wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

I Have Kshs 2 Million to Invest. Please advise.
Interested
#1 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 2:29:55 PM

I have saved Kshs 2 million and would like to invest it in a lucrative business that will give me a good return on investment in the short-term (3 - 6 months) as I save up for long-term investments such as property. I need a business that requires little day-to-day attention or in which I can employ only one assistant to do the day-to-day stuff because I have a very busy job and won’t be able to run and manage every little thing in the business. Any ideas?
#2 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 2:40:37 PM

Interested wrote:
I have saved Kshs 2 million and would like to invest it in a lucrative business that will give me a good return on investment in the short-term (3 - 6 months)

You want to start a short term lucrative business that's run by someone else then sell after 6 months?
That's new and fresh. I would love to have one too.

Gatheuzi
#3 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 3:03:59 PM

In stocks you definitely can't get far in 3-6 months. You may consider unit trusts and get about 8% p.a. less fees.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
azizakhadija
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 11:47:09 AM

Please get in touch could manage your funds in stocks at a small fee. I run an Agency with a reputable Investment Bank and have an office here in town.
My email address is: azizakhadija@yahoo.com
jerry
#5 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 1:39:58 PM

You have been a member since:: 9/29/2006
azizakhadija wrote:
Please get in touch could manage your funds in stocks at a small fee. I run an Agency with a reputable Investment Bank and have an office here in town.

@ If "here in town" means Nairobi City the guy! could be in Kisumu City. I remember meeting someone who wondered how I could do stocks and I don't stay in NBI.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 1:45:30 PM

azizakhadija wrote:

Beware of anyone who seeks to manage your funds with a yahoo address.
bartum
#7 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 1:46:44 PM

jerry wrote:
azizakhadija wrote:

@ If "here in town" means Nairobi City the guy! could be in Kisumu City. I remember meeting someone who wondered how I could do stocks and I don't stay in NBI.

pple see stocks as tangible just like fish
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 2:02:26 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
azizakhadija wrote:

And just joined wazua a few seconds before offering to manage your money!!!

@Interested - Send that email at your own risk. If you must have your funds managed by a third party, do your own research then take yourself to the offices of the firm you choose. Otherwise you will hand over your money to a Nigerian "money manager" - Robbery without violence!
qw25041985
#9 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 2:05:55 PM

@ azizakhadija . is a well know conman. i know you . and azizakhadija is a very suspicious name. Looks like a refugee from iraq.

PLEASE DONOT SEND YOUR EMAIL TO HIM.

let him prove himself publicly that he's real. DAMN THIS conmen are everywhere
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Wa_ithaka
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 2:08:28 PM

Plot or even stocks can be done for maximum gains. We've got dividend season coming up so run with a stock mpaka June/July
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
githundi
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 7:46:33 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
azizakhadija wrote:

@Interested - Send that email at your own risk. If you must have your funds managed by a third party, do your own research then take yourself to the offices of the firm you choose. Otherwise you will hand over your money to a Nigerian "money manager" - Robbery without violence!

Hii ni kali, on another note, 3_6 months is such a short time to invest unless you are speculating of which the risks are as high as the returns. I would advise you to buy a plot and then build later as i got you want to invest later in property. Finally my thoughts on mckinzey consultants; kplc needs them more than kcb as their salaries are astronomicaly high and they need to cut costs and increase efficiency of their workers.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
#12 Posted : Sunday, January 30, 2011 12:00:27 PM

@interested - 2m, no stock trading experience, 3-6 months, passive management - visit old mutual at upperhill apply for the money market fund. You won't make an astronomical return, neither will you lose your money.
#13 Posted : Sunday, January 30, 2011 6:15:48 PM

@interested - 2m, no stock trading experience, 3-6 months, passive management - visit old mutual at upperhill apply for the money market fund. You won't make an astronomical return, neither will you lose your money.

Good idea.

