wazua Sun, May 18, 2025

Utawala Plots
raszag
#1 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 6:49:19 PM

Hi guys, need some advice on plots at utawala (From the shopping centre towards the by-pass and across -not utawala-githuguri) in order to make a decision to purchase one.

To my understanding after going round utawala through agents and owners of the plots is that the many plots(if not all) are yet to be issued with individual titles after the subdivision on the land by the original owners(which are several women groups and investment companies) and therefore only the 'mother titles' exist.

Therefore, the buy-sell transaction only involves transfer of a certificate to the new owner by the seller which is effected by these women groups and/or investment companies to the new buyer and that's it...Most often these groups/companies do not have a physical office rather just a director who is the custodian of the paper work..

My questions are:
1. Anyone with the experience on the these plots and is it true? If so then what's the best advice on purchasing a plot there..

2. How is it possible to do the 'due diligence' before purchase taking into account that you can't do a search in the Min. of lands since there isn't any allotment letter or title for the sub-divided plots...only the 'mother title' which might not be of much help...

Your help will be appreciated...Asante
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
wanyina
#2 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 9:34:38 PM

Yes, those plots at Githunguri are owned by idividuals and the owners are now subdiving,i have already bought six plots and i knew the owner who is suddividing.
to be very brief look for the owner with mother title,make sure is the onwer of the land, then next is making sure u do search but unless subdivison is being done in group of plots the process is lengthy,now my bro has been dealing with the one of the owners for almost 2 yrs now, and we are in final stages of bacons and allocation of numbers are done next is title deeds.email me we can talk i will give u more details.nelnje99@aol.com
maina20
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 12:33:27 PM

Shame on you -not utawala-githuguri)! Shame on you
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
haiyaa
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 1:46:01 PM

Utawala plots are on share certs . I have one there .Bought from a shareholder of a farmers society.The Cert was transfered to my name at the Farmers Society office in presence of the Directors and the seller.We did an agreement and the name was changed to my name .
They have a masteroll/register of all shareholders.
It looks like a clean transaction and I am planning to build the place next year God willing.I visit the place every 2 months and I have befriended many to be neighbours and done exhaustive feasibility study.

The place is growing like wild fire.About 8 bungalows and mansionettes have been built within the vicinity of my plot since Feb 2010 and more are coming up.

The area is also very cosmopolitan as we have all tribes residing there and others migrating to the place

As for the title deed
the farmers society is following up with Lands office.Im not too worried.I took the risk and I believe its worth it Lakini Chunga sana.(take care)
raszag
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 7:13:29 PM

haiyaa wrote:
Utawala plots are on share certs . I have one there .Bought from a shareholder of a farmers society.The Cert was transfered to my name at the Farmers Society office in presence of the Directors and the seller.We did an agreement and the name was changed to my name .
They have a masteroll/register of all shareholders.
It looks like a clean transaction and I am planning to build the place next year God willing.I visit the place every 2 months and I have befriended many to be neighbours and done exhaustive feasibility study.

The place is growing like wild fire.About 8 bungalows and mansionettes have been built within the vicinity of my plot since Feb 2010 and more are coming up.

The area is also very cosmopolitan as we have all tribes residing there and others migrating to the place

As for the title deed
the farmers society is following up with Lands office.Im not too worried.I took the risk and I believe its worth it Lakini Chunga sana.(take care)

Thanks Haiyaa....Do you know if there are building restriction e.g controlled development, can one build flats?
haiyaa
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:08:12 PM

With the kind of houses I see coming up there ,I think there is no controlled development but people are mostly building homes to live rather than rent out.I like the landscape. Someone else can confirm this.

maina20
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 4:10:23 PM

i do agree with raszag........ there are some with Lease certificate from Mavoko municipal council. Githunguri/mc/kinkar also have doc. if u need more info, well i can assist....
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
Fujo
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 4:15:55 AM

maina20 wrote:
i do agree with raszag........ there are some with Lease certificate from Mavoko municipal council. Githunguri/mc/kinkar also have doc. if u need more info, well i can assist....

maina20,

I am interested in acquiring a plot in Utawala. Preferably a 1/4 or an 1/8 of an acre.

Please hit me up at mojofujo@yahoo.com
haiyaa
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 11:54:04 AM

Fujo wrote:
maina20 wrote:

maina20,

I am interested in acquiring a plot in Utawala. Preferably a 1/4 or an 1/8 of an acre.

For 1/8 in a good place be prepared to pay 600-700k for 1/4 almost double.If you do it fast.You delay you may even pay double the prices.

There is a person selling 60x40 at 350,000/= if you are interested in a smaller plot.

Getting 1/8 near the shopping centre may be hard.Most plots are 40fx60f
raszag
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 5:48:02 PM

haiyaa wrote:
Fujo wrote:
maina20 wrote:

maina20,

For 1/8 in a good place be prepared to pay 600-700k for 1/4 almost double.If you do it fast.You delay you may even pay double the prices.

There is a person selling 60x40 at 350,000/= if you are interested in a smaller plot.

Thanks Haiyaa, Please sambaza the contacts of the guy selling the 40x60 plot to raszag@yahoo.com
danas10
#11 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 10:25:37 AM

haiyaa wrote:
Fujo wrote:
maina20 wrote:

maina20,

please send me details of the person selling his - danas10.wazua@gmail.com
haiyaa
#12 Posted : Friday, March 18, 2011 10:41:41 AM

Hi all ,
I talked to the seller and he promised first to consult with his wife and give me the final decision by Monday.The wife is abit hesitant.You know with the new constitution , consultation and agreement is a must.

see post no 13 on the valuation in the area as at February last.

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=5849
haiyaa
#13 Posted : Sunday, March 27, 2011 5:47:41 PM

danas10 wrote:
haiyaa wrote:
Fujo wrote:
maina20 wrote:

maina20,

please send me details of the person selling his - danas10.wazua@gmail.com

Please contact me on haiyaa08@gmail.com
haiyaa
#14 Posted : Sunday, March 27, 2011 5:49:59 PM

Please contact on haiyaa08@gmail.com