wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

NSE targeting mid-cap companies for listing
dkuyoh
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:37:31 AM

erifloss wrote:
I tend to think that they should be very careful while doing this. Most SME's out there are highly leveraged and have lots of cash flow problems due to this. This coupled with the owner being the only 'business development manager' it puts the viability of the company after the owner leaving at a high risk.
I think the parameters to be used have to extend out of the capital scope and they should check other issues too. You'll realize that some of these companies that are in the top 100 SME's are there by the virtue of mostly accessing government tenders this attaches a high political risk to most of them, i know of some companies that the owner still runs the company's bank account like his own personal account, have to sets of financial statements (for accessing loans and the real one)and his/her own personal and household items are shown as belonging to the company.
Guys who'll invest in this segment will have to be extremely careful though with a high risk appetite.

In America they have NASDAQ which serves the same purpose.(trading of companies that dont qualify to go into NYSE). I think the NSE due diligence procedures wont fail to notice some of the discrepancies that you have noted. true the risk appetite is higher but so will the returns the market can reflect the intrinsic value of the companies
KenyanLyrics
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:31:44 AM

wow, this is huge in terms of exit strategy for investors. Would like to see how tech companies like Seven Seas Technologies, Cellulant and Wananchi Group would do if listed
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:36:53 AM

Microsoft & Intel started off on NASDAQ... & stayed...
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 7:13:05 PM

Will Chandaria ever list his group? Never knew this guy had so many awards www.whartoncapetown08.com/bio-chandaria.html More on Chandaria: Made in Kenya www.generationkenya.co.k...nu-chandaria-excellence-–-made-in-kenya/ www.fedha.blogspot.com/2...aria-businessman_09.html
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 7:18:07 PM

“Progress in the financial
world is based on savings,”
Dr Chandaria said. “The business of speculation is very addictive. If you go to
the casino once you always want to go back, ” said the renowned businessman. www.businessdailyafrica....66/-/rwxa0y/-/index.html
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 7:24:37 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Will Chandaria ever list his group? Never knew this guy had so many awards www.whartoncapetown08.com/bio-chandaria.html More on Chandaria: Made in Kenya www.generationkenya.co.k...nu-chandaria-excellence-–-made-in-kenya/ www.fedha.blogspot.com/2...aria-businessman_09.html
Might not be advantageous [plus maybe list a few firms not the entire conglomerate] since they are able to raise cash as & when needed... I managed to get my hands on a prospectus [Mabati Rolling Mills] when they listed/raised a Bond 2-3 years ago on the NSE...

IFC, etc were giving them huge loans! So they have credibility with large local + foreign banks...
dkuyoh
#17 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 2:47:41 PM

Chandaria's conglomerate is a family business so i highly doubt he'll be interested in putting it up to public scrutiny. we may have another AK debacle where the family run everything from sweeping the corridor to peddling their IT solutions
#18 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 3:26:36 PM

dkuyoh wrote:
Chandaria's conglomerate is a family business so i highly doubt he'll be interested in putting it up to public scrutiny. we may have another AK debacle where the family run everything from sweeping the corridor to peddling their IT solutions
Actually, no debacle coz seems they don't want to go public...
#19 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 3:46:08 PM

dkuyoh wrote:
Actually, no debacle coz seems they don't want to go public...
#20 Posted : Friday, January 28, 2011 3:55:56 PM

dkuyoh wrote:

Unfortunately, its not whether he wants to list or not that will decide. Like many other Asian business, Manu is the son who mordernised his father's Duka and turned it into the Industrial giant that it is. However his children would rather live in London/Canada/Australia, so as soon as Manu moves on, the children will cash in. Same story with CFC