wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

What happened to this forum??
Seles83
#1 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 6:43:00 AM

I miss those days when guys would give their conclusive analysis,not hunches....when SK was discussion was of well versed investment gurus.....kwani what happened...??? on my part,i have been looking for high return offshore TBILLS and FIXED deposits investments proposals... some place to hide monies until the heat is off....

Failure inspires winners...winners are made not born
More monies, more problems...
#2 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 7:45:00 AM

remember its here that i made my 1st..its now almost a year down and i have misused all of it..as someone said..if you have been there,its much easier to get back..so the gurus..why not jam start!

giaku nikiria kii nda,icingi ni cia muingi!!!!
Seles83
#3 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 8:04:00 AM

You are also in the right path...sometimes we have to loose so that we can hold on...

#4 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 12:41:00 PM

@seles83.........you went away,that's what happened. sasa naona umelundi,karibu sana.

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
mtaalam
#5 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 1:12:00 PM

@seles
I know you're spreading your risks but isn't offshore at this time less predictable and riskier that the nse? Pse share on offshore,quite curious. Thx.

The best time to plant a tree is twenty years ago. The second best time is now.
#6 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 1:49:00 PM

I have been investing with friends for quite a while. Whenever the market is looking down,people run away. When things are vibrant in the market,they are back. I guess we are seeing the same here in this forum.

The other thing is no one can tell you with a certainity the direction of any one counter in the market. It is not business as usual.

Fundamentals + Sentiments = Position
sheep
#7 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 1:59:00 PM

@Seles....is there anything like conclusive analysis?I remember guys like eddiemundu,stocksmaster,jammo et al,posting impressive analysis here...nothing came true...we lost a lot of money.The 'gurus' are afraid to say anything coz it comes back to haunt them.Nobody knows nothing! we collectively make the market as foolish as it seems...only those who abhor emotional extremes make it.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#8 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 3:42:00 PM

sheep.. who owns the company 'we' ?

giaku nikiria kii nda,icingi ni cia muingi!!!!
sheep
#9 Posted : Monday, June 15, 2009 6:12:00 PM

@mlefu...'we' means us investors...you're probably reading too much...
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Seles83
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 9:23:00 AM

There is no formular in telling the future as matter of fact i dont know the last word i am going to end my post with...

By conclusive analysis i meant for an example....If posts a detailed analysis of company performance in a simple way and related well to the past...chances are high we can tell how the next quarter performance will be ....

Stocksmaster is known for his/her conclusive analysis...and Jammo is known for his savy trading ways...

eli
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2009 11:14:00 AM

I know what happened. Do you want to hear.............go to page 10.

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2009 1:05:00 PM

I have been in the house,off work (after surgery) for the last week and I hardly check out SK,don't know if the forum is slow ama I enjoy it more when I am using the employers time.

SK does seem to be wasting away,more so the novice questions that many start threads to ask about instead of going to the archives to pull out detailed discusions and explanations.

There seems to be no new stuff to talk about,OR MAYBE,the market is on the crest of an upswing and everyone is watching,waiting and anticipating.

I've noticed the youth in particular coming in to a workplace with a completely outsized notion of their own value and importance... just a thinly-veiled arrogance. May be the credit crunch induced recession is whats needed to remind us all about the value of hard work.... By Anonymous
Seles83
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2009 6:08:00 PM

with latest up surge in the market gurus are bound a rebound.....i am hoping that is where the real fun begins for me...

Seles83
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2009 6:18:00 PM

With downside most savy and gurus went hiding ....just eskimos....now that sunshine is about to come out,i hope that is when the fun begins...

stocksmaster
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 5:56:00 AM

@ sheep: I would like to refer you to the economic principle of pareto optimality.....

Happy hunting

Stocksmaster-For well researched market analysis
sheep
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 6:50:00 AM

stocksmaster you are back! welcome

now,the pareto I know of is pyrethrum in swahili.

lemme google

#17 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 7:32:00 AM

@sheep - google and share
@stocksmaster - kudos on the contribution

I submit that your most recent contribution was pareto effecient. Not only did it teach me something new,make all of us benefit,but it also defended your reputation.

Maybe that's the answer as far as this forum is concerned: positive contribution to the members that doesn't make anyone of us worse off.
Seles83
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 2:42:00 PM

NSE up by 114 pts ....fresh monies must be coming in....

g3n3ral
#19 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2009 8:57:00 AM

#20 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2009 4:43:00 PM

The downturn contributed to loss of focus,hopefully that will change. But the conversion of the forum to a car dealership has been most dissappointing. I thought SK had started a ticker tape where such adverts could be placed. In order to regain some semblance of dignity,remove sales adverts from the forum and place them where they were originally intended.