Culture
Touring Malindi
Rank: Member Joined: 11/18/2010 Posts: 194 Location: Kenya
Fellow wazuans, I Want to visit Malindi with Mama watoto(to be). Which places around the town are a must visit in your opinion? Mimi ni mwananchi wa kawaida so ignore the establishments targetting Naomi Campbell, who I understand, she owns a beach-front house there
Foreman wrote:Fellow wazuans, I Want to visit Malindi with Mama watoto(to be). Which places around the town are a must visit in your opinion? Mimi ni mwananchi wa kawaida so ignore the establishments targetting Naomi Campbell, who I understand, she owns a beach-front house there There is a lady who organised for our trip down south sometime last year. Just give her your budget and what you need (hotel, cottage, apartment) etc and she will sort you out. Her website is www.hiveholidays.comHope it helps.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
@Foreman, How much do you want to spend on accommodation?
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Foreman wrote:Fellow wazuans, I Want to visit Malindi with Mama watoto(to be). Which places around the town are a must visit in your opinion? Mimi ni mwananchi wa kawaida so ignore the establishments targetting Naomi Campbell, who I understand, she owns a beach-front house there @Foreman Do you want advice on accomodation options or places to visit? Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
@All' I appreciate your input. My main focus are the recreational facilities , water sports, nature trail & historical sites. About accomodation...around 2K per night
Rank: Member Joined: 11/12/2010 Posts: 111 Location: MOMBASA
[quote=leona@Foreman Do you want advice on accomodation options or places to visit?[/quote]
I am also interested in visiting the ka-place. An advise on accommodation options (Aka Cottage) will be of great help. Is Malindi that big to get a tour guide for places to visit?
Cant get over the couple that rented a holiday home in Mombasa (I think) over Christmas and the owner refused to give access because he hadn't been paid by the broker (Langata something) - was it a case of cheap can be expensive?
@Foreman, Malindi is my hometown, Vasco da Gama, if you prefer somewhere near the beach check out Silversnad Villas, Malindi Cottages, Scorpio Villas, Kivulini if you don't mind being too near the beach enda Paradise Village on your way to Mtangani, Sulisuli is good, Kholler House, by the way check out Watamu in between your visit while in Malindi, its a great place to visit too and there are private houses available for good rates and the services are commendable.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@Foreman For 2k a night... i can't be of much help but you can check out www.discoverwatamu.com OR www.langatalink.com And see if anything there falls anywhere near what you looking for As for places to visit,Malindi itself is a bit limiting,Maybe just the Vasco da gama pillar.. I find Watamu to have much more to do. You can visit the historical gede ruins,Kipepeo farm,Bio-Ken snake farm,Mida Creek,Watamu marine park(for snorkelling,deep sea fishing etc) and the Arabuko sokoke forest And after all that,pass by some Giriama village and have a mkebe of the local brew(Uchi) on me...(just kidding  @GG Langata link it is. I have dealt with them a couple of times and to be honest,they manage the widest range of cottages/houses and i've never found them to be fishy. Maybe it was just one of those weird,twisted cases... Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/2/2010 Posts: 22 Location: Nairobi
Earlier in this month I visited Mida Creek and Arabuko Sokoke Forest just before you get to Malindi and I had a great time. Especially the Mida Creek trail! Its a community project and all the moneys go to help the locals (they charged us KES 80 per head). Also Madafu ya huko ni tamu kuliko ya Mombasa! Hope that'll help. AM BETTER OFF BEING A REPENTANT SINNER THAN A RELIGIOUS HYPOCRITE.
Lots to do in Malindi...the pillar, go see the museum, the falconry, Sabaki River delta, hell's kitchen, visit historical Mambrui village, excellent pizzas, brilliant italian ice cream, oh, I miss Malindi already!!!! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Member Joined: 11/12/2010 Posts: 111 Location: MOMBASA
Since kulaRAHA and RAHAtupu know this place then Malindi must be RAHA-RAHA TUPU TUPU. I am planning to be there in june-august I hope the weather will be fine...
@Foreman, Malindi is more fun for clubbing e.g Farmento, StarDust, Club 28, the night life is simply comparable to that of Mtwapa only. So if your nocturnal in nature venture out. 
Quite an amazing resource pool at Wazua. The options proposed are inviting, it is now decision time. Wacha niende nikakule-RAHA-tupu
Arent there any political aspirants at Wazua, tuwapigie debe?
Morgan's Bar and Fermento....tooo good in kenya!!! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Take a drive to the beach at Mambrui village, just after Sabaki bridge. Its lovely. Don't forget the marine park, near kwa naomi Campbell at Casuarina. There is also a snake park on the rd to marine park, don't know kama bado iko. For accommodation, try also the Methodist guest hse, Lamu road, its convenient and affordable. For Italian open oven baked pizza, try Oasis Gelateria, for a beer, go to Stars and Garters, Lamu rd and ask for Eric. Tell him Majimaji sent you!
Culture
Touring Malindi