wazua Fri, Jan 2, 2026

President Abdikadir Mohammed!!
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 12:45:29 AM

The ICC has summoned the Ocampo 6 to appear by on April 7.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/11fsux3z/-/index.html

I guess one thing that could happen when they appear is that they will be barred from contesting or holding any public office until the case is determined and then the case will drag on till 2013. I think its all gloves off now politically. I think the ICC has just declared Kalonzo president by this decision. Or it now gives an opportunity for a third candidate to come and shine. Does anyone in wazua know Abdikadir Mohammed to tell him what someone once told Obama, "A man doesn't choose the moment. The moment chooses the man." With the exit of Uhuru, Ruto and Raila Kenyans will be willing and ready to listen to a Fresh voice. (Raila may not be going to the Hague but the other 2 have followings that would ensure he does not get the required 50% vote.) Abdikadir!!!! step up and seize the moment!!!!!!!!!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 9:14:05 AM

@Kusadikika,
Never ever put Kalonzo and Kenyan presidency in the same sentence.As we are seeking for justice that ka-man is in New York doing his masters dirty work (Kupaka mbwa rangi) and misusing tax payers money....BK!!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 9:26:25 AM

@Kusadikika, as much as that may be a good move for Kenya, Abdikadir hawesmek it! (read tribal segregation)and as @Guka says, SKM is a hard sell to the population. Would he garner 25% votes in 24 counties?
What about the "fear" that elections may not happen in 2012?
klan
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 9:32:44 AM

i totally agree with kusadikika. Its time fo an all round change
innairobi
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 10:06:00 AM

Many people seem unaware that this 25% rule only applies to the first round. The constitution requires just a simple majority in the second round.

Although logically, this rule will probably be naturally fulfilled, it does not automatically follow. Especially given the distorted population distribution in the 47 counties.

For instance, Nairobi with 3M+ is one county while some counties have less than 100,000 pax. It is mathematically possible for the person with 50%+1 not to garner 25% in 24 counties.

In fact, like 2007, hii inaweza kuwa shida ingine in 2012 where the loser will e.g. claim to have won the vote in 30 counties.

@Kusadikika, as much as that may be a good move for Kenya, Abdikadir hawesmek it! (read tribal segregation)and as @Guka says, SKM is a hard sell to the population. Would he garner 25% votes in 24 counties?
What about the "fear" that elections may not happen in 2012?

All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 10:27:07 AM

I support and campaign for this guy.I wish somebody would tell him to stand
keraka
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 12:35:28 PM

@Kusadikika,
Never ever put Kalonzo and Kenyan presidency in the same sentence.As we are seeking for justice that ka-man is in New York doing his masters dirty work (Kupaka mbwa rangi) and misusing tax payers money....BK!!

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Spot on Guka.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
Mpenzi
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 12:36:38 PM

[quote=innairobi]

In fact, like 2007, hii inaweza kuwa shida ingine in 2012 where the loser will e.g. claim to have won the vote in 30 counties.
[quote]

Why would he claim be the winner if he does not get 50% + 1 votes in addition to at least 25% of the 30 counties you mention?
Mpenzi
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 12:38:24 PM

innairobi wrote:
Many people seem unaware that this 25% rule only applies to the first round. The constitution requires just a simple majority in the second round.

Although logically, this rule will probably be naturally fulfilled, it does not automatically follow. Especially given the distorted population distribution in the 47 counties.

For instance, Nairobi with 3M+ is one county while some counties have less than 100,000 pax. It is mathematically possible for the person with 50%+1 not to garner 25% in 24 counties.

