wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

5 Pages«<345
Mobile price wars to derail new Constitution????
Agra
#81 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 10:36:28 AM

KulaRala@its true Yu charges Unlimited on net calls for 10 bob for 18 hrs.and Orange 100 bob for 30 days and there is no mention...I WONDER WHY?
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
#82 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 10:59:15 AM

Agra wrote:
KulaRala@its true Yu charges Unlimited on net calls for 10 bob for 18 hrs.and Orange 100 bob for 30 days and there is no mention...I WONDER WHY?

I'll tell you why, its because perhaps airtel has suddenly got enough subscribers to make a difference...they may not be the small 1.5M sub telco anymore.
#83 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 10:45:54 AM

looks like the price wars is taking a new dimension as seen here:

http://www.businessdaily.../-/amprih/-/index.html.

does the other telecomms houses have any moral authority to petition or file complaints over services pricing by one of their own in a free market environment?

i will really be very interested to know how the cck handles this issue as it may have an impact in other services and goods providers.
#84 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 11:09:08 AM

Issues of competition and pricing policy will soon be handled by a revamped monopolies and price commission to effectively deal with issues on the above which my not be as straightforward as various commissions(such as a whole CCK boss saying "the money will be spent elswhere")and some members of the public seem to imagine.
A New Kenya
#85 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2011 11:25:02 AM

How can you complain about a 1 bob per minute tariff when you are charging 3 bob per full day?

Jinga kabisa!
gatoho
#86 Posted : Saturday, January 29, 2011 9:26:28 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
You guys are making a lot of fuss because of Airtel.At sh 1.00 within airtel network is still expensive as per world standards.In the US calls within the same network are free! So,you Safaricom(SufferinCon) shareholders give us a break.I love Airtell.God bless them!

Calls in the US are NOT free. the companies just make you pay in advance and you end up paying for what you don't use. prepaid is over 30 bob per min
Foresight..
#87 Posted : Wednesday, February 02, 2011 10:11:36 PM

CCK State of the Mobile Industry

So I see CCK has done the necessary and released its sector statistics report Q1 2010/2011. covering up to 30-Sep-2010. Now now now, what does it say about Safaricom, Airtel, Orange, YU?

-Safaricom with 75.9% share of subscribers
-Airtel grew by 4%
-Orange is position 4 for mobile

-22m mobile subscribers in Kenya
-Users call for 100 mins (1.5hrs) a month
-Users send 11 SMS a month
-55% mobile penetration in Kenya

-8.7% of Kenya has access to Internet
-TEAMS largest provider of international bandwidth
-Safaricom with 2.98m data subscribers coming to 92% market share
-Celtel with 149,053, Access Kenya with 7,512

hisah
#88 Posted : Friday, February 04, 2011 12:35:16 AM

http://www.bernama.com/b...newsworld.php?id=561229

Now if Airtel marketing team can convincingly for once make this appealing to Kenyans with 'peculiar Mpesa-ring habits', they can have a good shot at the MPESA stranglehold and unlock the dominance. Will their marketing goof as usual... Only time will tell.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!