Angela Kwach vs Strathmore
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 4:54:52 PM

im·mor·al
[ih-mawr-uhl, ih-mor-]

–adjective
1. violating moral principles; not conforming to the patterns of conduct usually accepted or established as consistent with principles of personal and social ethics.
2. licentious or lascivious.

3. Angela Angwenyi's son joins St.Marys instead of Strathmore because she is a single parent. Srathmore, don't admit kids from single parent homes - really!!!!
http://www.facebook.com/easyfm/posts/172069872834507

Origin:
1650–60; immoral

—Related forms
im·mor·al·ly, adverb

—Synonyms
bad, wicked, dissolute, dissipated, profligate.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:06:00 PM

muganda wrote:
im·mor·al
[ih-mawr-uhl, ih-mor-]

–adjective
1. violating moral principles; not conforming to the patterns of conduct usually accepted or established as consistent with principles of personal and social ethics.
2. licentious or lascivious.

3. Angela Angwenyi's son joins St.Marys instead of Strathmore because she is a single parent. Srathmore, don't admit kids from single parent homes - really!!!!
http://www.facebook.com/easyfm/posts/172069872834507

Origin:
1650–60; immoral

—Related forms
im·mor·al·ly, adverb

—Synonyms
bad, wicked, dissolute, dissipated, profligate.

Yep it doesnt... Infact, unless they have changed recently, they couldnt admit children whose parents are not married in church.... Kianda too.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:08:39 PM

I heard about Strathmore school's policy and couldn't believe my ears...that is as high a moral ground as any I've ever heard of. Reeks of "holier than thou" syndrome that plagues many institutions with a religious background - no offense.

Anyone from PB Riruta to confirm that during the biology classes of the 90's (circa 1995-1998), the teachers used to staple together pages on Animal Reproduction (best topic by the way) under instruction from the nuns who run the school at the time to discourage knowledge of conception, contraception and all other related matters?

Ignorance is not bliss...
the sage
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:44:53 PM

I'm an old boy of the school and that is a lie. In fact I had classmates raised by single moms.
The same issue was raised a few years ago and the then Principal, Rafael Gortazar asked people to come and see for themselves.
If your kid didn't pass the interview just say so.
marex
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 5:57:10 PM

but it is unconstitutional!!!!!!! The new constitution outlaws any form of discrimination. I underwent similar treatment in Daystar. I applied for a masters degree in communication a year ago. I was told that the application form wont be processed if I don't write a half a foolscap testimony. 3 weeks later, I was informed that my application cannot be processed because I was not qualified on religious grounnd
The way I am
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 6:32:20 PM

@sage, maybe guys are talking about the present day...how old is old?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 6:46:05 PM

I heard about Strathmore school's policy and couldn't believe my ears...that is as high a moral ground as any I've ever heard of. Reeks of "holier than thou" syndrome that plagues many institutions with a religious background - no offense.

I have friends who live in Kahawa Sukari - very loaded. They took their son to Strathmore and after the son passed the interview, it was the time for the parents to be interviewed. After numerous questions some bordering on ridiculous/insane/bla bla bla, they "passed". The "welcoming" statement almost made the kid's mum explode! Your son will be our first students from "those sides". The way "those sides" was said was like Strath had just pulled a jolie/madonna on the kid. Wacha the mum wakas. "What do you mean? Do you mean he will be lesser than the other kids?...". The hubby steps on her and she goes "stop stepping on me. I haven't finished...".

And after all that, the kid was miserable at the school! Apparently most of the kids were so pretentious they bored the kid to death! Ultimately they had to transfer him. Actually the wife transferred him when the hubby was out of the country on business. Hubby flies in morning hours, goes to strath to pay fees and he's told "Your son hasn't reported this term..." Story for another day.

Think about your kid before you choose a school. Don't just do it for show. Ati my son/daughter is at... Is the kid happy there?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 7:23:56 PM

Quoting from the facebook page:

Today, Angela's son joined St Mary's to begin his journey of discovery. The only problem is she would have preferred if he joined a more pretigious(sp) school - Srathmore...

Do you need a degree or be a genius to know you don't make such statements - especially in public! You can say the same thing in a better way. You don't talk like that about a school your kid has just joined. If the kid has problems with a certain topic, a teacher might say to herself "wacha akaonyeshwe na walimu wa Strathmore".
Vj
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 10:14:11 PM

St.Mary's is one of the greatest schools around, it hasn't been the same after the holy ghost fathers left but they are trying to work their way up. But its no way less prestigious then Strathmore.

In my year out of a class of 70,around 20 of us went to ivy league schools and many went to other high ranking colleges. Most Saints are at the top of their fields.
Before you can be be old and wise, you must first be young and stupid.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 11:19:50 PM

So Angwenyi's son is already in class!so how old was she when she gave birth?16 or 14?!!

#11 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:13:33 AM

@Muganda, ni Angela Kwach kweli?

If Strath discriminated merely on the basis of being from a single parenthood, that is just wrong!!! they should only take students on merit, period! Even interviewing parents!!!
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:15:09 AM

@Impunity that was a low blow bwana...

Am still waiting for someone from PB Riruta to comment on their biology classes...hakuna alumni?
the sage
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:23:19 AM

@All what is the big fuss. There are so many schools out there.
@Maich black I has mant friends from Kahawa Sukari at Strath, I don't think Strathmore School gentlemen are pretentious, probably that kid was just abysmally boring or had a fairly finite ken. There are always two sides to a story.
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:30:35 AM

Vj wrote:
St.Mary's is one of the greatest schools around, it hasn't been the same after the holy ghost fathers left but they are trying to work their way up. But its no way less prestigious then Strathmore.

In my year out of a class of 70,around 20 of us went to ivy league schools and many went to other high ranking colleges. Most Saints are at the top of their fields.

It maybe was one of the greatest schools around academically but not anymore. And I say that from a personal experience. Things have really headed ass-side over there.
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:32:54 AM

the sage,
I wonder why you are on the defensive, Strathmore's descrimanatory tendencies are known to all and sundry!!!!
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:32:55 AM

@ Muganda. Is it Angela Kwach or Angela Angwenyi?
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 9:36:16 AM

bkismat wrote:

I guesse he said Angela Kwach coz they present with him on Easy FM!!!
the sage
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 10:08:08 AM

@McReggae all I'm saying is why is there a fuss. If Muthaiga Gold Club refuses to accept your membership application would there be a fuss?
annsal
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 11:05:25 AM

bkismat wrote:

I guesse he said Angela Kwach coz they present with him on Easy FM!!!

was wondering whether she changed her name to kwach
God loves a Trier!
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 13, 2011 11:12:56 AM

And after all that, the kid was miserable at the school! Apparently most of the kids were so pretentious they bored the kid to death! Ultimately they had to transfer him.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I know strathmore (including the college) is special in the way they do their things and i love it to bits but seriously....... who did the kid expect would be entertaining him? May be he expected "special treatment".

What i know is from experience (from the college level at least) is that they dont care who you are, where you come from and particularly who your parents are or who they know... if it is studying, you study like everyone else and you follow the rules like everyone else...... no special treatment.