not for the first time the Daily Nation has gotten it completely wrong! There are no plans to bring in Vodafone Technical Chief. 2 hours ago Safaricom Limited :@wazua @bobcollymore W e are seeking to fill the vacancy internally & failing that we will look externally3 minutes ago That I agree with but only to the extent that the internally should have a broader meaning to encompass Kenya if the externally refers to outside Kenya. @elder-i like the reasoning. It cant get better. Bob,please,no double standards.
SME
People
Safaricom: No local up to the task of heading Technical department ???