wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

In the beginning...
Hi-Lo
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 9:24:00 AM

Hubble yesterday got some new binoculars...that can see some 500m years into the past short of the BIG BANG. Its previous eyesight could see ancient stars and die in the 800m year range...now two more telescopes and voila!!...we see the beginning of the Universe from Hubble...this is progress. But at what point does distance start getting measured in years rather than km?

Playing the stock market without insider info...is like buying a cow in the moonlight.
Fundaah
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 9:49:00 AM

1000 years in the eyes of God =1 day ....I came to know that the bible/Quoran is right in the counting of years... Adam was created about 6035 years ago.That is absolutely true. Scientists use carbon dating to determine age.Carbon dating uses layers of radioactive deposits(carbonaceous materials).

During Noah worldwide floods,there were floods all over such that many layers of deposits were created within a very short veriod of time 40days.These confuse scientists to think that It took million of years to form .Hence the bible/Quoran remains correct .....and man did not evolve from apes.

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
daimyo
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:13:00 AM

ooh no,fuda na Hi-Lo,are you sure you want to go into this.......??
Fundaah
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:19:00 AM

Daimyo what do you mean?... what's your stand?

http://www.answersingene...orldwide-flood-evidence

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me? Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
daimyo
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:28:00 AM

i mean this debate usually goes on n on n on.....it has never stopped to generate controversy
The Real Shaft
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:40:00 AM

the answer my friends is in the philosophy of measurement.......

the distance between two spots on the surface of the earth.....

is measurable......

in the SI unit..... kilometre.... mile..... yard..... etc......

the distance between two planets......

or between any planet and the sun in the solar system...

can be termed as kilometres.......

as this distance can be calculated by measuring the distance traveled by light ......

remember...

speed = distance
time............

if you know the speed of light ...... and you measure the time... then you get distance...

now...

when it comes to inter planetary systems.....

the most one can measure is the time the light has taken to travel...

but due to a number of factors..... some known .. others not......

the speed of light is not necessarily constant...

thus we talk about light years...

the number of years it takes for light to travel from a 'star' to us.....

or so is my conjecture...

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Fundaah
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:45:00 AM

Trs.....that's insightful

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me?

Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
The Real Shaft
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:54:00 AM

but i did not say.....

yawa.....

#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:59:00 AM

@ Hi-Lo,

This is how:

Starting from our Solar System,the distances from the sun to planet:

Mercury is 58,000,000km
Venus is 108,000,000km
Earth is 150,000,000km
Mars is 228,000,000km
Jupiter is 778,000,000km
Saturn is 1,430,000,000,000km
Uranus is 2,870,000,000,000km
Neptune is 4,500,000,000,000km
Pluto is 5,900,000,000,000km

Although some idiotic scientist in 2006 declared that Pluto is not a planet...i had a difficult time convincing my nephew that pluto is not a planet,yet he was refering to a book..

the Sun is the closest star from any of the planets in the solar system.

the closest star (or system) to our solar system is called the Alpha Centrauri which is located at 41,200,000,000,000km or 41,200billion km from Earth

Our Solar System where the planet earth is is in a cloud of gas and particles called the Milky Way Galaxy containing about 200 billion stars. This cloud is in form of a disk with a diameter equal to 946,100,000,000,000,000km or 946,100,000 billion km. the thickness of the cloud is 9,461,000,000,000,000km or 9,461,000 billion km.

As you can see the figures have now started to get out of hand due to the immensity of the separation!!

Once this happens another unit called the Light Year is used. This is the distance covered by travelling light in one year and it is equivalent to 300,000x3600x24x365km. This is equal to 9,461,000,000,000km = 1light year

As you can see the diameter of the Milky Way galaxy is 100,000light years and its thickness is 1000light years.

The closest galaxy the Adromeda is located at 23,652,000,000,000,000,000km which is equivalent to 2,500,000light years from the Milky Way galaxy.

If you were to consider a star being born in say 10 galaxies away from the Milky Way then we are talking of a distance in excess of 260,172,000,000,000,000,000km or 27,500,000light years. If you see the light of this star in your telescope,then you are looking at the historic birth of that star 27,500,000 years ago!!!!

Remember the universe has trillions upon trillions of galaxies. At some point within a couple of hundreds of galaxies the distances are so immense that soon the light year unit gets out of hand. i dont know which unit the scientist now use.

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
daimyo
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:59:00 AM

TRS,

Ur conjecture is just about right...except that the speed of light is always constant...thats the difference between Newtonian and Quantum mechanics (i.e Einstein's Theories)....Newtons Laws regarding planets and other macro bodies are always right as long as the speed is much much lower than the speed of light...as you approach the speed of light the laws braek down in favour of quantum thoery...
The Real Shaft
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 12:05:00 PM

kweli...

but with light traveling through different media....

the speed would vary ..............

won't it....???

