wazua Wed, Mar 25, 2026

5 Pages«<2345>
KQ plane loses wheel in air ! WTF
RichVee
#31 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:44:11 PM

problems have to be pointed out however small. A stitch in time saves nine, the time to manage the situation is now, not when we begin to get ten hours delays. People do travel and many people like to travel safe and on time, but we all don't keep track of how many flights we've done per route lol.
Tired of mediocrity. Am going to the very top!
bendi3
#32 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 1:47:13 PM

Tommy wrote:
this is negligence of the highest order.

I agree totally.We may say that we are harsh agaist KQ but this is the result of what i would call 'reverse brand loyalty'......this is what happens when a company spends millions in building its image but does not take actual step into maintaning such image.

There was infact one instance where,after having said my prayers and settled down waiting for the heavy headed feeling that comes with taking off,we 'braked' suddenly.The captain was later to explain that one of the doors was not locked.Thank God we were not far off the run way.I wonder..........,we would have lost more than a wheel.

Having said that,I believe KQ is doing better than most African airlines and even some European and asian airlines given the turbulent conditions in which it operates,but as it endeavours to expand its market and become a true pride of Africa,let it not lose sight of the small things that matter.
And losing any part of the aircraft in air,is just pure negligence.I believe some checks are done to ensure every thing is in order before takeoff and in KQ i feel these are done hurriedly,to reduce turn around time putting the souls on board at risk.

The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
theslim
#33 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:19:31 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-10785301
the early worm is eaten by the early bird
#34 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:24:01 PM

@bendi wacha porojo, "hurriedly" kwani unakuwanga hapo?
#35 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 3:27:19 PM

May be looking at the brighter side of it, they have competent pilots who can land the plane safely with some wheels missing.... that is a plus by the way....

How insurable is an incidence where ones property is destroyed by a plane wheel falling on it? May be the insurance have a new innovative product right there...
bendi3
#36 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 4:03:17 PM

@bendi wacha porojo, "hurriedly" kwani unakuwanga hapo?

No am usually not.But with 53 destinations to fly to,and with some as much as 10 frequencies with only 30 aircrafts(assuming at any particular day all are servicable),simple logic demands that there will be shorter turn arounds.

This means a hurried check,so that you do not keep passengers at next destination waiting,or delay the landing of next aircraft given the limited parking bays in most of the African airports that the pride flys to.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
#37 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 4:18:09 PM

Not to be too light, I do not think losing One wheel is such a big thing really for such a big aircraft. It is not a car that has only four. If you watch Aircrash investigations, you will realise KQ are good. The delays, as mentioned earlier, are not bad compared to the west.I always choose to fly KQ anyday if I have a choice. These guys have an excellent track record on safety and they have the best pilots in the region and they are worldclass by any standards. You will realise this when they land at JKIA. Normally it is very smooth. Just try and land here on a BA or Ethiopian .... The plane almost collides with the runway.

As an investment, I do not think that airlines is stable the world over. What with the out of control fuel prices,too many aicraft being built, too many routes etc. The next frontier is now Maglav locomotion. Ask China.
Cde Monomotapa
#38 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 6:40:21 PM

Hey pple zim is a wndrful place.was there in Dec. Flex KQ W/O delay both ways. if u r investors worth ur salt u should look at the ZSE. 75 listed companies but grossly undrvalued in comparison to major upside potential.current market cap. USD4.5B, stocks listd in USD. Check out www.zse.com, www.imara.co, www.africansuninvestor.com, www.meiklesinvestor.com. The corporates thre have bettr investor relations than the Nse with dedicatd investor websites. Check em out! Daily turnover circa USD 1.5M n coming up.
yekeyeke
#39 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 7:06:51 PM

Its not clear to me. What came off? The rubber or the metail ream with bolts or the rubber and the rim together like you would get from say a lorry on one of our roads?

If its the entire mguu, then this is very worring? How did the bolts come off when in mid air.??????
#40 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 9:31:55 PM

One fast plane dropped one of its main landing gear (entire main oleostrut + wheel assembly) during takeoff! Hapa hapa kenya n landed on two.....Things happen, bt very rarely. I wouldnt use the word negligence, rather complacency. In the airline industry, negligence equates SABOTAGE. I doubt the kq mishap was intentional, n "quick turnround" is generally fallacious. The tech guys have to certify its serviceability (written, n their jobs r on the line here) b4 pilot signs acceptance.....
5 Pages«<2345>