Investor
Stocks
Safaricom Restructure or downsizing?
mukiha wrote:
Kencell/Celltel/Zain were always one step ahead of SCOM in product innovation. First to introduce SMS
Are you sure? IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
mwenza wrote:mukiha wrote:
Kencell/Celltel/Zain were always one step ahead of SCOM in product innovation. First to introduce SMS
Are you sure? SMS  , lakini the point is they were always the first to introduce products into the market, safcom was slow but sure
mwenza wrote:mukiha wrote:
Are you sure? Yes; we [Kencell customers] were sending SMSs for a while before SCOM started. And also sending SMS abroad... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
subzero wrote:mukiha wrote:[quote=majimaji] First with Momey transfer [remember SokoTele?]; @mukiha are you sure ? Yes, I'sure. It appears you never heard of SOKOTELE, the joint venture between Celtel and K-Rep bank. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
subzero wrote:mukiha wrote:[quote=majimaji] First with Momey transfer [remember SokoTele?]; @mukiha are you sure ? On this one Mukiha is right, only issue was Kencell/celtel/zain didnt take ownership they left it to K-rep and no adverts or budget for it was allocated safcom perfected it, and by the way it is said that the safcom staff that made it work as is now used to work for Kencell/celtel/zain and no one listerned to him the rest is......
Correct me if I'm wrong; weren't Claire Ruto and Arina at K/C/Z/A? Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Jamani wrote:subzero wrote:mukiha wrote:[quote=majimaji] First with Momey transfer [remember SokoTele?]; @mukiha are you sure ? On this one Mukiha is right, only issue was Kencell/celtel/zain didnt take ownership they left it to K-rep and no adverts or budget for it was allocated safcom perfected it, and by the way it is said that the safcom staff that made it work as is now used to work for Kencell/celtel/zain and no one listerned to him the rest is...... mpesa launch date : 13 Feb 2007 sokotele launch date : 4th April 2007
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
subzero wrote:mukiha wrote:[quote=majimaji] First with Momey transfer [remember SokoTele?]; @mukiha are you sure ? @all Kwanini mnatoa Mukiha rangi? This is very mbad. we might lose this serious contributor. You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Mukiha is right ME2U was first launched by celtel and later on Sambaza was launched by Safaricom. Soko tele was launched before Mpesa that's for sure though i don't have the dates but what failed it was lack of proper distribution. After Soko tele failed Celtel took too long to relaunch hence why they are trailing behind to date .Very good ideas but poor product development and Marketing.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 2/15/2010 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi
@Muhika. you mentioned "Yes; we [Kencell customers] were sending SMSs for a while before SCOM started. And also sending SMS abroad.."
my first SIM was on Kencell and i remember that SMSes were introduced way after safaricom had theirs. if my memory serves me right, Kencell introduced their SMS service at a cost of 1 bob per SMS on net.
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom Restructure or downsizing?