wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Bob whiningmore.
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:54:53 AM

I dont get this guy all the time Airtel drops its calling rate he keeps whining on how that strategy is not sustainable.....Yesterday he had the guts to pitch for government on the lost revenue si atafute job KRA and hellp them get the so called lost revenue.....Airtel obviously is not interested in voice revenues anymore so most probably it wants the value added services to be more profitable than voice just like their indian outfit.

Bob seems distracted by the airtel strategy its obvious safaricom cannot sustain the profit they hav been making just like the banking industry sometime back, the CEO must make that difficult decision of letting Go of the Profit record and concentrate on building the company in terms of its quality deliverance of services, if it fails in this area just as he said yesterday some telecommunication companies will have to shut down....lets hope it aint safaricom.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:20:09 PM

After watching Bob on PM live I just felt for the guy....how do you compete with a guy willing to make losses to gain market share.....Information PS Bitange Ndemo supports collymores argument that what Airtel is doing is not good for the country see it here.

Now we are protesting bcoz a company is bringing the cost of living down......
Tommy
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:13:40 PM

Nice observation selah. In the meantime the share price continues to dive
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
WakaWaka
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 8:23:00 PM

Safaricom milked us. Now they must find another cow or they be slaughtered like the dodo.
alikujia
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:03:18 PM

pitching for kra is no business of safcon. However concerns of industry-wide collapse is relevent, but will it come to that? NO. some may fall but with a big market, will be replaced immediately.

However, safco is in a tricky position - how do you fight somebody ready to commit suicide? that is what airtel has said it's ready to do.

Then again, safcon is the only publicly listed company, of the telcos. hence concern of the shareprice is a big drawback in its fight. Otherwise itcould easily opted for no profit for one year, to completely wipe out batti from kenya.
KenyanLyrics
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:41:23 AM

Hapana chesa na Wahindi! They are the masters of third world business!
X13united
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 9:55:13 AM

With absolute honesty,airtel is hittin far much below the belt,not to mension they r just about to scratch the groin. Though am calling at 1 bob,this is not good for other players n our market atlarge(imagine mama mboga givin out free sukumawiki,who in kenya wil ever pay a cent). Our friend Bob is already appealin for mercy from the ref-cck/kra. Anyway as someone mensioned,they milked as mercilessly during their monopoly,its pay back time n as it is said,revenge is a meal better served cold.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:01:35 AM

They used to charge us 8 bob...let him cry, who cares??

Anyways your taxes are being used defend mass murderers so do you really care if KRA meets targets?

I cant wait for 2012...
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:07:46 AM

selah wrote:
After watching Bob on PM live I just felt for the guy....how do you compete with a guy willing to make losses to gain market share.....Information PS Bitange Ndemo supports collymores argument that what Airtel is doing is not good for the country see it here.

Now we are protesting bcoz a company is bringing the cost of living down......

Eh? Ati they want to disband Airtel? Or is it withdraw Kenya from Airtel because they are unhappy with it?

#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:51:09 AM

I do not get this KRA missing its targets crap cos of threee reasons

It is not Bob's business to get KRA its taxes
We do not save in Kenya and so we will spend the money elsewhere and KRA will tax it anyway
It is a load of Bull**&^!

Bob should do HIS job of finding a way out not whinning!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:07:28 AM

I think the reason he keeps on whinning is the possibility of issuing a profit warning in the near future.....the whinning is a tactic to lay the blame on airtel pricing......But if I was him I would count my loses announce a profit warning early, the stock would take a tumble not forgeting the impact it will hav on the NSE index, then take Airtel head on by offering free calls which would be subscribed once a month like the way they sell the internet bundles then concentrate their revenue stream on value added services like ring backtones,skiza,MPesa, venture into information vending like stock updates or even training mobile short courses there are a myriad of opportunities that BOB can exploit....He just need to increase and maintain safaricoms market share.
msotoville
#12 Posted : Monday, January 31, 2011 2:37:08 PM

I just don't get Cry Bobby Collimore.

This is a free market economy. If this dude is thom'd in matters telecom, he should know that there are markets in the West that are so cut throat, jamaas there call for free or a flat monthly fee.

Wacha hata hiyo bob analia lia hapa, some telco's in India do calls at 50cents (Kenya money)....and make a profit!

Ama he thinks since govt owns a huge chunk of Safcom they can rig the market in his favour?

ABK!
So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting,
So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!