wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

6 Pages<12345>»
Raila's bold stand on Mau
#41 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 4:37:00 AM

Siasa; siasa; siasa!!

No one has real interest regarding the Mau...except,perhaps Wangari Maathai

On the one hand you have 'local' politicians who run the risk of losing their seats if the Mau settlers are evicted......

On the other hand you have 'national' politicians who run the risk of losing national popularity if the Mau is destroyed...have you seen the latest opinion poll from Synovate?

There are no principles here; just plain political posturing....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Spendthrift
#42 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 5:14:00 AM

Mukiha keep talking. What you're saying is very true and I wish evryone would see things this way instead of idolising human beings. Mau is being raped yes....and it's a matter of life and death yes...........buts lots of other important habitats and ecosystems are also being decimated; Kakamega forest,Gwassi Hills,Mt. Elgon,Nairobi River. We need a policy to get these matters sorted out. Relevant laws already exists; The Forest Act,The environment management and cordination act e.t.c. We even have moribund insitutions like KFS,NEMA and KWS (at least this one is effective).

I hope the political posturing will help save the Mau though,because do what you what and say what you got,it is impossible to separate politics from resources. You may only attempt to reach a judicious balance....sometimes. But on Mau,we don't have a choice. I support Ntimama's idea on this one

Everyday!
MADE
#43 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 5:22:00 AM

@Tebes...real picture of wanton destruction of mother nature

Let those with eyes see
Let those with mouths speak out
Let those with heads upright reason
.....and as the big headed politicize the issue,
Let those with power act..

I was born intelligent,education ruined me.
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
Brewer
#44 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 5:40:00 AM

The issue is simple: What are those people STILL doing in OUR forest? Why is the government STILL talking and not evicting them?

After we are done with the above issue we can revisit the issue why some people have not reclaimed their brains from the politicians.
Litro
#45 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 6:35:00 AM

Clearly this Mpig called Isaac Ruto is preparing his Kalenjin warriors perhaps to resist eviction from the Mau.

Shouldnt we slip his name in the envelope (If it is not already there. Which i highly doubt!!)
#46 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:06:00 AM

@Litro,

And the poor fellow discovered yesterday that RAO's brother is finance assitant minister,while the sis is an ambassador..........I highly doubt they have any plan.....it's empty threats............I wish the GSU will get there yesterday.

Yombo dhier....!!
#47 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:08:00 AM

Yaani this Ruto guy is from mars... who else in kenya would wonder if Wangari Maathai has planted trees? he just needs to google that and he has his answers! Bure kabisa hii mtu!

By the way,you can vote for her 'Taking Root: The Vision of Wangari Mathai' on the Greenbelt movement website - it is a finalist for the PBS Independent Lens AUDIENCE AWARD!. http://www.greenbeltmovement.org/

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
adept
#48 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:21:00 AM

I will join the sceptics on this one and say that I am unmoved. Of course this is far much better than what Kibz has done on the issue so far.

I only have some level of confidence in one minister to genuinely save the Mau - John Michuki. Even then,it is an iota and fast fading.

What RAO said is really nothing. Anyone in authority making such a 'bold' declaration this late in the day is really a zero trying hard to be a hero. What has he been waiting for?

RAO only made this declaration when he realised that public opinion on the ground was moving against the mau squatters. Real principle and boldness required this statement to be made in Jan 2007 at the latest.

So no box of chocolates from me.

And spare me the usual tribal,cultish or emotional responses that we are so used to when 'our' man is mentioned in bad light.
Fundaah
#49 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:24:00 AM

@adept....and that is what an adept politician does..... reading the public mood....if you cant do so then you fail....

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
adept
#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:30:00 AM

@Fundaah - You are completely right.

That is why I am only impressed by greatness in leadership as opposed to greatness in politics.

We are where we are because of great politics as opposed to exemplary leadership.
#51 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:15:00 AM

surely,define bold? how we Kenyans forget...this Mau issue is not new. When the govt last tried to remove these 'squatters' who was at the forefront opposing this and pledging not to allow this if he became President,I mean Ruto was a best buddy then..,what changed?

The real hero here is Michuki not RAO or Kibaki.
#52 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 8:53:00 AM

@Adept and ecstacy. Stop behaving like juveniles

Please tell us what Michuki has done to deserve the Hero tag.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
Spendthrift
#53 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:00:00 AM

the veteran fetishists are coming out of their caves.

Nyani hawaoni mikundu yao na akiona mkundu wowote,sharti iwe ameona mkundu wa nyani aliye mbele yake.

Everyday!
#54 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:05:00 AM

Obi,kwani you forgot the rules here man,there are people who can never get the accolades,the actions must first from certain people for them to get a thumbs up........the RV Mpigs would be complaining about Michuki if he really was the one spearheading this thing.....why are they all up in arms against the PM......they know the driver is the Mau eviction case!!!!

Trust most of these SK fellows not to appreciate any noble action/move by the PM......I long understood that!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#55 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:13:00 AM

Ooh C'mon @ spendthrift.

Not you too,you are trying to dismiss my opinion through the same old tactic of Railamania. Sorry,won't work.

Back to the issue,I don't care who saves the Mau as long as its saved.

But we all know who stuck his neck out for Mau and we can also safely say we don't know what 'the mighty michuki' has been upto since he became environment minister.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
Waria
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:24:00 AM

@obi wan

FYI minister of Forestry is Dr Noah Wekesa and not Dr Newton Kulundu or John Michuki

Me first,U next
Prof.J.T.Ouma
#57 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:30:00 AM

I thought stealing elections was the height of 'mastery', but surely,stealing credit from someone who is putting so much at stake personally,is shameless!

ODM
Spendthrift
#58 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:33:00 AM

@ Obi,

They say if you throw a hot rock in a large crowd,the only way you will know who has been hit and burnt is from the scream or cry they will let out.

Read McReggae's viewpoint herebelow (I agree with him) and you will realise that you form the counter.

If I go further,I will tell you I voted Raila in 2007 and have like his standpoint on some issues...most. But I don't suffer from 'railamania-in your own words',which for your information is waning away even in Nyanza. I support him full stretch on the Mau issue but even in my support,I am focusing on the result. If I choose to triangulate him on this Mau issue since 2005,he will fail the ultimate test of consistency. But the stand he is taken is good for the country and I hope it will be his final position unless new scientific information is provided to him and us.

I don't know if I have communicated to you but all I want to say is that we should stop idolising people..at the worst politicians so that the only response either reeks of *****mania or *****phobia. Appreciate the plural of fetishist.

Everyday!
Fundaah
#59 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:35:00 AM

Hope it wont turn nasty .....I'm watching....will tell my big bro..stockskenya team.... to do the necessary(delete) .....but not for now

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Spendthrift
#60 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 9:41:00 AM

@ Fundah

Give us a fundamental analysis bwana.

Tena usiogope,nothing nasty will come out..........we are just interfacing. I know Obi very well and have an adequate rationalisation for his sentiments. But I don't have to agree full depth and he knows this. He can even flip this and he will realise he doesn't have to agree with me.

Everyday!