wazua Tue, Apr 21, 2026

Useless News, Now Kibaki disregards Marende's ruling
Liv
#11 Posted : Sunday, February 20, 2011 11:24:02 PM

Marende did not allow parliament to decide if Kibaki's nominations were constitutional or not. In fact he decided that the reports of the 2 committees were not going to be part of parliament records. Apparently he decided to change his mind about the responsibilities he had given them.

That is why Kibaki felt that Marende's opinion was uncalled for as he was not supposed to interpret the constitution but to get the decision of the parliament.
si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo
#12 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 8:18:29 AM

Liv wrote:
Marende did not allow parliament to decide if Kibaki's nominations were constitutional or not. In fact he decided that the reports of the 2 committees were not going to be part of parliament records. Apparently he decided to change his mind about the responsibilities he had given them.

That is why Kibaki felt that Marende's opinion was uncalled for as he was not supposed to interpret the constitution but to get the decision of the parliament.

I wonder why people have so fickle memories. do you remember the previous ruling where he noted that that matter would not only be decided by the vote of the house?
#13 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 9:11:54 AM

mukiha wrote:
Full speech:

Before we can conclude the nominations that we have embarked upon, the government will await the verdict of the Constitutional Court on the nominations. In the meantime, we shall proceed with other aspects of implementing the Constitution.

This is one of the judge presiding the constitutional court

http://www.standardmedia...00010784&cid=4&
Do you expect her to be objective on her ruling if a small man like Simon Mbugua could make her chicken out?

Her best option would be to :
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Take 300 metres, make the ruling and retire. If I were one of the three judges I would seriously consider the offer.

Karema Hiti
#14 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 11:20:44 AM

Fellow Kenyans, as we comment about our President's press briefing, let restrain ourselves from showing disrespect. This is the man who steered the country through the development process of the new Constitution and I have not doubt in my mind that he will be last person to contradict or betray it. What we are witnessing are normal teething problems that go with a new venture or project. Rest assured, we shall get out of the woods soon and fully enjoy the flavour of our new Constitution.
#15 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:08:17 PM

AG Wako stands firm in court saying Kibaki's judicial nominations were unconstitutional since JSC was not consulted &no gender balance
#16 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:10:30 PM

Constitutional Court adjourns nominations case to 2nd March as ODM, others are enjoined.
#17 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 12:23:59 PM

Constitutional Court adjourns nominations case to 2nd March as ODM, others are enjoined.

Good to hear this;at least Kenyans judicial system is growing some teeth.
Kudos.Amos Wetu, shikilieni hapo napo.
Applause Applause

#18 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 1:10:35 PM

[quote=Impunity

Applause Applause
[/quote]

@Impunity,

Amos ni wenu na nani??

The fellow should go kabisa.

To me he has been the cradle of impunity..... Sasa he has something to say?.....ABK!!!

Shame on you Liar Liar Liar
#19 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 1:31:08 PM

MK might have been wrong in making the nominations without consulting the JSC but last night i was a bit shocked to see ODM MPs (Tononoka) condemning Kibaki for "ignoring constitutional experts". The two principals ONLY disagreed on the nominees otherwise they were both ok with everything else.
si_cheki_ovyo_ovyo
#20 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 1:48:09 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
[quote=Impunity

Applause Applause

@Impunity,

Amos ni wenu na nani??

The fellow should go kabisa.

To me he has been the cradle of impunity..... Sasa he has something to say?.....ABK!!!

Shame on you Liar Liar Liar [/quote]

Amos Wako has nothing else to loose. But good to see him getting some spine, albeit too late.