8 Pages<1234>»
Useless Arsenal!
#21 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 2:14:08 PM

We lost against Birmingham but we're already over it. It was a good match for the "spectators", next stop Sunderland!.

.....no so fast brother, you cant say you are already over it before you take to the pitch....your next game is actually a replay with Leyton Orient on wednesday!!!
#22 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 5:57:59 PM

As I watched Arsenal surprisingly lose the Carling Cup final to Birmingham on Sunday, I remembered an old tale from Hans Christen Andersen called “The Emperor’s New Clothes.”

You may know about this story from the legendary Danish writer which illustrates how intellectual vanity can lead someone into believing in something that everyone else can see is not true.

In my perspective, Arsene Wenger is guilty of this behaviour, and let me be the one to point out and say, “but he isn’t wearing anything thing at all, he’s naked!”

Enough is enough. I can imagine this is what most Arsenal fans around the world are saying at the moment.

As the Gunners contemplate a sixth straight year without any silverware, surely they have to question the methods of a man who has lived off his past glories for too long. A man who must see that he needs to change his philosophy or risk leaving the Emirates Stadium through the back door.

In the final minute at Wembley, when 20-year-old goalkeeper Wojicech Szczesny and 25-year-old central defender Laurent Koscielny made a mess of a loose ball, leading to Obafemi Martin’s winning goal, I thought to myself, “once again, kids lose out to men.”

In Sunday’s final, the average age of Arsenal’s back five (goalkeeper and four defenders) was 24.4 years. How many teams around the world have won anything with a defence that young? Not many. This is the main reason why Arsenal haven’t won anything since 2005 and the reason they won’t win anything again this season.

In my view, the finger of blame has got to be pointed at Wenger. Is he a good coach? Yes. Should he be respected? Yes. But he has now proven all too often that his obsession for young promising players has not translated into titles. How much longer are Arsenal going to put up with this trophy drought? The board should take a stand.

Recently I had the chance to speak with Patrick Vieira about his former club. He told me, during a short interview, that he felt sorry for Arsenal because they were missing a couple of key ingredients.

He admitted they needed some more experience. Personally, I thought Wenger should have taken his former midfield talisman back to London instead of letting him go north to Manchester City.

The Frenchman would have been a great addition to Arsenal’s squad. Just like many other experienced central midfielders like Anatoliy Tymoschuk, Mahamadou Diarra or Mark van Bommel would have been.

Or even better, a proven international center back like Matthew Upson, Richard Dunne or Fernando Meira. All players who were available over the last couple of seasons for a reasonable price and who would have added mettle and muscle to a back line often too easy to beat.

Another position Wenger should have strengthened is goalkeeper. Surely he would have seen by now that as talented as his young keepers are, they are not experienced enough to lead a young defence.

Surely he would have seen that spending two or three million pounds on someone like Mark Schwarzer would have been a good investment. But no, apparently he didn’t, and the result is once again, the same. So close, but no cigar.

I know many of you are thinking that I am overreacting and that the recent victory over Barcelona proves that Wenger is on the right track. I don’t agree.

There is no doubt that this team has many talented individuals and they will shine at times like they did against the Spanish giants. However, consistency wins titles, and this team cannot beat Barcelona and Chelsea and then lose to the likes of Braga and Birmingham.

One final word about the 2011 Carling Cup champions. With limited resources, Birmingham fought valiantly and deserved their victory on Sunday.

Ben Foster was colossal in goal and veterans like Lee Bowyer, Steven Carr and Barry Ferguson were extremely influential - just the kind of players the Gunners desperately need.

So I say Mr. Wenger, the expensive clothes you say you are wearing don’t exist. Your team isn’t winning and your philosophy isn’t paying off. It’s time for a change.

Posted by: CNN World Sport Anchor, Pedro Pinto
#23 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 7:30:27 PM

Ron, l can't agree more with that assesment!!!!
#24 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 7:47:31 PM

Like I said in a previous post that was vehemently objected by @Taz, the last time Arsenal won a trophy, they won it with an experienced squad. The moment Viera, Henry, Pires and co. left, so did the trophies. You cant afford to be singing the song 'Boys Will Come of Age Next Season' every season. @all Arsenal supporters, that's the bitter truth. Clearly we've not been hating. Its all there for the world to see.
kelele.com
#25 Posted : Monday, February 28, 2011 8:36:55 PM

Nothing big Happened..Wenger Just Maintained a trophy less streak..at least they took the loser's medal
Sina Signature. NKT
#26 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 8:19:40 AM

Like I said in a previous post that was vehemently objected by @Taz, the last time Arsenal won a trophy, they won it with an experienced squad. The moment Viera, Henry, Pires and co. left, so did the trophies. You cant afford to be singing the song 'Boys Will Come of Age Next Season' every season. @all Arsenal supporters, that's the bitter truth. Clearly we've not been hating. Its all there for the world to see.

We were in the final, doesn't that mean we're better than the other teams which didn't reach the same stage?

