wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

resignation from my job
#1 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:30:00 PM

Hallo SK.

I work for GoK in a certain Ministry. They declined my Study Leave citing that I had to have worked for the Gok for more that 4 years post-University to qualify for study leave. I need to resign with immediate effect. But I heard there is a penalty for abrupt resignations,and if I leave for study without approval,they will initiate disciplinary action (absent from the work station etc). I gave the Ministry an option of Unpaid Leave and Bonding for an extra 2 more years which they declined too. They said I was educated through undergraduate university by the people of Kenya and that I should postpone my training for 2 years. I have worked for Gok for 2 years now. I leave for postgraduate study next week for 1 year (Full Scholarship,Expenses paid,Allowances paid,VISA and ticket already sorted out). I fully intend to return to Kenya and to my work after the training. I don't mind my job; the pay is not good,but I enjoy my work and I get time to work on other businesses when off-work. I recently got promoted and they are adjusting salaries upwards (more than 20+K) for employees in my job group. How do I manouver this predicament without stepping on anybody's toes?

Sleep is the cousin of death.
Iganamagana
#2 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:40:00 PM

You can always look for opportunities in the private sector after your studies. Are these the rules or is someone being difficult? The fact that you were educated using public funds (who wasnt?) does not mean you get tied to the Civil Service. No curse will befall you if you quit the Civil Service. Just weigh your options.

IGANA.
#3 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:54:00 PM

...why dont you do what every other civil servant is doind... Give the boss two month's salary and he will give you a paid study leave. Hii ni nchi ya watu wadogo...
Kamaa
#4 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:55:00 PM

so many people have left civil service and they are HELB educated....

i dont see why you should be an exception...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
adept
#5 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:57:00 PM

I know gava is rife with bribery when it comes to study leave. Have a pal that had to pay someone for the thing to get through. Of course you do not have to do that. I agree with @Igana i.e do not limit your future to your current employer. You have one full year to study and but also build contacts in the local private sector even when you are overseas. Who knows,you could even establish your own business depending on what it is you will be studying. All the best.
#6 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 2:00:00 PM

It is always good to leave on a clean record but when the employer makes it hard for you,sometimes you got to put your foot down and say you wont loose that chance - take it or leave it! but then again,depends on what your priorities. if i was in your shoes,with such an offer to further my education,i would take a smooth walk they do whatever they want. what much can they do except to terminate your employment on (what do they call that absence from duty without permission again)? you dont have to work for the same organisation after you come back. thats an opportunity and a half you got there!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

sheep
#7 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 3:24:00 PM

A bird in the hand is worth more than two in the bush.You can always try to postpone your scholarship.Dont be in such a hurry especially if you enjoy your job and remember retiring is 60yrs,plus in the civil service there is no job stress.I tell you in private companies they try to suck the living juice out of you even if the pay is better.Plus you can come back from abroad and u tarmac mpaka ushangae,unless you are sure your career is super competitive dont try anything based on probabilities and fantasies.Just weigh your options and take the safe option,this is real life dont try macho stuff.My two cents
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Wakanyugi
#8 Posted : Saturday, September 26, 2009 9:56:00 AM

@kondoo,

You are a real sheep. Yaani you still believe in that job security in the civil service crap? there is no such thing. And why would a young fellow with a whole life lying ahead want to slave for anyone till 60?

My advice: take the study opportunity at hand and go. Aim higher than than your current job and you will surprise yourself. The civil service will be still be here when you come back,in case you are still inclined to rejoin after the shabby they have treated you.

I can tell you I quit a so called safe job with GOK many years back and I have never regreted my decision.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
sheep
#9 Posted : Saturday, September 26, 2009 2:02:00 PM

Dude,I respect your opinion even though you disrespect mine...let the kiddo decide,after all he wanted different opinions...not just to be cheered on.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
sweetie
#10 Posted : Saturday, September 26, 2009 3:07:00 PM

@jguru,are you a Medic working in the Ministry of Medical Services? I've also been in a not too dissimilar situation. I would advise you to go for the scholarship and complete your postgraduate studies. I think the reason they deny people study leave is because they know you are most likely to resign after you come back from your studies. Should they continue to decline,give one month's notice and resign from your current job. Be sure to get a clearance letter once the one month is over.
With the official clearance,it will be very easy to reapply for the job after your studies ( assuming that you'll want to continue with the Ministry). Hope nimekusaidia
#11 Posted : Saturday, September 26, 2009 7:58:00 PM

@Sweetie: You are right! Ministry of Medical Services,MO at a very busy goverment hospital. The DMS flatly told me to take a hike. Thought of going to the PS,but of course he'll send me back to Dr.Francis Kimani.

@Magigi: My boss is the DMS. He is a geriatric,on contract like Muthaura. On the door to his 6th Floor office at Afya House is a picture with the words 'God is my Shield and Saviour' on it. I would never ever attempt to try an under the table deal with him.

@Sheep: I have the ticket,VISA and have already started packing my bags. I vacated my house (got my deposit back,yes I did!),sorted out my bank transactions,said goodbyes to friends and mentally prepared myself to leave. I don't think postponing is a wise idea. The sponsors will get disappointed and they might never offer the chance to me again. I have friends who work in the private sector and they work like crazy. They have no free time though their pay is far far better. They often tell me not to leave Gava if I love my freedom. I don't think I would tarmac after I come back.

@Wakanyungi: Be kind to Sheep. His/her opinion matters too. And he/she is right,some sectors of the government have job security. Ever heard of a doctor being retrenched? After I am back,I am NOT working for the government again!

Have heard familiar stories: A fellow colleague got a job at KNH,but the Ministry of MS declined to transfer her to KNH since it is a parastatal and Gava is under-staffed. She lost out on the job after she was accepted following a gruelling interview process. Another colleague got a scholarship to do a Masters in Surgery for 4 years. The DMS declined since he had worked 3 years and he needed to have worked for 4 years. He postponed his study,the sponsoring University has NEVER invited him back,even after he has requested severally. He gave up and transfered to Ministry of Sanitation and PH.

I'm halfway through on my resignation letter. One month notice,a couple of paragraphs on the exact reasons I decided to quit and forwarded to the PS,through the DMS,the PDMS and the Med Sup. Sincerely,it's not worth it taking crap from these Gava hard-heads. I got the clearance form and have started getting signed off from the various departments.

The government has lost very many good and qualified employees because it cannot create ways of making them content at their jobs,pays them little and treats them shabbily.

Thanks for the advice. I'm now convinced on the path that I should take.

Sleep is the cousin of death.
jerry
#12 Posted : Sunday, September 27, 2009 6:42:00 AM

Go,go,go... You already know u shouldn't sleep and die in GoK. You can even go international and work with Obama in US! What limits how much u can achieve is ur imagination.

Crocodile tears: If you can't assist me when I'm alive en you attend my funeral.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#13 Posted : Sunday, September 27, 2009 9:01:00 AM

@Jguru:

It is good to know that there are afew good men left in the civil service...