wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Mobile price wars to derail new Constitution????
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:25:41 PM

Hi all

i noted from here : http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/wnxn0ez/-/index.html, that the heated mobile phone price cutthroats might as well derail the implimentation of the new constitution...that is according to Bitange Ndomo.

i thought the constitution implementation was a separate entity not bearing any relationship with the telecommunications sector...unless, of course, Ndomo is telling us that the short fall in the KRAs revenue collection target was meant to fund all the consitution implementation processes vide financial obligations and activities and that the funds were to be generated by mobile telecomms companies!!!NKT

what is up your sleeve Ndomo??? could you come out clean!!

any comment wazuas??
Wa_ithaka
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:32:05 PM

Alipewa bangi
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
For Sport
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:52:01 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Hi all

i noted from here : http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/wnxn0ez/-/index.html, that the heated mobile phone price cutthroats might as well derail the implimentation of the new constitution...that is according to Bitange Ndomo.

i thought the constitution implementation was a separate entity not bearing any relationship with the telecommunications sector...unless, of course, Ndomo is telling us that the short fall in the KRAs revenue collection target was meant to fund all the consitution implementation processes vide financial obligations and activities and that the funds were to be generated by mobile telecomms companies!!!NKT

what is up your sleeve Ndomo??? could you come out clean!!

any comment wazuas??

Classical case of mixed priorities. Even if its true that the effect of the competition is to reduce tax revenue, does it follow that the constitution review process is the most dispensable item? How about not funding the Hague 2???
Agra
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:07:04 PM

Mututho and price wars can lead to cash crunch revenue shortfalls for the govt means less money to spend to fund the enormous implementation budget.
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
The Merchant
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:16:37 PM

From Bitange, sad and disappointing. What crap.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:24:04 PM

A warning has been issued that un-sustainable busines practises will wipe out all gains made in the telecoms sector...i dont own any company.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:56:18 PM

@ aggra

the eabl and mobile telecomms firms contribution into exchequer is much less than 8% of the total annual revenue collection. if this contribution was entirely wiped out we don't expect that any of the government institutions and activities would collapse. infact they would just be marginally affected and not to the extent that the Ndomo guy is prophesying.

@ mlennyama

there is no way we can declare the prices to be un-sustainable on the basis of hearsy from the competitors. this is just cheap excuse for offering very cheap service very expensively.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:17:46 PM

Let the price wars go on to the bitter end whatever it may be, an excerpt below on price wars from wikipedia:-

"In the medium to long term, they can be good for the dominant firms in the industry. Typically, the smaller, more marginal, firms cannot compete and must close. The remaining firms absorb the market share of those that have closed. The real losers then, are the marginal firms and their investors. In the long term, the consumer may lose too. With fewer firms in the industry, prices tend to increase, sometimes higher than before the price war started"

As things stand, I think i prefer this war to go to the end, safcom should focus on keeping the bulk of customers, they should slash their prices as fast as possible, forget Ndemo and the taxes, slash, slash, slash kabisa!!!
A New Kenya
hisah
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:14:21 PM

The more the panic sell the better for a contra-buy. Below 4/- would be very interesting. If the safcom share can get as low as 3.50 before May announcement, the better and a big thanks to Airtel for forcing the share price lower ;-)
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
segemia
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:27:56 PM

@ Much Know

In kenyas situation, which are the "marginal firms"? is it Airtel, Telecom Kenya Orange, or Essar telecomms?
Ali Baba
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:28:09 PM

That "NDOMO" is just that,"ndomo!!"
the deal
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:39:10 PM

This price wars should extend to other sectors i.e banks, fuel retailers, supermarkets, matatus...lol
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 4:45:20 PM

@segemia, i don't want to become a wazua lecturer but smaller firms vs dominant firms (marginal means those making smaller amounts or margins or dealing with small groups), at the end of the day the easy way out is for safcom to cut it's price immediately as a response to small firms cutting theirs, why?
1. They have the volumes and majority prefer their services (which means those in smaller firms are there not by choice but by savings or number loyalty e.t.c, they may just switch to safcom)
2. With larger volumes, they will have better economies of scale and should cope with the reductions better.
Safaricom should respond to price cuts fastest, they need to forget about turning out huge profits in the short term, it may hurt them long term.
A New Kenya
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:15:59 AM

The Merchant wrote:
From Bitange, sad and disappointing. What crap.

I once said this Bitange is no better than his peers, and was attacked by people who waxed lyrically about his brilliance.

I rest my case.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:29:44 AM

@Kularaha, I beg to differ, Ndemo is a brilliant chap no doubt about that. We should remember that his interests are those of his boss-GoK, it is in the best interest that treasury should reap as much as possible from the telecoms sector. As things stand, treasury will be the net loser.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:32:31 AM

We cannot fault Bitange on this one. The government has already suspended the stimulus package because of money issues. Development budgets has been slashed with no new police lines being put up. A reduced tax collection means that even County Headquarters cannot be built as thereis no money. Constitution implimentation goes beyond parliamentary business
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:40:04 AM

I think bitange watched too much of that niko na safaricom advert.

Ati supporting safaricom is the same as supporting the new constitution.
qw25041985
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:41:19 AM

@alma hahahaha... lol . good 1.
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:44:26 AM

FundamentAli wrote:
We cannot fault Bitange on this one. The government has already suspended the stimulus package because of money issues. Development budgets has been slashed with no new police lines being put up. A reduced tax collection means that even County Headquarters cannot be built as thereis no money. Constitution implimentation goes beyond parliamentary business

But you have 4.7B to defend mass murderers...go sing it to the birds my friend, we don't buy this protectionism disguised as whining!!!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:45:03 AM

Let no one deceive us that a "slight shortfall" (a whooping 8%) will have negligible effect. Any budget deficit no matter how slight is to our detriment. Rem over 60% of budget is RECURRENT (almost fixed). That means the peanuts meant 4dvt will be slashed further. Constitutiom impl appears most dispensible, n I agree totally with Ndemo. NB, im nt a "rich" crusader, bt I would never vouch 4free things coz that would be the beginning of the end of our fragile economy.