Are you guys serious, criticizing Arsenal for failing to win the Carling Cup yet neither Man Utd or Chelsea reached the semis....participation in this competition was not optional.

The only thing missing at Arsenal is a trophy otherwise i can't fault any of our starting players this season, they've been fantastic. This season we've remained competitive in all the competitions with the so called "kids". Look at Chelsea & Man City what have they done this season with all that "experience". I won't even start on Man Utd....right now we are just 4 points behind them with more than 10 games remaining yet we've lost 5 times this season. For the past 5 trophyless seasons our record in the CL has been better than Real Madrid galacticos. Like i keep saying here, a trophy would just be the icing on the cake.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 8:56:45 AM

...Luzhny, Stepanovs, Cygan, Senderos, Silvestre, Squallici, Koscielny... and who said Arsene Wenger is not consistent?

#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 9:16:11 AM

...Luzhny, Stepanovs, Cygan, Senderos, Silvestre, Squallici, Koscielny... and who said Arsene Wenger is not consistent?

Ashley Cole, Sol Campbell, Lauren, Toure, Vermaelen....one interesting thing about all those players you've mentioned is that they were all bench players.
Buster
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 9:59:33 AM

Aii Taz!!! What do you mean a Trophy will just be an icing. All big teams sign top Managers/Coaches to win them trophies. Mr. Bean hasn't won any in the past 6 years despite their 'incredible football'. No matter what you say, this is not acceptable at the level a club like arsenal plays.

WHEN that Russian finally owns Arsenal He is going to Either sack Wenger or force him to Blend the team with a mixture of experience and youth. I dont think your current board has the Guts to ask Him to change his ways.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 10:13:22 AM

hata kikombe ya plastic?
#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 11:00:40 AM

hata kikombe ya plastic team A haiwezi shinda baada ya miaka hii yote?

theman192000
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 1:05:57 PM

Robinhood wrote:
As I watched Arsenal surprisingly lose the Carling Cup final to Birmingham on Sunday, I remembered an old tale from Hans Christen Andersen called “The Emperor’s New Clothes.”

Recently I had the chance to speak with Patrick Vieira about his former club. He told me, during a short interview, that he felt sorry for Arsenal because they were missing a couple of key ingredients.

For a second there, I thought we had some serious reporter on Wazua by the name Robinhood until I read it was an article from CNN!
K22
#33 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 1:51:15 PM

Police have confirmed that two premiership footballers have had their homes burgled. Ryan Giggs lost 10 premiership medals, 2 champions league medals, 5 FA cup medals, 8 community shield medals, 2 club championship medals and 1 super cup medal. Robin Van Persie lost a DVD player and a toaster....

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#34 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 2:26:27 PM

Applause Applause
K22 wrote:
Police have confirmed that two premiership footballers have had their homes burgled. Ryan Giggs lost 10 premiership medals, 2 champions league medals, 5 FA cup medals, 8 community shield medals, 2 club championship medals and 1 super cup medal. Robin Van Persie lost a DVD player and a toaster....

#35 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 2:40:53 PM

The carling cup match confusions explained:-

1) Still don't know what the Koscielny/Szczesny confusion was about. Spelling each other's surname?

2) Birmingham really spoiled Arsenal's party. Even after the final whistle, the Gunners were asking whether Cesc Fabregas would be allowed to go up and lift the trophy.

reddevil
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 2:42:37 PM

K22 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Whaaaaaaat tooo tooo deadly.

Enyewe guys tuwachane na wao sasa...eish....my ribs are hurting...

#37 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 2:43:45 PM

Applause Applause
K22 wrote:

#38 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 2:45:32 PM

reddevil wrote:
K22 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Whaaaaaaat tooo tooo deadly.

Enyewe guys tuwachane na wao sasa...eish....my ribs are hurting...

#39 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 3:26:02 PM

mwenza wrote:
Birmingham really spoiled Arsenal's party. Even after the final whistle, the Gunners were asking whether Cesc Fabregas would be allowed to go up and lift the trophy.

This was the most comical of all. Two football pundits/Arsenal fans were discussing this issue on a certain program before the game and looking back at the conversation, I can't help but laugh out loud!

They had two different schools of thought. The first one was of the opinion that Fibreglass will be allowed to lift the cup 'in a suit'. He even cited precedents for this! Apparently Arsenal were to seek permission from the league to allow this to happen - Googled it - true story! He he he.

The second fan had a more radical idea. That Fibreglass be put on the bench and two minutes before the final whistle he substitutes someone - because by then the game 'will be safe' - again He he he. He can then run around a bit without even trying to play. His reasoning? If fibreglass 'plays' for even 30 seconds he will not be denied his winners medal. So in addition to lifting the cup, 'he will get his winners medal'.

At no point did any of them mention words like "if". It was like they were simply going to pick the cup from their grandmother's house!

Now you can understand why I can't stop laughing - even as I am typing this!!!
#40 Posted : Tuesday, March 01, 2011 3:51:16 PM

@MaichB, now I've heard it all...just goes to show the contempt with which they regarded the opposition...even the fates could not allow it!