wazua Mon, Oct 7, 2024

ODM now supports ICC referal.
bird_man
#21 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 9:07:45 AM

You guys still watch news and those politicians??
Get your voters card and wait for 2012 and vote BRAND new people.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 9:51:22 AM

If ODM was the only one in power, we would still be wondering what their agenda was with this country. That's why you realize all things, whether good or bad (though sad), happened for the good of us. You can never rely on the wind if you want to move in a certain direction.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 9:52:40 AM

bird_man wrote:
You guys still watch news and those politicians??
Get your voters card and wait for 2012 and vote BRAND new people.

The problem will be if those brand new people are not on the ballot papers.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 10:38:24 AM

I agree with Simon on the meaning of the 2 new vocabularies. There is no difference. They both converge after 1 yr. This move by ODM is motivated by 2012 polls. There is a lot of support for a local solution among GEMA and Kalenjin communities. Anybody supporting Hague is likely to face the wrath of the 2 blocs. Ruto and Uhuru have been firing salvos at Raila due to his support for ICC. What will they use now? Also, the effect of the local solution on ODM fortunes is the same as ICC process-Uhuru n Ruto wont be vying. Smart move IMHO.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 10:42:01 AM

Wont be surprised to see a change of tune on the other faction of the govt.Tumezoea hii shifting of gears.

I imagine PNU and simon saying 'dont be vague lets go to hague'.This is not far fetched
#26 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 10:47:51 AM

RAO has always been on either the Hague or refferal, but not defferal.

#27 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 10:58:38 AM

Deferral and referral are the same.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:22:41 AM

the problem with our politics is we have parties who dont know what they stand for.Positions are changed when it suits them am sure if you were to read party manifestos you would be surprised to find documents which do not reflect realities on the ground.

Thats why I think Martha karua offers a fresh approach to politics where one sticks to his beliefs No matter the cost.

I wish she doest change her position like the rest of the demagogues.
#29 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:23:40 AM

Deferral is referral in one year's time...
Jump-steady
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:46:39 AM

This about-turn leaves me wondering what ODM is upto. Writing to UNSC was very drastic and showed how divided the Kenyan goverment was. Why did they write and now seem to retreat? Why let the country's political temperature rise to the point of melting for opposing a diferral? Could it be that some people in ODM are thrilled by turbulence in the country?
#31 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:32:54 PM

It seems like if WR and HK were to go down, they would take very many people with them...
#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:34:09 PM

Deferral and referral are the same.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Referral; the cases are handled in ( referred to) Kenya instead of the ICC.

Deferral; The cases are heard at the ICC but the dates are pushed forward to a later date

Ooops! Did I just comment on a politics thread!!
#33 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:34:49 PM

Jump-steady wrote:
This about-turn leaves me wondering what ODM is upto. Writing to UNSC was very drastic and showed how divided the Kenyan goverment was. Why did they write and now seem to retreat? Why let the country's political temperature rise to the point of melting for opposing a diferral? Could it be that some people in ODM are thrilled by turbulence in the country?

I wonder how many would entrust the development of this great nation and effectively your investments to such individuals and their ilk?
#34 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:39:47 PM

It seems like if WR and HK were to go down, they would take very many people with them...

you are being one sided....all Kenya, all the time... What makes you think the other side wasn't going to go down the same path? Their is a probability that these ODM guys have been persuaded to change their minds since kila mtu will go down...you never know
#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:42:16 PM

It's all politics for these parties:
There is no credible local mechanism at the moment, in eseence these people still have to go to the hague for now, no difference if you ask me, only politics being displayed!!!!
#36 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:44:50 PM

you are being one sided....all Kenya, all the time... What makes you think the other side wasn't going to go down the same path? Their is a probability that these ODM guys have been persuaded to change their minds since kila mtu will go down...you never know

@nostopping, I was talking from the ODM point of view, trying to find out why they would change their stand. Did I get the heading for this topic right?
#37 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:45:47 PM

@bwenyenye, my point is, they both lead to the local tribunal option.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:47:19 PM

.....ukweli kabisa, in terms of spilling the beans, MK should be the mosty scared!!!!!
#39 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:48:26 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

Referral; the cases are handled in ( referred to) Kenya instead of the ICC.

Deferral; The cases are heard at the ICC but the dates are pushed forward to a later date
Ooops! Did I just comment on a politics thread!!

Defferal-those pushing for this option have the same argument as those pushing for referral (A local competent tribunal)

Politics! NKT

#40 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:51:40 PM

@Selah, I disagree, those pushing for referral want to fry their own and those pushing for deferral have no intention of achieveing justice...Justice delayed, is justice denied...