wazua Fri, Nov 29, 2024

9 Pages«<56789>
Marende gives verdict
#121 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 2:18:00 PM

Who can clearly state the law that Marende failed to follow!!!.....Listening to him yesterday I think I heard him clearly explain through the law the reasons for his decision!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Fundaah
#122 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 2:21:00 PM

Mc reggae,I also thought that the ruling was done with the help of parliamentary counsel so there was thorough reference to the existing statutes.

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me?

Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Mr.Tea
#123 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 2:27:00 PM

@The General,

You know what the say about great minds....anyway just kidding.Now flagrant disregard for the rule of law is inexcusable in any civilized society.I hear they call this impunity. Like all those before me underscored...when and where do we stop with this.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Brewer
#124 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 2:29:00 PM

Mcreggae- that government means the executive and that under the constitution the President is the head of state and government- the accord did not change that- an therefore a communication by government to parliament ultimately lies in the president nasio mtu mwingine kama muthaura.

Ngalaka valid point. though outrage is the best education the citizenry can give their leadership lakini msing'oe reli. keep it decent and legal.
B.Timer
#125 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 2:50:00 PM

At some point one or a number of MPs may feel aggrieved with either the way the HBC has handled its business or some other matter emanating from their decisions.
Ordinarily,in such circumstances the Speaker is a neutral and honest arbitrator.

In this new and murky scheme of things,the speaker has unwittingly turned himself from a neutral abitrator to a player.

In such a situation would he rule against a HBC whose sittings he chaired. Comical to say the least.
The long and short of this situation is that even if the speaker were to try against all odds to deliver a fair and just ruling,it would never be seen to be so.

Remember the mantra about not only doing justice but also ensuring that you are seen/perceived to do it.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
#126 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 3:18:00 PM

@254,ecstacy,$moothie,Mr. Tea,B.Timer

You insist that Marende should have followed the law,but what you are in reality saying is that he should have done as the president wanted and confirmed 8% as the HBC chairman.

If you all are such strong believers of the rule of the law,then why don't you clap and cheer for him coz as it is,he has broken no law,nor gone against the constitution. Disobeying the president does not amount to breaking a law.

Furthermore,since you are all such proponents of the rule of law,why don't you now take the issue to the courts and let the courts decide as you are so fond of harping on here.

And finally,just call a spade a spade,if you think he should have ruled in favour of 8% then come up and say so,speak your minds,we are all big boys/girls.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#127 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 3:28:00 PM

@Obi,try civilisation for once. It's based on rule of law.
Brewer
#128 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 3:47:00 PM

We know Kalonzo is a serious contender for presidency come next elections but must one fit him in this debate by whatever means? Some people can say anything.
Liv
#129 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 4:16:00 PM

In my opinion though Marende's ruling saved the day he just made the problem more complex. There are 2 questions that need to be answered

1) How will the president take this ruling? If he takes it negatively and assumed that the speaker illegally interfered with his powers,he may decide not to cooperate with ODM... suppose he does not consult ODM in other appoitments what will happen?

2) The leader of Govt business in parliament is not directly mentioned in the constitution and the national accord. This is the reason the speaker had the liberty to make the ruling as he did. PNU can interpret that for all other appointments provided for in law,there will be no need for consultations. How will this be sorted out?

Marende just managed to postpone the problem. If I were him I would have ensured the 2 guys meet and come up with one name... even if it means getting Kofi Anan here again or using the international community.
#130 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 4:17:00 PM

Been lurking around. And got to agree with Obi - the guys who keep on whining about Marende not following the law should really come out and say what they truly mean by that instead of hiding behind such predictable sound bites.

If any body paid attention to the proceedings in Parliament then it was clear that both sides came out and used the law to support their positions. I make reference to that to point to one thing - that the law can be construed in different ways. The law is an Ass.

Marende in his Ruling went into details on the various Statutes,the Standing Order and the Consitution. He then went on and made his decision. One thing that most seem not to mention is that Section 3 (I think) is the part of the Constitution that expressly state the Supremacy of the Constitution and that the said section expressly provided that any Act of Parliament that is made pursuant to Section 15 (I think) shall not be subject to that section. That Act is the NARA and the Constitution itself says that it can be inconsistent with it and still be law. In effect the Act is at par with the constitution.

Now at the end of it all he did made a Ruling based on his construing of the law. Several lawyers agree with him. Several lawyers do not. It happens in Courts all over the world that the decision by a judge or magistrate has to go one way out of several possible.

So,like the decision or not,one thing is clear - MARENDE DID NOTHING ILLEGAL and contrary to some popular believe here HE APPLIED THE LAW. According to Tea and company he may not have given a decision on what they felt the law - according to them- but that does not mean that we can objectively state that he failed to apply the law.

Those not satiffied can indeed go to court but it should be kept in mind that the court really has no power to order the Parliament on its procedure. Nyamu J (as he then was) tried it and embarassed the judiciary when his injunctive orders were rightfully ignored by the Parliament.

namcast.com - free .ke emails
stockyt
#131 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 5:26:00 PM

Ok. Marende certainly added/or temporaririlydeducted? his share to our serious governance confusion. And by the way how is the expected 'consulted' letter to him supposed to read- 'we........' or signed by the two.

