wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Data - Safaricom vs Access vs Orange vs Airtel vs YU
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 11:15:38 AM

Safaricom has announced plans to enter the home internet market, in partnership with Jamii Telecom. They are planning to connect 100,000 homes to the inland fibre optic cable in order to tap into the largely underpenetrated home internet market. The two intend to invest KES 1.2bn in the connection of households to the inland and undersea fibre optic cable, a move that will be the first in the market as other internet players have tendered to connect to households using landline copper cable, modems and Wi-Max frequencies.

The move will widen Safaricom internet services such as larger capacity, video conferencing and television viewing, services that the mobile telephony firm cannot offer using its current modem platform. Safaricom also has WiMax frequencies—wireless internet—to connect homes, but the limited frequencies has slowed wide scale deployment of wireless data networks.

This will place Safaricom in a head to head battle with Access Kenya for control of the homes internet market that has attracted other internet firms such as Wananchi Online, Telkom Kenya and Swift global.
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 11:20:24 AM

I am not a shareholder in AK nor Safaricom [nor any of the others] but I see Safaricom will dominate Data while AK will go down unless it can sell itself off!

Orange will be a so-so player for the near term...
Airtel - Wait till 3G is launched but it will be a price war as well...
YU - 500/- per month plan. Slow from what I understand...
qw25041985
#3 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 11:36:03 AM

YU for data . YU must be jokin..its totally YUsless !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#4 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 12:10:57 PM

Difficult to ignore Safaricom's foray into data - only reason I hold some Safaricom shares.

Never understood why AK trains, at higher PE as compared to Safaricom, even to this day.
#5 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 12:15:52 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
YU for data . YU must be jokin..its totally YUsless !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOLest!!! I will use this one... "YUseless"
@qw is becoming creative post-KPLC...
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 12:35:58 PM

yu and zain will continue to be laggards until they launch 3g

orange with persistence may just win the modems war as long as safaricom continues to be expensive to the mass market

access kenya and safaricom can both coexist in the fibre and wimax platforms........unless safaricom exercises their financial muscle and do what airtel is doing on the voice front
annsal
#7 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 12:43:58 PM

when is Airtel launching its 3G?
God loves a Trier!
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 1:29:03 PM

More profit warnings for AK
qw25041985
#9 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 1:31:09 PM

I actually asked zain customer care abt their 3g service and they said by the first quater of this year....Its gonna rock ..guyz.If zain are behaving this way w/ their good voice offerings what about data where the real battle is...?????
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 2:01:57 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
I actually asked zain customer care abt their 3g service and they said by the first quater of this year....Its gonna rock ..guyz.If zain are behaving this way w/ their good voice offerings what about data where the real battle is...?????

I hope it's going to be dirt cheap
Bettertry
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 5:17:00 PM

kenmac wrote:

orange with persistence may just win the modems war as long as safaricom continues to be expensive to the mass market
Airtel is the only telco capable of raining on safcon's parade and in the process getting 'em to lower their prices & when they get to launch 3G saf will've to adjust their data prices southwards. BTW safcon 've a one day offer 2morrow, i.e, call unlimited saf2saf by dialling *444#; all this is brought 2 u courtsey of pressure from ur's truly ...
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
qw25041985
#12 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 6:00:16 PM

lol ! urs truly is makin Saf do the unthikable. free call for all day ????? WOW !
qw25041985
#13 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 6:04:10 PM

Why are u guyz forgettin Orange is also launching its own 3G. Basically it all boils down to pricing...But if safcom price their 4G really well ( which again will be a 1st ) then the market might just tilt to their side...
#14 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 6:13:37 PM

tomorrow's safaricom supposedly offer might be a desperate effort to raise the ARPU for january ...after all we'll be paying 50 bob to access the offer
#15 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 8:42:07 PM

KenyanLyrics
#16 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 1:40:49 AM

Just seen Safcom's new offer on their FB fan page. It's just for today, and it's 50 bob only to make on net calls 'all day.' This is rubbish when you compare with Airtel and Yu's competing offers. I believe Airtel are 2 or 3 clean hits away from landing a knockout punch.
Clean hit #1: Cheap 3G data offering
Clean hit #2: Any remarkable offer to coincide with number portability in April
Clean hit #3: Unlimited kila kitu for less than 1000bob a month

"Finish Him:" Free calls/ SMS for certain days of the week
navara
#17 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 10:58:36 AM

zain is damn slow surfing at less than 50kb/ps but with the arrival of its 3g and its enticing data bouques of as low as 50bob a day unlimited,safaricom hav no hopes.
Djinn
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 12:44:52 AM

I'll pretend for a moment to be an eight year old and ask whoever is touting 3G as an elixir for mobile operators' revenues to substantiate what they mean. Under present market conditions 3G?
Nicky thompson
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 2:16:30 PM

Orange,yu and airtell are super slow and i really dont think there's another basis of judgement. By that fact alone the two are out. Safaricom is more expensive than access so yeah.......there goes your answer.
manuPK
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 27, 2011 2:55:24 PM

What would be the ideal price for unlimited internet for the ordinary kenyan mwananchi's home broadband, when safcom enters this market?
Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.