wazua Sat, Oct 18, 2025

Beware, "M-PESA" trickeries
Spend.thrift
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:35:57 PM

The new trick being used by tricksters is to send you a carefully crafted message meant to make you believe that you that the sender has erroneously sent you money. They will then then call you claiming to have missed a number and erroneously sent money to your number and ask that you return it.

Many good people, if unfortunate enough to be having an amount of money in their M-PESA account at that time will instantly "return" the money to the number only to realise that you have actually sent your own money to the number.

Please ensure that you check you actual balance before "returning" any monies to crooks.

What happened to SIM registration?

milken
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:41:27 PM

This does not wash with me. All Mpesa messages should come with Mpesa as the sender. Actually there is no number. How gullible would I be to beleive any other cock and bull story about Kimani having sent me money so as to refund him?
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
Spend.thrift
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:45:35 PM

milken wrote:
This does not wash with me. All Mpesa messages should come with Mpesa as the sender. Actually there is no number. How gullible would I be to beleive any other cock and bull story about Kimani having sent me money so as to refund him?

True Milken, But the message looks exactly like a real M-PESA notification you care to scan the sender. How many people are that careful.

Does Safaricom have a portal where people can report these numbers?
Dod
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 12:59:13 PM

Safcon recently sent an sms regarding this.
The no is 234.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 1:12:40 PM

@spendthrift, always check the sender. Its just like when you receive a message, you check to see who it is from. If you call safaricom customer care, they will take the number and forward it to the fraud department. Dont rely on sim registration. One can always buy a new line and dump it the following day.

Fraud/theft cannot be dealt with if subscribers are ignorant of the happenings. The fact that there are soooo many conmen and con stories should make anyone be extra careful. Ukiibiwa, that's it. The funds will may not be recovered, especially if they've been withdrawn.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 4:13:48 PM

I once received a message from +25415864491 that went like this:
DA77JN967 Confirmed. ou have received 2,550Ksh from JOSEPH OLEKE on. 17/1/2011 at 10:58 PM

I waited for the fool to call and he did. He said "tafadhali mtoto wangu ako hospitali..... bla bla ". I warned him sternly that I was on his trail and I will not rest until he is "ndani". He hanged before I got to the third word.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 5:10:38 PM

Be careful. Also check out this thread

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&m=140240
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 5:17:10 PM

All Mpesa messages should come with Mpesa as the sender. Actually there is no number. How gullible would I be to beleive any ...
, IT my friend..its that simple..i can give you a test.
Tommy
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 6:27:06 PM

you would be surprised how many people are being conned despite the increased awareness campaigns. some of these msgs come when people are tired and want to get over and done with them. a family friend was asked to send 1k for processing an alledged present she had won. she quickly sent her daughter the airtime and sent it, then the thugs asked for more and she sent her daughter again. just b4 sending, a neighbour comes in narrating about the cons taking place.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Dod
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 09, 2011 9:05:41 PM

Tommy wrote:
you would be surprised how many people are being conned despite the increased awareness campaigns. some of these msgs come when people are tired and want to get over and done with them. a family friend was asked to send 1k for processing an alledged present she had won. she quickly sent her daughter the airtime and sent it, then the thugs asked for more and she sent her daughter again. just b4 sending, a neighbour comes in narrating about the cons taking place.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .........d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Is it stupidity or greed?
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#11 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 8:45:23 AM

Dod wrote:
Safcon recently sent an sms regarding this.
The no is 234.

What is the equivalent Airtel help number for such cases? I received an SMS yesterday from number 0737 937 454 sating "ANGUKIA NA AIRTEL KENYA!! Umejishindia ksh 100,000 kwa shindano la Angukia na Airtel New year. Tupigie simu upate uhondo kamili. AIRTEL K. A WONDERFUL WORLD!!"
story teller
#12 Posted : Sunday, March 13, 2011 12:08:03 AM

Spend.thrift wrote:
The new trick being used by tricksters is to send you a carefully crafted message meant to make you believe that you that the sender has erroneously sent you money. They will then then call you claiming to have missed a number and erroneously sent money to your number and ask that you return it.

Many good people, if unfortunate enough to be having an amount of money in their M-PESA account at that time will instantly "return" the money to the number only to realise that you have actually sent your own money to the number.

Please ensure that you check you actual balance before "returning" any monies to crooks.

What happened to SIM registration?