If the two dont agree,does he have room to backtrack.

And can someone in the know please tell me how decisions are made in the HBC incase there is no consensus,is it by vote? in which case Odm has 11 pnu 10. I think this may just be scene 1 of the serious/fatal drama we are up for.
Kaffir
#132 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 5:38:00 PM

How life turns full circle. Its interesting that the ones shouting 15 months ago 'go to court if you feel aggreived' knowing how useless that would be are now facing the same situation.
But,the most interesting implications of the ruling,in my view,are the deathbells of the imperial presidency. Now,no one in Kenya will in future talk like (s)he is god,and their word and the law are one.
Brewer
#133 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 6:06:00 AM

Kaffir,you are wrong about going to court- somebody is already there and i think it is necessary to have a court interpretation of the constitution and the accord regardless of the marende fiasco. It is another issue how the judiciary will interpret it but we must institutionalise dispute resolution,rather than sorting it out in the streets,or railway lines for that matter.

You are also wrong about the end of the imperial presidency. The accord and the law thereon is fickle and temporary- was it 3 years? UNLESS reform is undertaken in those three years we are back to the imperial presidency,which our politicians still find very attractive.
#134 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 6:44:00 AM

Brewer,so according to you the president is equal to the government........come on,why then do we have the two references man!!!!

What constitutes the current Kenyan govt. tell me!!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
B.Timer
#135 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 7:38:00 AM

Now someone wants to say for us what he assumes we wanted to say!
People here are capable of saying what they want to say,in the manner they want to say it,without the unsolicited help of the greatest self-styled 'mind readers'.

Did Marende rule decisively,in the sense of settling the matter once and for all. He merely skirted around the issue,as he appointed himself - caretaker chair,pending advise after the decision is made elsewhere.
That is cowardice.
Sometimes one has to make some tough choices.

For the benefit of certain chaps in denial,the Accord stipulates that govt/cabinet shall consist of The President,The VP,The PM,the two Deputy PMs and other Ministers.
This is repeated several times in the Accord.
Note the order,and deduce for yourself.

The constitution asserts unequivocally that the executive power of the govt shall vest in the presidency.
The accord futher directs that the duties of the PM shall be supervision and coordination of govt operations,and any other duty that the President may assign him.

Doesnt that make it all too clear.
Such intellectual dishonesty is the stuff that precipitates breakdown of order.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
#136 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 8:13:00 AM

True. The Constitution is very clear on this even to these ODM MPs save for their fanatical or ignorant supporters here on SK. Their bone of contention is what effect the National Accord has on what the constitution clearly stipulates. You only need to read the National Accord to realise how dishonest the ODM position is. It has nothing to do with the interests of Wanjiku.
sukuma
#137 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 8:21:00 AM

@Btimer$like minded
Did Marende rule decisively,in the sense of settling the matter once and for all. He merely skirted around the issue,as he appointed himself - caretaker chair,pending advise after the decision is made elsewhere.That is cowardice.

Honestly you make make me sick with such utterances,in your mind was Koffi Annan's intervention for power sharing an act of cowardice for him failing to stick to ECK pronouncement of Kibaki's win?.It would have been very easy for him to declare that the constitution asserts so,but he chose otherwise,did you care to find out why?Timer things are not the same again.Marende spoke for the masses,you stand for a few,if Marende upheld Kibaki's usual unilateral decision things would be different know,how else can we proclaim where we are heading to if we can't remember where we came from?

sk lady
B.Timer
#138 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 8:24:00 AM

Na jana niliuliza swali.

In the event of an MP petitioning the Speaker on account of some beef he/she has with the HBC decisions and/orconduct,would he be in any position to play neutral and honest adjudicator.

Remember the age old maxim of not being a judge in our own case.
Hii ni catch 22.

Wadadisi wa mambo niambieni,vipi hapo,iko utata.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Brewer
#139 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 8:37:00 AM

Mcreggae- your question asked and answered.

@ sukuma- we know just too well where we are coming from- it's called lawlessness and impunity. This notion that the louder one shouts the more right they may be is our undoing. A long prose written in high sounding and pain-relieving version will not make the marende decision correct. neither will the sanctimonious and patronising praise by the well meaning koffi annan and the foreign dignitaries. by disregarding and twisting clear provisions of the law to feed the whims of power mongers we are growing a monster that will devour kenya.
#140 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 8:48:00 AM

@B.Timer &Co.

This ruling by Marende has been stress tested in the court of public opinion and passed as excellent.

ODM think it was fair,the LSK think it was good,Koffi Annan and the .group of eminent persons' wrote to say it was good,the foreighn missions held a press conference to support it,individual constitutional lawyers have come out and stated that it is within the law,kenyans on the street are happy and just want the business of parliament to not be affected by the wrangles in the executive,even your beloved Martha Karua who co-wrote the accord for MK said it was a good ruling.

So tell me,on what basis do you keep arguing against it. Move on man this battle is lost,fight another day,MK might still manage to place Kalooser as the HBC chairman. Just wait,then you can come and celebrate the triumph of law and order as per your definition.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.