wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

MSC IN FINANCE
brian mackenzie
#21 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 4:18:23 PM

i agree with u emlyn but u also need to know that derivatives for example are only common in SA even though we av been planning to start a commodities future market here in kenya. U also need to know that we only av less than 15 phd or professors in Finance and i think 30 something chartered CFAs.

An MBA is a general managerial programme that frankly is not suitable for any financial analyst because u spend so much time on general core units that are irrelevant in Finance. I dont mean to impose but i have looked at KU's Msc finance and it's great but i av also seen KEMU's Msc Finance and Investment and it's also great. As for local or foreign universities, campuses dont make great students but rather the lecturers and the ability of the student to comprehend and the willingness to learn. Am almost done with my Msc and i once met this guy who told me that he used to hate biology when he was in highskul but when he went to a foreign university, he got a very good book on Biology that made him like it.
brian mackenzie
#22 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 4:32:27 PM

Btw CFA is a professional course just like CPA n also confirm whether people are taught coz in public universities,lecturers rarely show up to class n i know that coz my undergraduate i did it in a public uni
Mkimwa
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 4:45:00 PM

Instead of doing an MSC in Finance, just get time and do a CFA. You wont regret it..

People are scared of CFA, coz many people fail.. MSC is cheaper :)
emlyn ngwiri
#24 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 4:51:04 PM

you are also pursuing msc in finance? where?
emlyn ngwiri
#25 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 4:55:27 PM

its too costly also. i instead i did the local csia by kasneb which is cheaper
keraka
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 5:27:32 PM

An MBA OR MSc in finance in kenyan university is a sham if u want to be a true finance geek.I did an MBA from a public uni and found it to be abit shallow than Undergrad and CPA 3.I also took time to look at what guys in private unis like USIU did,aaarg kumbe ni ile ile tu. If you want to advance knowledge do a CPA and a CFA but kama nataka promotion job kimbia any uni and pap wewe na MBA in one year or likewise kimbia india and come back with the paper and a bonus paper of Diploma upelekee mama au baba watoto.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
emlyn ngwiri
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 5:39:54 PM

hilarious kiraka,

i see a situation like the one in nigeria where many guys have mbas/qualifications and are not employed.

#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 6:09:19 PM

Peer pressure is pushing the employed to do MBAs
drake
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 6:47:13 PM

SPSS? Really?
#30 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 4:11:21 AM

what about down south there universities are highly ranked when compared to kenyan ones and the fee isnt that prohibitive in 16 months you can finish a masters degree in either financial markets or financial math...another interesting course is the chartered enterprise risk analyst course offered by the society of actuaries and haz almost the same course work as cfa ...
emlyn ngwiri
#31 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 9:02:22 AM

professional courses are the real deal,it separate the men and women from the boys and girls.

doing an mba/msc servers as an addon for promotion
#32 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:55:26 PM

emlyn ngwiri wrote:
professional courses are the real deal,it separate the men and women from the boys and girls.

doing an mba/msc servers as an addon for promotion

This is so because I believe that an MBA should be targeted at an entrepreneur so that he can understand the various facets of his business. His thesis should be on his business interests. That way, the body of knowledge grows and he benefits from it. Unfortunately, universities ( the world over) are targeting employed guys and so there is hardly any value addistion other than promotions which you'd get anyway without the MBA.
sadmemories20
#33 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2011 11:14:49 AM

thanks for the info..

#34 Posted : Wednesday, May 25, 2011 1:03:29 AM

great discussion guys.thanks