This is very serious. I have a relative who was conned sh 26 000 today! Please beware..
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:07:31 AM

Almost fell for this yesterday in between meetings!!! got repeated calls and 'busy'ed them. called back after the first meeting and on hearing the man's predicament (KES 6,000/= worth!) assured him I'll reimuburse, I even noted the number as I got into the vehicle. Before going off, I decided to check the SMS he'd talked off and sure enough M-Pesa had confirmation message was there[PETER LOSILI 0703672105]. In traffic I decided to do the necessary. Since I had loaded my account and sent previously in the day, I decided to check my balance. Alas! I only has KES 50/=!!!!! then it hit me...sharks...this is one of those con jobs...I went back to the 'M-PESA message'. It definatly looked legitimate, on scrolling to the end of the message... the number however wasn't legit!!! wah!! the IMMORAL OF THE STORY - Don't load your M-PESA account unless you plan to remit the money immediately after!!
413XX!$
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:54:32 AM

I fell for another one:)

Recently I got this mesage from a friend which actually is on my contact list.

"I'm in deep trouble and can't call you right now. I urgently need 5k to sort somebody out. I get the money back to you before 5pm. Please help me"

So, I called my friend but he hang up on me and I got another sms instead:
"Have company, can't speak on the phone right now - plse send sms"

I sent sms to my friend saying:
"Sorry but I don't have that amount on my mpesa, shall I try someone else to send it to you?"

Then I got this one:
"Please try somewhere else then send direct via mpesa service to 0722486091 pls its btn u and me pls thx in advance bt sorry for inconvience"

Needles to say that I called up a friend to assist - he then transfered the amount via mpesa to this number 0722486091 of an Joe Karanja.

Later that day it turned out that my friends cell was stolen and the thief sent the same sms to the entire phone directory!

As per my friend, he got away with a total of 21k:(

Even reporting to Shitcom and requesting a block of payment to that particular number was fruitless - How can a registered user with a 0722 number get away with it!? I actually reported a "crime" to Scom but they didn't do a thing!
Carpe Aptenodytes!
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:25:11 AM

@413, thats super advanced conmanship!
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 11:40:57 AM

413XX!$ wrote:
I fell for another one:)

Recently I got this mesage from a friend which actually is on my contact list.

"I'm in deep trouble and can't call you right now. I urgently need 5k to sort somebody out. I get the money back to you before 5pm. Please help me"

So, I called my friend but he hang up on me and I got another sms instead:
"Have company, can't speak on the phone right now - plse send sms"

I sent sms to my friend saying:
"Sorry but I don't have that amount on my mpesa, shall I try someone else to send it to you?"

Then I got this one:
"Please try somewhere else then send direct via mpesa service to 0722486091 pls its btn u and me pls thx in advance bt sorry for inconvience"

Needles to say that I called up a friend to assist - he then transfered the amount via mpesa to this number 0722486091 of an Joe Karanja.

Later that day it turned out that my friends cell was stolen and the thief sent the same sms to the entire phone directory!

As per my friend, he got away with a total of 21k:(

Even reporting to Shitcom and requesting a block of payment to that particular number was fruitless - How can a registered user with a 0722 number get away with it!? I actually reported a "crime" to Scom but they didn't do a thing!

LMAO!what? necessity is the mother of invention.
Mwende
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 12:18:52 PM

Dear Sir Madam, your number has been selected by our official company to win 5000$ call now to receive your prize, call imedietly congrutaltions

Sender: +50056737

Whats the source of this? I received it jana & shamelessly they don even know how to spell
...hold me in your arms, like that Spanish guitar… all night long!!!
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 12:33:12 PM

@413, sim registration is not foolproof. And that is why we say these people are conmen. I will go to a dealer, buy a line, register for Mpesa, using a dubious ID card, then proceed to conning people.

Looking at your friend's case, what we need to do when we lose our phones is to contact Customer Care, of whichever telcom, and bar your stolen line asap. It sounds simple, but it should be the first step. Alternatively, when your line is lost, you go ahead and replace it asap.

But, sorry for the incident and thank you for sharing it with us so that we can pass such messages to our families, friends, colleagues, etc. We need to be on the lookout, they will use anything to get what they want...
livie
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 1:25:15 PM

413XX!$ wrote:

Moral: always make use of security features built into the phone in case it gets lost;

1 phone lock that requires a pass word everytime you use it/ put it on

2 SIM lock to access line

3 password protected phonebook, sms and call logs menus

If your phone doesn't have these features, get one that does, it could mean the difference between keeping or losing a friend/ relative or worse being branded a con!

If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
413XX!$
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 1:51:16 PM

You are absolutely right Jus. The only bitter pill is that there is no legal system in place to "quickly" trace such buggers.

Carpe Aptenodytes!