wazua Sat, Jun 21, 2025

No Men To Marry
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 9:59:13 AM

If the 'article' below is to be believed, there are no men around to marry. How true is this? Of course I have my opinions but I would rather hear opinions of different wazuans first. They might just make me look at the issue from a different angle.

The Link: No Men To Marry

At the end of the story/question the lady asks for help. Wazuans are very good at helping one another. Any man ready to help? Just a thought.
manuPK
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:07:41 AM

Reflecting on Proverbs 18:22 - 'He who finds a wife finds a good thing, and obtains favor from the LORD' and ' Good things come to those who wait' Then on my opinion, the men that are to marry them are on the way. The woman and others like her in the article should also learn that 'patience pays'.

Entrepreneurship is a cognitive bias. They can’t teach it to you.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:15:52 AM

No men to marry? But are you willing to be married?

That is the question.
Dod
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:20:34 AM

As per the last census, there were more men than women.
Women marry upwards, men marry downwards.
It is the women's expectations that is keeping them single..too many women chasing a few men at the top.

P.S- I am single. Any single ladies out there can send CVs...smile smile
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:26:37 AM

@Maich,
There goes one.....Let's call him Akuku SAFE...lol
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:27:23 AM

Dod wrote:

Nope. Women were several hundred thousands more than men. But u r right on the other observationsShame on you
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:32:33 AM

Women expect to be treated like Mexican Soaps; it cant happen here.NEVER EVER.

Tommy
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:41:22 AM

I believe that there is a marriage partner for all of us. The problem is that we put too many conditions especially on material wealth
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:45:57 AM

toooooooooooo much soap opera in Kenya TV's is ruining it
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:46:24 AM

Actually it can't happen even in Mexico. These Mexican soaps are very misleading. Have you been watching the news on Mexico and the Mexican/Drug trafficking/murders/execution documentaries that air on Al Jazeera. Mexican men must be among the most violent/heartless men in the world - on average. Maybe I'm being too harsh on them but that's my opinion.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:48:21 AM

If any woman thinks there are no good men to marry, let them ask themselves, "Am I good enough?" If you are not good, do you think any good man will want to marry you??
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:52:18 AM

Its time our women folk learn to watch news also.
Its normally amazes me when immediately the news starts, mama boy always head straight to the kitchen to start fighting with utensils, she only peeps back when she hears shouts of women demonstrating in Muranga about Mutotho law being suspended.

winston
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:01:29 AM

Let's not forget that we men are to blame...at least partly. The women we are talking about are our daughters and sisters. What have we done to make them more 'marryable'?

With women matching men...cent to cent on the income scale and harsh economic times...the concept of women marrying up and men down seems to be really pushed to the history books. Coupling this with te rising glorification of materialism and me-first idealogies, we should not be surprised if the institution of marriage becomes nothing but an 'elective'.
QD
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:06:10 AM

Not read the link but another question to be answered "do men really want to be married?" do not ask for my opinion.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:16:49 AM

They are the problem... they chase career dreams without knowing that time is running out....then when they are over 35 they suddenly remember they need marriage/kids...by that time almost all the men who could have married them 10 yrs ago are married / marrying younger girls!!

Questions
1. why would I want to marry a 35yrs lady when I can easily get a beautiful fresh college graduate???
2. if a 20-something girl can get a man to marry, how come they could not get during those ages??

Get married to your stupid career and leave the men alone, otherwise accept to become wife no.3 of some 60+ geezer.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:18:34 AM

@QD thats exactly the point in mind.
May be men just don't want to get married at all in the first place. Aren't we already seeing rising numbers of senior bachelors > 35yrs, straight, successful in careers and minting serious money -mind you they can get almost any marriageable woman they want.
Dod
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:33:15 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Dod wrote:

Nope. Women were several hundred thousands more than men. But u r right on the other observationsShame on you

@Intelligentsia...I beg to differ.
There were 106,688 more men than women overall.
Between the marriage ages of 20-49, men outnumbered women by 239,923.

Link provided down.

http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/country.php
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 11:44:57 AM

Such women wakuwe serious! Others are getting married to very good men. Kama mtu ameshindwa kutafuta, aseme atafutiwe. Dod yuko, wengine wako...Bas!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:13:37 PM

@king Applause
Carol Mutoko, Debra Sanaipei easily come to mind,yaani mpaka they went public in their search for Mr. Available (after realising haiya kumbe the mythical Mr. Right doesn't exist).
I feel for all them girls who have not been given proper advice on how to balance career and family and that a woman has a less than 18-yr window (18yrs-35yrs) to achieve this fine balance.

@DOD,washana na U.S. figures, we even discussed this hapa hapa wazua

Men: 19,192,458
Females: 19,417,639
Total kenyans: 38,610,097

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=8472

http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/11l14rlz/-/index.html

http://www.knbs.or.ke/Ce...20Planning%20revised.pdf
Wa_ithaka
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:14:59 PM

Polygamy must be the answer. If you want to marry a good man, and all the good men are already married, why, just marry him as his 2nd wife.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017