wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

6 Pages«<456
Safcom touches 3.60
fullu fullu
#51 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 4:50:15 PM

KDN will only provide the infrastructor between the different BTS's but the equipment will be provided by NSN, Ericcson and Alcatel in some areas.............i might be wrong
bird_man
#52 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 5:12:21 PM

Cable belongs to KDN for long distance connection.
BTS belongs to Safcom for final broadcast from the cable.Last mile solution.
Ericsson/NokiaS/Alcatel does the networks and manages them.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#53 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:12:30 PM

[quote=VituVingiSana]Airtel 3G coming... http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/eug73f/-/index.html[/quote]
Woop woop!
erifloss
#54 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:44:04 PM

selah wrote:
I foresee safaricom buying AK although I hear safaricom are partners in Jamii telecoms (uncomfirmed reports)

Heard the same about Jamii & Safcom. As for Airtel's BTS stations some are being maintained by by an Indian company called GTL.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#55 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 11:43:05 PM

Wazuans - Please ask @the deal to look me up...!

can you recommend conference venue and hotels in windhoek?
#56 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 1:47:05 PM

Safaricom wins backing in row with rivals [read airtel] over sharing M-Pesa

No sharing of MPesa
#57 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 2:04:55 PM

Why cant airtel build their own goodwill?its very stupid to always use guerilla tricks to win sympathy.
#58 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 1:54:14 AM

I support CBK's stand except a caveat... Let them interconnect but with Safaricom earning a fair fee since they built the network for M-Pesa...

Airtel is probably using the M-Pesa issue to counter the PR [& goodwill] Safaricom generated from its ardent supporters & shareholders as regards cheaper Voice Calls...

If GoK puts price floors on calls than Airtel can push for concessions on other matters. In this case, I agree with Airtel i.e. we need a LEVEL playing field. We can't have GoK support one over the other!

I say let them COMPETE on price, accessibility & service... I use Airtel to pay my stima bill. It costs me 10/- only vs 25/- for Safaricom... Let consumers decide not GoK...
Jamani
#59 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 4:22:37 AM

I support CBK's stand except a caveat... Let them interconnect but with Safaricom earning a fair fee since they built the network for M-Pesa...

Airtel is probably using the M-Pesa issue to counter the PR [& goodwill] Safaricom generated from its ardent supporters & shareholders as regards cheaper Voice Calls...

If GoK puts price floors on calls than Airtel can push for concessions on other matters. In this case, I agree with Airtel i.e. we need a LEVEL playing field. We can't have GoK support one over the other!

I say let them COMPETE on price, accessibility & service... I use Airtel to pay my stima bill. It costs me 10/- only vs 25/- for Safaricom... Let consumers decide not GoK...

Airtel just wants to ride on the success of others, they dont even have their own money transfer service, Zap is owned by K-rep not Airtel. its a service they didnt want to invest in, now they are busy crying for help..... the field is level bwana let them come up with their money transfer service plus other innovative services then compete straight. They had the edge in the market infact leading however they insisted on per minute charging and high denomination scratch cards and lost it straight...
erifloss
#60 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 8:24:58 AM

CBK on point with their decision. Mpesa is a proprietory product & the rights only belong to the owner who are the ones that can decide who to give. As earlier said, the war will be won by the best value addition & data.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
6 Pages«<456