#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 1:27:00 PM

These numbers are very confusing.......but let me try what i have so far gathered from the posts below

Now we all know that our space science is not older than 200 years (not light years).......

@gizzard wrote

'The closest galaxy the Adromeda is located at 23,652,000,000,000,000,000km which is equivalent to 2,500,000light years from the Milky Way galaxy.'

1 light year is the distance that light travels in one year.......correct me if am wrong??

so 2,500,000light years is the distance light travelles in 2,500,000years..............again correct me if am wrong??

How does one determine that a particular lay of light has been travelling for those 2,500,000 years and it source was imelda???

assuming that we sent a lay of light toward to some distance object like this imelda star and is reflected back,it means that the 'echo' will get back to us after 2,500,000 x 2 = 5,000,000 years.........again correct me if am wrong??

The first known practically functioning telescopes were invented in the Netherlands at the beginning of the 17th century in the year 1611 AD(see wiki).

Assuming that this very first telescope was capable of doing what today's telescopes like hubby can,and it sent some lays of light to explore the universe,those lays by now should only have travelled for 2009-1611 = 398 light years!!!

If an 'echo' of such a lay is received back today then the source can only be 398 / 2 = 149 light years!!!

Sasa hii 2,500,000 light years ya imelda imepimwa lini na kivipi??

hii quantum science mimi naona ni kama fiction!!!

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
daimyo
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 1:44:00 PM

@ TRS,

thats right...due to the limited nature of our technological advances here on earth,nobody can really say anything authoritatively about stuff out there in space....not NASA,not Russians,not Japanese,not anyone. So the theories that have worked so well on earth and objects very near (like the moon)can only approximate when it comes to bodies very far away in the galaxies....thats why the figures are fabulous and things sound like fiction....you will no doubt have heard of the massive black hole suspected to be at the very center of our galaxy,the Milky Way!.....who believes there are black holes out there..?
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 3:23:00 PM

Amazing stuff this space science thing.

@Hi-lo,I have never thought about the idea of technology developing enough speed to stop time,outside the sci-fi movies.

Based on the whole gravity pull theory,there is obviously a black hole at the centre of every galaxy to hold the stars in place.

Do you think humans will be able to develop technology to escape before they are sucked into the black holes,as its bound to happen. May be that will be the wrath of God.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 3:44:00 PM

@ Kingfisher,

i am not an astronomer and i only quoted the much that is already known...the scientists have been using different methods of determining the interplanetary and intergalactic distances of the closer and far away ones....

Some of the methods that they use,you will find them here: http://www.astronomynotes.com/galaxy/chindex.htm: http://www.astronomynotes.com/galaxy/s7.htm: http://www.spacetoday.or...ons/HubbleConstant.html

More often than not the ditances that they have calculated using the same methods for small distances (upto 300million kilometres) are within the acceptable limits of computation errors....A good example is the Path Finder craft that was sent to Mars (230million kilometres from earth). This distance was used to calculate the fuel of the space craft required,the speed limits,the jouney time etc. once the PF landed and sent a signal back to earth it took about13 minutes for the signal to be received on earth. This confirms the accuracy of their computation methods.

@ shaft,

You are right that in different mediums the speed of light may change,but the changes are insignificant when we consider the space mainly because most of the space is considered a vacuum. So fall all practical and experimental purposes the speed of light is considered constant and therefore at a constant propagation frequency only the wavelength changes....

mv ufanisi
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 3:48:00 PM

this is quite special!!!

So anyway does that mean that we can see the past - i.e. even stuff that happened on earth???? if we developed the knowledge?

That should put to rest a lot of human mysteries - the ancient Egyptians etc.

The nerds and physicists should educate on this matter
drzhivago
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2009 10:44:00 AM

a curious question on this topic is: if am seeing my past that long ago when i look at the distant stars/galaxies,what would happen if i (hypothetically) had the ability to travel there at this instant? would i see two of me?

Bludrip
daimyo
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2009 11:57:00 AM

the paradox of the dark night sky goes like this.....

if the universe is full of stars that shine bright like the sun,then we on earth can assume that it's like we are in the middle of a dense forest and every direction u turn you are bound to see a tree trunk...thus we on earth should always be showered with light all over from the billions of stars surrounding us,everywhere u turn ur eyes should fall on a star...but at night it becomes dark and the sky has no light except the moon's....how is this?
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2009 11:58:00 AM

@ drzhivago,

which place is 'there'? a point in space or an infinitely far off galaxy?

If you contemplate traveling at speed of light you may never reach there....reason: as you approach the speed of light you disappear. this is consistent with the concept of the 'space shrinkage' as a result of very high speed....at low speeds it is negligible and insignificant...

BTW there is no known matter be it animate or inanimate which has ever travelled at a speed of light....only electrons can achieve 90% of the speed of light when accelerated through an extremely high electric field...

Pierce
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2009 12:11:00 PM

MV Ufanisi......nice name!