wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Huawei IDEOS.
#1 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 12:56:11 PM

Who launched this phone and for specs as in link,is it a tad cheap?

http://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_ideos-3513.php
Mpenzi
#2 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 1:21:20 PM

Nobody seems to know where to buy this phone in Kenya despite its launch.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/rf069lz/-/index.html
Cardinal
#3 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 5:10:27 PM

The phone was released this month.Haven't even reached the market.Just a publicity stunt.
#4 Posted : Monday, September 06, 2010 6:00:03 PM

@Cardinal,
Yaani this guys are so impatient to an extent of releasing "air" and even giving it a price...NKT!
Capri
#5 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 4:11:09 PM

So it's finally here, and at quite an affordable price comparatively. Anybody got a hold of it yet atupatie a hands-on review ?

Understand there might be issues accessing SIM services (eg MPESA) on some Android phones....
erifloss
#6 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2011 4:18:55 PM

They are available at safaricom I&M building.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
wakagori
#7 Posted : Saturday, January 22, 2011 2:27:13 PM

it looks like a refurb, though new. The battery needs charging every 24 hours...lovely apps though in there
jasonhill
#8 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 11:46:53 AM

Mpenzi wrote:
Nobody seems to know where to buy this phone in Kenya despite its launch.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/rf069lz/-/index.html

The phones are sitting in Guangzhou, oh so lonely, waiting for an enterprising Kenyan entrepreneur to jet there on KQ direct and buy a bag full of them at wholesale, and make a mint selling them back in Nairobi. But noone will come... so they wait...

I thought this was Wazua!?! Where my entrepros at?
qw25041985
#9 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 11:57:48 AM

i hate the phone ...looks so shapeless...buttons look so lousy....i love nokia c3 and N8 ...
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
erifloss
#10 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2011 12:07:48 PM

Good specs. Net browsing fast coz of 3G, Wifi, push mail available, you can access your mail accounts yahoo/gmail/msn, one can download and read word/excel/pdf docs, nice apps, latest android os thus can download more apps. Actually checked its reviews and they are good. Came out of production lines around last year Sept-Oct. Outside Kenya retails at around $250. I believe its a good buy for a person who loves working on the move though the battery life sucks.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
slimboss
#11 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 10:30:28 AM

@erifloss I could not agree with u more for a phone that u can do so much with it battery iko down its like owning an electric car u have to keep charging it every now n then but it a great phone I'd recommend it
slimboss
#12 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 10:39:12 AM

@jasonhill give us more details, contacts,websites i might just board a plane there. guys? is it possible to get a more reliable battery for this phone other than the type supplied by the manufacturer
Excetra1
#13 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 11:51:23 AM

@slimboss. please visit www.gsmarena.com
Dangi
#14 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 11:56:36 AM

erifloss wrote:
They are available at safaricom I&M building.

The phone is available in all safaricom customer care shops countrywide..
Take care of the penny & the shilling will take care of itself
#15 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 12:03:06 PM

Lifespan for this IDEOUS?
I will still go for LG optimus day or night!

jasonhill
#16 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2011 5:08:38 PM

@slimboss, I'm not going to give up the names of my sources in China; I'm sure that they wouldn't like that. But, I will tell you how I got my sources, and then you can find your own way. I'll just say- BE CAREFUL, use common sense, and obey each country's import and export laws.

A deal that is too good to be true, is just that. In addition, find someone reliable that you trust that will help show you around China. Talk to someone in Nairobi that is very familiar with, or is from China. Someone that you know you will be able to come back and, eh, "talk to" if things go sour and they have vouched for someone, or introduced you to someone on their behalf. It's easy to end up on the business end of a gun, running around with wads of cash looking for cheap electronics, so you will have to have a little brains and a lotta balls.

That said, what you want to do is to visit the following sites:

aliexpress.com and guangzhou.locanto.cn

And use them not to buy, but to get contacts. Contact the sellers... but be very general and generic and say that you are just interested in making orders and picking them up in China. Don't say, or hint to, that you want to buy outside the website- that is frowned upon if the site offers selling through it. All you want to do is meet in China to see the product and get a sample before you buy. You just want to have dinner with who you will be buying from, and maybe tour a factory, talk trade, whatever. But remember that the sites themselves are brokers, so going around them makes them loose money. That said, I don't buy through the sites. I go there, meet, look at a box of phones or laptops or whatever, feel EACH ONE, power a few up, smile, watch my back, pay, switch cars, and go DIRECTLY to a nice, big (read: SAFE, with lots of security and cameras) hotel, where I can double-check the goods and get them sorted for shipping or carrying back. If I was serious, I would up this to a LORRY-worth at a time, but I'm not "Mr. Retail".

This may take contacting one, ten, or a thousand. Email them until you get a response. Remember, you just want to get contact information that is outside the sales websites, because they monitor and filter sales talk over email. You just want to be able to get someone's email address or have them call you. Use common sense to find out who is real and who is a scam. Tell them that you want to work in person in GZ and that you want to meet them at a nice hotel restaurant (research a safe one and select it). Be honest with what you are trying to do and remember that anything less than 100 units is a waste of their time. It helps to know a little something about Chinese business culture. Google it and learn all you can about it. If you know Mandarin, even better. Set a date. They will send a representative. Pay for dinner. Now you have a connect. One more thing- always be on time, and consistent. Do what you promise. Under-promise and over deliver. Be absolutely reliable and don't make excuses.

What we really need is a good trade agreement that establishes warranty, training (we want it), service (we provide it for the African continent), refund, and quality guidelines, makes China kick in money for a good shipping and trucking infrastructure, and put up a free trade warehouse in Mombasa just for Chinese goods, while they agree to buy from Kenya.

I hope this gives you grand ideas.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 9:49:23 AM

Hii simu imekuwa bure!!!The latest version of whatsapp cannot be downloaded on the phone...need to move to Samsung...