Raila's bold stand on Mau
Fundaah....in the english dictionary,youthful does not mean bright.......Let Raila stand on his own two feet and he will have the support of even the most die hard anti-Railas.....Maybe this is the time he will come to realise that issue driven politics is what will catapult him to the presidency after many years of being led by some childlike war mongers like the Mau thieves..... Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
@ Brewer,I like your line of thought.
Many public issues in Kenya have always ended up being intricate political games. A few grabbing and then running back to their 'communities' to rally support. Victims of Mau's continued decimation are not only Kenyans but they will also include the Kenyans that some of the players in this game are refering to as 'our people'. And further downstream,Tanzanians,countries who depend on the Nile e.t.c. Simply put,we are staring at the destruction of varied kinds of livelihoods courtesy of politics.
Leave this aside,the Wilson Airport is also under threat from grabbing...the list is endless including many other water catchments areas.
Will there be a time when the brain will replace the belly and fetishism in a Kenyan's life?
Everyday!
Rank: Member Joined: 7/22/2009 Posts: 120 Location: KENYA
Ruto and his henchmen (Read Mbugua and Kuttuny et al) should let the PM and brother John safeguard our Mau.
From more than 10% forest cover at indipendece to less than 3% right now,we must be doing very poorly on that front. I believe,as Skerians we can be part of the solution,why doesnt each one of us,make an effort of planting at least one tree in a month. I have planted ten trees since the year began (but am no saying we have done ten months this year!!) Not much effortbut its worth it. Mau is our resource and should be protected at all costs.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/22/2009 Posts: 120 Location: KENYA
Someone please post for me the the link to the paid up advert by KAA about the plots encroaching on Wilson Airport.
Thanx
Litro ...I would have joined you ....but dont own a feet of any land..all has been grabbed.... if planting a tree kwa jirani was allowed ...i would start this weekend.... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Kibaki and Raila have given this MPigs too much room to politicize the Mau issue. Let them throw everyone out of the forest by yesterday and then we can be discussing the other details when EVERYONE is out of the forest and we are in the process of planting trees!!! Don't get me wrong. I understand the issue of discussions,consultations,task forces etc. etc. but you can only drag an issue for so long! It's only the government that seems to lack timelines and deadlines. Great leaders have made difficult decisions at split seconds all over the world. It's only in Kenya where leaders (what leaders by the way?) hope 'everything will be okay' - somehow! Bure Kabisa!!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
All these bold stands on such issues as well as the new found comradeship between Raila and Kibaki has much to do with the visit of US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton to Kenya next week.
The African visit for the Secretary of State is anchored in Kenya and will highlight Kenya's progress from the post-election debacle. A condition from Mr. Obama,in putting Kenya on the spotlight with this visit,was that the two principles must reflect the sentiments that Kenya is moving forward,and dealing with its political,environmental,business and social issues in a responsible manner.
Mr. Obama has a lot of confidence in Raila,and fortunately,has a better understanding of the tribe-based bickering and maligning popular in Kenya.
This is Raila yet again,sacrificing political power for the welfare of Kenyas. Something difficult for some people - not all - to see through the mist up the mountains except when it is a life and death situation,then they praise Raila.
Thank You Prof.J.T.Ouma
ODM
For sure,are we still discusing about Mau? Hao watu watolewe mara moja. Am happy by the stand and direction Raila has taken. I wonder why these rift MPs never brought this kind of siasa when people were evicted from Mt Kenya.
BOBB
@ Professor,
The ultimate skill of speech or writing ( communicating) lies in knowing what to say. When you have known what to say,the next most important skill is knowing when to stop talking or writing.
Read through your paragraphs again. You need not say some things. Let me say it-nobody here is praising Raila. Most of us are just in agreement and would give full support (if needed) with his stand point on the Mau forest issue and other issues prior to this one. Get rid of your fetish....at least when you write.
Everyday!
Though belatedly,Raila has taken the right stand on Mau issue. Ruto and co. are playing politics,and dirty politics at that. It should not be lost on us that Raila is himself is not a stranger to playing dirty politics. Talk of getting paid in own coin. The most unfortunate bit is that Ruto is using our environment/water tower as a tool to wage his political battle with Raila. @Prof. Sure you are not in dreamland!!! Obama has confidence in your 'hero'!!!! B.timer Dunia ni msongamano..
did someone say sh36B??? thats sh3.6m per person!! i would never compensate for such especially after the wanton destruction of the forest. paying someone for illegally occupying the mau forest. these leaders are playing politics. now wekesa comes out and says his ministry has the final say. where has be been all this time? RAO and michuki should what it takes to protect our generations. I loved what Michuki said; We better lose politically,but if we lose MAU,we lose it forever. Sijaoga na sina maji kwangu na mimi ni Member!! Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Member Joined: 4/22/2007 Posts: 96 Location: Agra, India
Raila has got the support of Kenyans on this he should not be held captive by pple who will become a burden for him in the future read read PEV and Hague.No community is being crucified. read no malice lets do the right thing. NAMASTE !Don't be unrealistic with your expectations It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
given his recent work Raila is getting closer to getting the admiration of all Kenyans. If he becomes president in 2012 and is supported by the whole country,Kenya will enjoy at least 100 years of peace. Kibaki should follow Mandela's example in backing Zuma and support him for 2012 president. Then the political equation in this country might just change forever.
On this very issue,Raila has given us several other deadlines by which Mau should be clear of occupiers. Many have been broken as RV Mps showed him the middle finger. This time round we hope he will call their bluff. PS Ati bado personality cults still exist. Good gracious. Things arent always the way they look like Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
If a person does something good .issue oriented....appreciation is in order...not personality cult...and 95% of contibutors in this thread appreciate what Raila has done to save the environment(mother nature) .....He has not been my hero in many aspects ...but on this he has tried...Hope his good intentions are put into action.. Prof. please dont beat the drums too hard ...lest they burst Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@Spendthrift, Thanks for teaching the old 'propesa' a lesson or two on communication.......It might be that he is a crop 'scientist'. Yombo dhier....!! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e we also have herbal medicine professors... A google search does not reveal a conventional prof. with such initials......a rare occurance .... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
When you drive through the forest area,there is no sign of destruction. But take the morning 6.45 a.m 540 flight -the one that does Kisumu direct before landing at Eldoret. The destruction you will see,as Eddiemundu has said in another thread is heart rending.
But again,a helicopter ride in many more places,including Nyanza and Mt. Elgon also reveals a trail of destruction. After this Mau issue is sorted out,I wish the heavy hand lands on these other forests. and important ecosystems like Ondiri swamp in Kikuyu,the endangered papyrus reed swamps in Busia which people have invaded. There is a forest in Koibatek called Lembus (unless things have changed) which the local communites protect with religious zeal. Any intrusion into the forest would (then)elicit a war cry and people would come out to face the forest poachers even at night. What happened to such communities?
The maasai in the Loita forest are also a good study point.
sorry to digress,but my point is that communities should not allow psycophants to hide in them as they destroy their future. The govt. support and big guns only come in as supportive. Lakini Mau has reached 'life and death' status and if all else fails,force should be used.
Everyday!
Of mau destruction Source: Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Work like you will die tomorrow,plan like you will never die "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
I listened to Raila on NTV 9pm news today and I like what he said. He is ready to lose political support but save Mau. That is leadership.
If he continues like this and sorts some of the problems we are facing in this country today,he will get my vote in 2012 for president. We need such leadership now.
Raila's bold stand on Mau