wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Revealed: Man Utd has been rigging matches
mtaalam
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 8:46:00 AM

It's official: Man Utd helped by referees
In the wake of the controversial end to the Manchester derby on Monday a new English study has confirmed what many football fans have long suspected about the time keeping at Old Trafford.

The three-year analysis,commissioned by leading British newspaper The Guardian,looked at the stoppage time added by referees at Manchester United home matches over the last three Premier League seasons.

The statistics reveal that United,who have won the English Premier League eighteen times,receive more extra time when they are on the wrong end of the scoreline at Old Trafford.

During Alex Ferguson's long tenure at Old Trafford,opposition fans and managers have often wondered how the Red Devils seem to get just enough time to save - or even win matches - with miraculous last minute escapes.

Clear disparity

The English study looked at the 57 league matches played at Old Trafford across the 2006-07,2007-08 and 2008-09 seasons and found a clear disparity between the amount of time added - depending on the score.

If the scores were level or United were trailing at the end of 90 minutes,they have received around a minute or more of injury time than if they were ahead.

Referees allowed an average of four minutes and 17 seconds if United were facing defeat or a draw compared to around three minutes and ten seconds if the Alex Ferguson's team had the three points locked up.

Statistics can often be twisted to tell a tale but in this situation it seems perfectly clear.

Manchester United is an amazingly tenacious team who pride themselves on late,late escapes and never,ever give up until the final whistle goes - but time does seem to expand to suit their needs.

Bright and interesting people talk about ideas.
Those of average intelligence talk about things.
Stupid people talk about other people.
Sasha
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 9:07:00 AM

@mtaalam: Surely, even if this is not your research, you should have thought about those claims before posting. So let me give you a good rebuttal from a research done by a United fan!

'While this is indeed an engaging and perceptive article if you are not a United fan,as a United fan I have a few points of clarity I wish to address. Firstly please study the following quote:

'In 2006-07,for example,United were winning 15 times on entering stoppage time and referees added an average 194.53sec. In the four games when United were not winning there was an average of 217.25sec.'

While it is a curious coincidence indeed that United were seemingly afforded extra time when trailing the opposition it should be noted that,going into the 91st minute leading 15 of their 19 home games is the most important point. I have done a little research myself and have compiled a list of the results at OT for that season.

Manchester United 1-1 Middlesbrough
Manchester United 0-1 West Ham
Manchester United 2-0 Sheffield United
Manchester United 4-1 Blackburn
Manchester United 4-1 Bolton
Manchester United 2-0 Charlton Athletic
Manchester United 4-0 Watford
Manchester United 3-1 Aston Villa
Manchester United 3-2 Reading
Manchester United 3-1 Wigan
Manchester United 3-1 Manchester City
Manchester United 3-0 Everton
Manchester United 1-1 Chelsea
Manchester United 3-0 Portsmouth
Manchester United 2-0 Liverpool
Manchester United 2-0 Newcastle
Manchester United 0-1 Arsenal
Manchester United 1-0 Tottenham
Manchester United 5-1 Fulham

The first thing I am sure you will notice is that United entered the 91st on four occasions without the lead and these were the games that the wonderful helping hand of officials helped them in an article called 'Manchester-united-goals-stoppage-time'. What will dazzle your petty little eyes is the fact that,as the list of results confirms Manchester United also finished 4 games without the lead. Now far be it from me to dispute the importance of those 22.72 extra seconds afforded to the Champs when not winning but they obviously didn't do much good did they??

Also,another interesting note from my analysis is that of the 15 games United won at home on that list they won 2 by one goal,7 by two goals and 6 by 3 or more goals. Again far be it from me to dispute the malcontent who penned this piece of piss but we all know that in instances where a team is trailing by 2 or more goals the referee blows up a little earlier as there is likely to be insufficient time for anything to happen that will have an impact on the scoreline,particularly in those games United won by 3 or more goals.

This habit of minimising injury time in games where it is effectively over as a contest is surely a factor in the lower average of injury time played in games where United were ripping teams to shreds??

The end,thank you for reading my thoroughly magnificent musings.'

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 9:29:00 AM

Sasha you are a real Man Utd fan,I was going to give him that,those are just claims with bearing!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
mtaalam
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 9:36:00 AM

So how do you explain the 7mins added on by the ref over the weekend while the 4th official had indicated 4mins? There's a saying 'Never count Man-U out before the final whistle',now we know what it means.