Or you can put 1.5m in the parking - money market fund - read as many posts as you can in wazua [literature review we call it], then do research on the stocks you narrow down on and invest kidogo kidogo with the 500k. After the learning process you can get your 1.5m + interest and invest on a larger scale. But this will take longer than the 6 months you are looking at.
azizakhadija
#14 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 8:43:55 AM

Let me clarify, funds will not given to me but the respective Investment Bank and all cheques will be written in your name. My role will only to advise, monitor the growth of your portfolio. Ofcourse,I shall be periodical statements on any purchase/sale and will even take you to the offices of the Investment Bank.

I understand your apprehension and I have a wananchi email account, will give that information once I am sure am also dealing with a serious investor.

The office in Nairobi City Centre.

githundi wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
azizakhadija wrote:

Hii ni kali, on another note, 3_6 months is such a short time to invest unless you are speculating of which the risks are as high as the returns. I would advise you to buy a plot and then build later as i got you want to invest later in property. Finally my thoughts on mckinzey consultants; kplc needs them more than kcb as their salaries are astronomicaly high and they need to cut costs and increase efficiency of their workers.

qw25041985
#15 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 9:19:33 AM

@ azizakhadija . i mean even after havin all the spotlight,for being a quack u still dnt quite. Where actually are your offices if you have any ??? @ Nairobi City Centre u say . whats that ??? u expect your clients to search the whole of Nairobi City Centre !!!! can u put a proper location.Not that i am interested in your services but just for the sake of the wannabes who might fall into your trap.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Interested
#16 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 1:52:35 PM

Thanks guys for your advice. Since I am a newbie in this, I have further questions: Should I choose to invest Ksh1.5m or the entire Ksh2m in the money market, how much interest should I expect within a year? And whats the best money market to invest in? Also, will I have the option of getting back my money (and any interest earned) say after nine months or are money market investments fixed and non-negotiable?
Gatheuzi
#17 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 5:22:19 PM

@ interested, funds range from Equity fund, Balanced fund and finally money market fund the are listed in order of risk and return.

Equity fund has the highest risk but also offers the highest return. The funds are invested in stocks. For you investment horizon, this won't work for you. In any case why not buy the stocks yourself?

Balanced fund offers medium returns but invests in a mix of stocks and other less riskier asset classes like bonds. For you case this may be appropriate.

Finally we have money market where the assets will consist of just risk free assets like treasury bills and bonds. You will also get the lowest returns. Altetnatively instead of going thro a fund mgr you can open a CDS account at the treasury and purchase the bonds directly.

Shop around for a good fund mgr if you are not sure of the processes.

But I am sure you will not send emails to anonymous characters who claim to be able to turn you fortune around.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
goodiecom
#18 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 8:34:41 PM

Am successful business owner based in Uganda.
Since 2008,am doing mobile phone refurbishing. This is where I buy scrap phones from the UK and USA and work on them to virtually turn them unto ‘’new’’ working handsets.
A handset purchased at $8 usually sales at $37 and above after refurbishing it.
I currently have a proven sales record of over 1000 handsets per week.
With funding, the company is targeting a turnover of more than $1.6m in the first 12months. This project can surely or easily turn $100,000 into $1m just in 16monhts of investment.
any amount well above $25000 is worth investing
Call me on +256772666655or text me your details. for more info about this project.

jasonhill
#19 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 11:47:08 PM

@goodiecom, do you have a website, some pictures that you could post on Flickr, and a presentation of your refurbishment process from beginning to end that you can send to us? I'd like to see some pictures of your refurbishment team and their work area. The reason I ask is that if you indeed have the infrastructure in place to both get the phones, parts, tools, and packaging from the US and UK, and also a team and location to refurbish, test, and repackage the phones, I am interested in a lot more than just phones. I'm thinking about computers, computer parts, and also assembly of computer components.

Please respond with a link to such pictures and information. This is just a start.

Thanks,

Jason Hill
#20 Posted : Tuesday, February 01, 2011 9:11:14 AM

If I had cash at this time I'd buy National Bank yesterday and eabl @170/- (which I think it will touch).
I know Mumias will go sub 7/- and that would be a good time to buy.