Why would he claim be the winner if he does not get 50% + 1 votes in addition to at least 25% of the 30 counties you mention?
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 12:46:46 PM

Our local politics is personality driven unfortunately. In this cesspool however, I like this particular candidate presented. Neutral ethnicity with a reputation that precedes him. However, I would like to hear of his blueprint - as well as that of any other contenders - for the nation if he does choose to run. Until then I adopt a wait & see attitude. Heck, someone in the meantime pass the message to him - 'arise'!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 12:49:07 PM

hawesmek. hawesmek. hawesmek.
innairobi
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 1:41:21 PM

What I mean is if the losing candidate (in the runoff) garners over 50% of the vote in each of 30 counties but gets less than 50% of the total national vote, they can advance the same 'won-in-6-out-of-8-provinces' propaganda that was put out in 2007/8. But hopefully we will have a credible Supreme Court that can separate fact from fiction.

I know the law is clear. All I am pointing out is that knowing Kenya's politicians, they will chalk up such propaganda in 2012 if they lose in the runoff under such circumstances.

Mpenzi wrote:
innairobi wrote:

All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 1:55:10 PM

Sasa ni AbdiKadir ama ni Iron Lady?!!!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 1:59:49 PM

kingfisher wrote:
hawesmek. hawesmek. hawesmek.

.....I tend to be of the same opinion!!!!
MrTyrus
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 2:11:13 PM

afadhali kura yangu ipotee but Abdi akisimama me niko na yeye. peter Kenneth akisimama me niko na yeye. nani mwingine?d'oh!
Snazzy
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 2:22:37 PM

@Kusadikika,thank you for putting the thoughts i was having over the weekend into words.

It is time Kenyans moved from politics centered on personalities,scandals and king making.So now the country i holding its breathe to see who we will be given as Presidential material.We need to wake up and decide what future we want as Kenyans.For far too long we have played into the hands of a political and economical elite to the detriment of the kawaida Kenyan selling his sukumas at Wakulima market.

Am sure most people on Wazua have known only two presidents in their lifetime,MOI and Baks.We have had politics played the same way since 4 decades ago and Kenya which showed so much promise in 1963 is a pale shadow of the dreams and visions our grandfathers fought so hard for.

At the moment we are watching the usual suspects who have declared their interest in the job,the same guys who have been in the system and nothing has changed since they were there.They are shadow boxing and mud slinging instead of telling us where they are going to take this country by 2030.

In checks in Abdulkadir Mohamed who so far is squeaky "clean" but whom people don't even dare give a chance yet he has shown what a terrific job he can do.Where do we go from here?

We are putting forth the same arguments against him that white Americans(most)had against Obama.Would it not be great to have someone who will give us a fresh start for us and for our children?
“You can safely assume you've created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.”

― Anne Lamott
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 2:25:37 PM

Perhaps we should ask: If he stood for president, would you vote for him?

Or would you vote for the person you think has a winning chance? I think this is what most people do - vote for the person they think has a winning chance, rather than vote for the person they think has better ideas....
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 2:31:29 PM

Snazzy,
Obama realized his potential and started early, the elections should be in 18 months, Abdi has not shown an iota of interest, PK seems to have chickened out, how then do you expect any of them to be elected the president when the time comes!!!

A leader realizes his potential and stands up to be counted, otherwise all this talk just remain wishes!!!!!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 2:42:33 PM

famooz wrote:

Between the two, I'd take Martha Karua the 'Iron Lady'. Tried and tested also in politics, no populism, just do the right thing. Long term development pillars. If December indictments are made against Ruto &Or Uhuru, she will hopefully have a decidedly larger support base to battle RAO & Kalonzo for the top job.
NB: Small matter of 2% Kenyans voting for a woman??
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 3:10:42 PM

famooz wrote:

Between the two, I'd take Martha Karua the 'Iron Lady'. Tried and tested also in politics, no populism, just do the right thing. Long term development pillars. If December indictments are made against Ruto &Or Uhuru, she will hopefully have a decidedly larger support base to battle RAO & Kalonzo for the top job.
NB: Small matter of 2% Kenyans voting for a woman??

@ ecstacy,Not really re 2% voting for a woman.Latest polls ( not a big fan of polls though) shows that 60% of Kenyan would vote for a woman. .........and well...why not,Hon. Martha has the brains and will power to go against the grain- and if the recent events are anything to go by,we need people who are willing to go against the grain.