Sasha
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 9:38:00 AM

@McReggae: Plus people need to know that both teams can actually score during injury time. It is not only United that is allowed to score during this time.

@mtaalam: Bellamy scored their 3rd equaliser at 89:55. At this time,the 4th official has already indicated 4 minutes of injury time. The game did not start until 90:50 as a result of excessive celebration by City. Ergo, the ref added 55 secs to the injury time. Carrick substituted Anderson. Rules require the ref to add 30 secs for each substitution. Therefore the ref should have added 1 min 25 secs to the 4 minutes. Owen scored at 95:26. Check Skysports and my assertions will be vindicated. Unless Skysport has also been paid by United to lie to the public!

Buster
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 9:48:00 AM

@ Mtalaam,

Seems like you missed earlier discusions,here is the explanation;

City scored in the very final seconds of the ninety. The game did not restart until over 91 minutes had elapsed. Every substitution should result in another 30 seconds being played and United replaced Anderson with Michael Carrick in the 93rd. The four minutes of injury time signalled is a minimum period,not a maximum.

So even if Michael Owen scored after an outrageous-sounding 95 minutes and 28 seconds,it was legitimate for the the game to have been in play at that time.

FACTS:-Bellamy scored at 89:55,four minutes were signaled. Play restarted at 91:01 (1:06 time wasted). Sub (30 seconds). That gave both teams a total of 1:36 over the original four,and Owen scored at 95:28 (ie 8 seconds short of this),FACT.!!

And like it has been said below,the extra time is added for both teams not one. If Manutd oponents cant score during this time,they have themselves to blame.
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 9:58:00 AM

hawa watu wa gooners bure kabisa!!!..sasa hii ni nini wameandika tena??? kwani you guys fear man-u this much?? ati wameongezwa more time ....... kwani the other team was not supposed to score during that period.......hehehehe

they will come to the bridge on Sunday,8 November 2009 and we shall kick their backside like they have never been kicked before in 90 minutes. then i will pray that the refree adds some 15mins injury time so that we kick them more........

then we will go to that Old place of theirs on Saturday,3 April 2010 and kick their asses even more....hope the ref will add at least 10mins of injury so that we can enjoy more...

you dont kick,you get kicked!! its your choice...sasa shinda iko wapi????

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
mtaalam
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 10:00:00 AM

@sasha
Added time does not always favour both teams especially if one team has prior knowledge of it.

Imagine this scenario:
You are an athlete in a race,could be 100 meters or even a marathon. Just when you are about to hit the tape after the kick to win you hear another 20 meters have been added....

...now imagine that the person right behind you has prior knowledge of it and starts his kick then.

#9 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 10:20:00 AM

This article was posted on the net three days ago i wonder why The Daily Nation found it fit to cut and paste it so belatedly especially after all the explanations for the injury time have exhaustively been given.

How i wish next time Man United devises a system where the legs of the opponents are firmly tied together during injury time so that they cant score against them.

WOULD RATHER DIE FIGHTING 4 MY RIGHTS THAN LIVE FOREVER WITHOUT ANY RIGHTS
Mr.Tea
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 10:28:00 AM

I think you are a conspiracy theorist. This was just a one win and panic-stricken-conspiratorial-Man-U-hating fraternity is busy at work spinning yarns.Cool it chaps,the road ahead is long and winding,perhaps in the end you might find your redeeming grace. Man U won fairly and need I add,with flair.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
reddevil
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 11:19:00 AM

@Mtaalam and the rest of you Arsenal Supporters,

I will not indulge you any further with the bare bones of added time,by now you know...

Unless you are just being a clowns like that team you support,

I am amazed at how quick the Adebayor tears were wiped and on the spur of the

moment you all have turned to Man-shitty supporters/sympathizers...get real....

As for the Nation,it's nauseating that they can copy paste an article from some tabloid

In UK and put in a so called 'reputable' newspaper,am I missing something.....

oH! by the way has anyone been stopped from having the ref in their pockets :-|

Go United Go.

Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
mtaalam
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 11:45:00 AM

@ reddevil
You need not post. Your user name says everything you'll ever need to say and more.

As for the rest of you manufanatics one day the truth will come out - just ask Briatore.

Sasha
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 24, 2009 11:48:00 AM

@Mr Tea

Took the words right out of my mouth. These guys will blame United even when their cows refuse to give milk in the morning.

@Mtaalam

I will not (out of due respect) respond to your claims. Let me humour you kidogo. Even if United had prior knowledge of added time, does that now stop the opposing team from scoring, or defending for that matter?