wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

25 Pages«<910111213>»
Champions League draw
#201 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 10:58:20 AM

The Comeback so far: Inter beat Bayern 3-2 in Munich's Allianz Arena to qualify 3-3 on aggregate. They had only 3 shots on target and scored 3 goals.

That is called poetic justice. Bayern eliminated Man U last season on account of an away goal. A similar fate has been visited on them this time round.
#202 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:23:31 PM

I’d rather United exited soon from the UCL so that we can focus our assault on the EPL. It doesn’t do us good to play the way we play (unconvincingly) midweek and weekend, whereas our closest rival for the title is focusing on weekend fixtures only. (Note: the EPL matches slotted for the FA Cup semis weekend and the final will have to be played midweek). Now add the UCL extra midweek fixtures.

I’d say Fergie knows his priority is the EPL. Doing a Double will be the added advantage. Anything else is just but icing on the cake. I say lets focus on the cake…

Bring on Barca…
#203 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:43:46 PM

Latest Updates..

Aseno....................DOWN & OUT KABISA
Spurs....................Qualified for UCL QF
Man U....................Qualified for UCL QF
Chelsea.................About to Qualify for UCL QF
winston
#204 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:10:26 PM

mwenza wrote:
Latest Updates..

Aseno....................DOWN & OUT KABISA
Spurs....................Qualified for UCL QF
Man U....................Qualified for UCL QF
Chelsea.................About to Qualify for UCL QF

And Man-u to Face Chelsea in the QF!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...wouldnt that be a nice draw!
#205 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:28:38 PM

I’d rather United exited soon from the UCL so that we can focus our assault on the EPL. It doesn’t do us good to play the way we play (unconvincingly) midweek and weekend, whereas our closest rival for the title is focusing on weekend fixtures only. (Note: the EPL matches slotted for the FA Cup semis weekend and the final will have to be played midweek). Now add the UCL extra midweek fixtures.

I’d say Fergie knows his priority is the EPL. Doing a Double will be the added advantage. Anything else is just but icing on the cake. I say lets focus on the cake…

Bring on Barca…

Sasa wewe @Jus blazin!? Kwani what have you been blazin? I don't expect such kind of talk from a Man U fan! We always challenge on all fronts. Why stop now? SAF knows how to rotate his squad - that is why EPL's top scorer was on the bench yesterday and Arsenal were beaten by an 'unfamiliar' team. Let's hope the injured players will be back soon.
#206 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:35:59 PM

Bring on Barca…

Sasa wewe @Jus blazin!? Kwani what have you been blazin? I don't expect such kind of talk from a Man U fan! We always challenge on all fronts. Why stop now? SAF knows how to rotate his squad - that is why EPL's top scorer was on the bench yesterday and Arsenal were beaten by an 'unfamiliar' team. Let's hope the injured players will be back soon.

Applause Applause Applause I also do not know what JB has been smoking, we shall continue fighting on all fronts, that's what we did in 99 when we won the treble!!!!!!!
#207 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:35:26 PM

LOL! Sawasawa, I hear you @Maich na McDoba. I do rest my case. Nimetupa what it is I was smoking. Lazima niwe strong.
#208 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 3:28:49 PM

LOL! Sawasawa, I hear you @Maich na McDoba. I do rest my case. Nimetupa what it is I was smoking. Lazima niwe strong.

Thats the hallmark of a strong character.

To become even stronger you need to stop reading keenly posts in wazua from a certain Man U fan who is a kalonzo.

A soccer fan does not exist to please his/her rivals.
#209 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 10:40:44 AM

Make your predictions for today's draw. 3 English teams, 2 Spanish, 1 Italian, 1 German, 1 Ukrainian (the dark horses)...
hoodrat
#210 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 10:55:51 AM

At this stage getting Schalke or Sharkhtar is a good draw.I think every Arsenal fan wants Man Utd drawn with Barca for obvious reasons misery loves company!
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
#211 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 11:06:03 AM

Got a gut feeling that if we don't draw chelsea, then Real it is!
#212 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 11:12:18 AM

Make your predictions for today's draw. 3 English teams, 2 Spanish, 1 Italian, 1 German, 1 Ukrainian (the dark horses)...

I love the adrenaline rush that comes with big games although sometimes it takes me to the verge of a heart attack. A win over certain teams, the way it's done and the point in the competition is more important as compared to others. For example, beating Man City in the FA final would be more fulfilling than beating them in the semi. Beating them with that Rooney goal was more fulfilling as compared to a simple tap in, that injury time goal by Owen last season... etc. etc.,

With all this in mind, my fantasy route would be beating Chelsea in the quarters, Real in the semis [with Van de Sar making a couple of acrobatic saves from Ronaldo's attempts], and.... no prices for guessing... beating Barca in the final!!! That would really be something to remember. The same way we will never forget '99!

On the other hand, given that we are still in three competitions and the medical staff are at their busiest with the current injury list, it's not like I would complain if we drew an 'easy' team. The question is, is there an easy team at this stage? which one? criteria?
#213 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 11:13:26 AM

My predictions :
1. Shahktar Donetsk vs Barcelona
2. Inter Milan vs Real Madrid
3. Tottenham Hotspurs vs Man United
4. Chelsea vs Schalke 04

Atleast one draw will pit English teams against each other.

Then Semis will be 1 vs 2, 3 vs 4.
SAC Cohen
#214 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 11:15:52 AM

My predictions:
Tottenham vs Barca
Chelsea vs Real
Inter vs Man U
Schalke vs Shaktar
#215 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 11:17:33 AM

hoodrat wrote:
At this stage getting Schalke or Sharkhtar is a good draw.I think every Arsenal fan wants Man Utd drawn with Barca for obvious reasons misery loves company!

What the heck. Bring them on! How do we expect to win the Champions League without beating the other big teams?

Nightmare scenario: We beat Barca comprehensively then we lose the semi/final to Sharkhtar - courtesy of an own goal - in the 92 minute - under no pressure!!!

How long would it take to get over that. Seriously!
#216 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 11:57:43 AM

MY predition:

Cheslshit Vs Spurs
Barca Vs Real
InterMilan Vs Shakhtar
Man Utd Vs Schalke

hoodrat
#217 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 12:40:57 PM

@ Maichblak true let em bring em all I don't think there is any 'easy' team remaining.My prediction:
Chelsea Vs Real madrid
Intermilan Vs Sharkhtar
Barcelona Vs Spurs
Schalke Vs Man Utd
Apparently there is nothing that cannot happen today!
#218 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 1:26:41 PM

Man Utd vs Sharktar...that would be an interesting encountet!
#219 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 2:15:29 PM

From the UEFA HQ in Nyon, Switzerland:

Champions League Quarter-final Draw

Real Madrid Vs Tottenham Hotspur
Chelsea Vs Manchester United
Barcelona Vs Shakhtar Donestk
Inter Milan Vs Schalke

Quarter-final matches to be played on 5/6 and 12/13 April.

Champions League Semi-final Draw

Inter Milan/Schalke Vs Chelsea/Man Utd

Real Madrid/Tottenham Vs Barcelona/Shakhtar

Semi-final matches to be played on 26/27 April and 3/4 May.
#220 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 2:22:07 PM

There it is good people!

Tottenham/Real/Barca/Shakhtar, if they get to the final at Wembley, will play as the Home Team.